Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 828
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lee Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a community member
Lee has gone a long way. We are sponsored by the Chicago Bulls and BMO harris bank, and we have gotten to meet some players. We have also (my class in 6th grade, im going in 7th now) been on the news. We have gone up greatly in test scores because of the wonderful teachers there and because of the great learning programs and experiences we are now able to have thanks to our new principal Ms. Lisa and assistant principal Ms. Escobar. I love Lee so much. It is so wonderful to go there.

Lee Elementary School 1

Posted July 13, 2009
- a community member
As an alumnus of Lee, I am saddened to see this school take a turn for the worse over the past several years. Despite rumblings to the contrary, Mrs. Arroyo has indeed helped Lee improve academically since she took the reins from her predecessor. In her first year, Arroyo was able to improve test scores across all grades by 10% or more. Regardless of personality or leadership style, the facts are undeniable. However, problems at Lee remain and continue to multiply. Students here are still failing to make Adequate Yearly Progress in test scores, a federally-mandated requirement. But why? By failing to meet requirements, Lee receives federal money to improve its substandard performance. The problem, quite simply, is inadequate teachers. This school's staff needs a thorough overhaul if Lee's students are to have any chance at success.


Lee Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 02, 2009
- a student
I really enjoy this school. Thius school is caring. They have a lot of activities after school. I was in the 6th grade their the teachers ms. hernandez and Mrs.Jamen were the best caring and polite. they only thing i hate is the principal Ms. Arroyo. She really has to go!! Overall I love this school its the best!!!! _:)

Lee Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 11, 2009
- a parent
This school works hard with very little and tries to provide a positive learning experience for it's students with plenty of extracurricular activities.

Lee Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2008
- a parent
Ms. Walski and Miss Diaz are just fabulous! My daughter was in preschool with them and I couldn't have been happier. Her and I were both sad to leave preschool! Love them!


Lee Elementary School 3

Posted October 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lee Elementary School 1

Posted August 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lee Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 29, 2007
- a parent
This school is far from perfect, but, as far as public schools go, its got to be one of the best in the city. However, this new principle is the worst thing that has ever happened to Lee School.


Lee Elementary School 4

Posted October 25, 2006
- a parent
Lee school is exceptional. The staff is tremendous. Generally speaking, the teachers care. The teacher aids are as dynamic as the teachers. In some cases the aids are the backbone. Mrs. Pica is the best

Lee Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2006
- a student
The Teachers are skilled experts who are prepared and work hard to ensure that students enjoy learning and are actively engaged. As a teacher candidate who has observed many schools, I am very impressed with this school, the teachers, and the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lee Elementary School
6448 South Tripp Avenue, Chicago, IL  60629
(773) 535-2255
Last modified Lee Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lee Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top