Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ariel Elementary Community Academy 5

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
Ariel Community Academy is a great school that places a value on critical thinking while working with the children to circumvent unstructured learning. From the principal, teachers, counselors, security and lunch personnel, the commitment from them is evident every day. Additionally, there are various affinity groups that work with the young men and activities that help with promoting an environment where students are challenged to think creatively about what they are learning. Thank you Ariel for making our child's experience an excellent one!

Ariel Elementary Community Academy 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
If you are searching for a school where the administration (i.e. Dr. Coleman, Ms. Madkins and all of the exceptional teachers) talks and educates not only your child but you about managing finances. Children are taught to follow financial markets and as a class make investments; they are assisted by industry practitioners that understand how to make money with financial markets. We have been with Ariel for four years and can't wait for the school year to start. They really are a wonderful community school and I applaud all the hard work the staff and administration (even Althea and the rest of the culinary workers) put into educating your child.


Ariel Elementary Community Academy 2

Posted June 21, 2013
- a community member
Quality of this school has gone down. Disappointed in the administration for letting so many things occur. The students are unruly, the teachers yell endlessly at the chidlren, there are little to no field trips. My children will not be returning. I can't wait until the administration realizes there is an issue and things get better.

Ariel Elementary Community Academy 1

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
I'm a very concerned that this school has taken a turn for the worse. This school is definitely not what it used to be. There are so many behavior problems now. The students are cursing, running, screaming and a few of the teachers and staff are worse than the kids. I don't want to name anyone personally but threatening kids is unaccpetable. The kids are indeed out of control but there has got to be a way to handle these chidlren. Children are being exposed to inappropriate behavior and subject matter that they would otherwise not be exposed to. I don't know where these students came from or what happened to change things so dramatically. The climate has definitely changed at Ariel from the parents to the students. One child left in 6th grade and my other 2 won't be returning. Dr. Coleman has gotten extremely lax and I'm dissappointed and disgusted.

Ariel Elementary Community Academy 1

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
When My children began attending Ariel I thought it was a great thing. That was until this year when the 4th/5th grade Writing and Social Studies teacher Mr. Brown slapped my daughter. Although he will not admit it, he has admitted to a staff member that he threatened to slap her. He has also been putting her, and other students in the closet. He's even grabbed my other daughter by her arms and shaken her. The principal Dr. Coleman won't do anything to protect my child. She acts as if nothing has happened. That frightens me. My daughters are scared to go back to school, and I feel helpless. Ariel is currently on academic probation, and now there is a teacher that is a threat to students. Parents have to worry about the safety of their children when they are not in the classroom. They shouldn't have to worry about the safety of their children inside of the classroom. Especially when teachers are supposed to protect them, not strike and threaten them!


Ariel Elementary Community Academy 4

Posted February 24, 2013
- a community member
ariel is a good school that most of my friends go to I am trying to get enrolled here as soon as possible I will be a credit to ariel not a regret

Ariel Elementary Community Academy 5

Posted January 01, 2013
- a community member
HOW CAN I START OK ARIEL IS THE GREATES BUT ONE THING I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR 1 YAR ALREADY I WANTED MY CHILD TO GET IN THERE BUT IT IS A LOTTRY SO I DONT UNDERSTAND THE WHOLE LOTTRY THING SO NOW I FOUND OUT THAT MY COUSINS CHILD IS GOING THEIR WITH OUT A PROBLEM SHE IS IN 6 GRDE SO WHAT IS THE PROBLEM ?????????????????????????????????????????? I AM SO LOST ???????????????????

Ariel Elementary Community Academy 4

Posted April 30, 2011
- a parent
I think that Ariel is a good school and can be great with some tweaking. They have extracurricular activities for the youth, strong teachers, and a good principal that works hard on behalf of the students. They need better character education and monitoring of the older students (4-8th grades) because they can be quite disrespectful, belligerent, and obnoxious. That makes me fearful about my child staying there long term due to these negative influences. I'm sure these older students are smart; they just refuse to use their home training when unsupervised afterschool and in the hallways. The foul language would make a sailor blush and it's not cute. Overall, I love the school and my daughter does as well.


Ariel Elementary Community Academy 5

Posted March 29, 2011
- a parent
Excellent school for students who come to school to learn. Small class sizes, wonderful teachers who are committed to the students at Ariel. A positive, enriched environment for students. Ariel ISAT scores are excellent and the students have a variety of extra curriculum activities.

Ariel Elementary Community Academy 5

Posted March 01, 2011
- a parent
Ariel is a great school for students to persue different areas of interest. They have partnered with different programs offered in Chicago including Metro Squash through the University of Chicago. I had two children graduate and go on to excel in high school and one who has a full scholarship at college. I also have a student currently attending who is very involved in activities and does well each year on standardized tests.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ariel Elementary Community Academy
1119 East 46th Street, Chicago, IL  60653
(773) 535-1996
Last modified Ariel Elementary Community Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ariel Elementary Community Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top