Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
67 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 80 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pritzker Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 19, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are great. They try hard and they care about their students. I wish they had smaller class sizes to contend with.

Pritzker Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 19, 2016
- a community member
Depends on the year. Some teachers give a lot some give very little. With school hours from 9-4 it leaves very little time for homework. I am of the mind that teachers should teach the material and excessive amounts of homework make it the parent's responsibility to help their kids learn material.


Pritzker Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 19, 2016
- a community member
I don't think they really try to help the entire student body. they focus on the principal's "95% club" and the "bad" kids. Anyone who falls in the middle doesn't get much attention at all.

Pritzker Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 19, 2016
- a community member
There is bullying and bad behavior from some of the students and it is not handled well by the administration. They either ignore it or swing to the other direction and severely punish. They do not work with the students to address issues

Pritzker Elementary School 3

Posted May 19, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are great. The parents are good (but there are only a small dedicated group of them--they can get more involved then it would be great). The principal is TERRIBLE. She doesn't communicate with parents at all, she is dismissive and has no listening skills. I would steer clear of it until the LSC can do its job and fire her.


Pritzker Elementary School 1

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
We had a less than stellar experience with Pritzker. The first year we were here my oldest had a terrible experience with bullying. Her coat was slashed and she was physically harmed, without the teacher doing anything about it. The only option was to move her up a grade, which was much better for her. My other child spent about 6 hours a day reading, because no one cared what he did as long as he wasn't causing trouble. He came out of that year with very poor grades, which is unfortunate because he is capable of much more. What you have to know about this school is that it is basically it is two schools- the gifted section that they flaunt and the neighborhood section which is doing very poorly. Most of the fundraising goes to gifted classes and very little of it goes to the other classes. The art/dance/theatre teachers, however, are fantastic as is the preschool teacher. And Ms Pagany in 6th grade is one of the best teachers I've ever had the privilege of knowing. Needless to say, we found better schools and are much happier.

Pritzker Elementary School 4

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
So far, so great. Transferred our daughter after her former school moved its start time to 7:30 a.m. (gah!) Did judge Pritzker by its well-worn cover, but shouldn't have. Its teachers care, its extracurricular programs are plentiful and diverse, and its parents are active and welcoming. Just recently, the guidance counselor invited our daughter to a 1/1 new student lunch to track her progress and get to know her. They are vested in her, and she can tell. There's no better comfort for a parent.

Pritzker Elementary School 2

Posted May 24, 2014
- a community member
I went to this school for 2 years (middle school) and it was just so-so. I had teachers ranging from good to awful (some making sure i'd succeed while others threatened to fail me for no reason). The atmosphere is slightly odd, and looking back I wasn't very happy there. There was a bullying problem in multiple classes that was not dealt with at all, the teachers and adults being completely unresponsive. Not the best school, could improve greatly with effort, communication, and a reevaluation of how things are done there.


Pritzker Elementary School 3

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
After 5 years of my child at Pritzker and 20 years as a professional Educator I think I have a background qualified to "rate" this school. It is not a coincidence that their test scores have fallen consistently for the last 3 years. To this point my experience with the RGP has been disappointing. The bulk of the assessed work is being done at home. The standard of "Teach, Assess, Adjust" is unknown. The Admin. and Teachers commonly blame the students for problems. "How could whole gifted classes be a problem? I ask." For a parent and professional Educator to be disappointed in a gifted program that should tell you how severe the quality of the regular program is. The responsibility falls on the Admin. and their lacking leadership and integrity. I leave off with one word, Charade!

Pritzker Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
There are many anonymous complaints about the school and I have heard negative things about the Spanish teacher on other forums. However I disagree and think she is doing an excellent job with my son's Spanish development. He was having trouble earlier and it would be easy to blame her but I found that he was not putting the effort forward in class, forgetting to bring homework home and we as parents were not working with him. Fortunately there is Spanish spoken in my home so perhaps it is easier but I still will not blame the teacher. Edward Reagan parent

Nearby schools

Pritzker Elementary School
2009 West Schiller St, Chicago, IL  60622
(773) 534-4415
Last modified Pritzker Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top