Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public district
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 633
 

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 5

Posted October 16, 2012
- a community member
I go to this school and it is wonderful with all the discipline and the program this school provides also a special thanks to the principal that made this all possible.

Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 5

Posted March 23, 2012
- a parent
The school is wonderful and the teachers offer much motivation and support to the students. The only bad thing is that the nearby community school Cooper only goes up to 5th grade and so those students have to come in to Orozco. They bring the scores down by quite a bit and distract the students who have been in Orozco for most of their academic career. Children who have attended Orozco are taught dicipline and get along very well with eachother as opposed to the children from Cooper who tend to be a bit conflictive. I also did not approve of the student teacher program. It did nothing but confuse most of the students and did not offer much help to those who needed it the most.


Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 5

Posted October 31, 2011
- a community member
I go to this school and it is awesome, clean inside and out and you learn many different things

Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 5

Posted November 29, 2009
- a student
This is a school with great teachers and a principal who really cares about her students. The gifted program is really a great way to challenge students, to strive for their highest potential. Most of the students in the gifted program end up in excellent high schools like: Whitney Young, Lane Tech, Jones, Payton, St. Ignatius. The art programs also has great instructors with well known artists like Fransisco Mendoza who has made a lot of contributions to the community with his extraordinary art work.

Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 5

Posted November 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 0
no rating

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
Since my child has been in this school has improve in some way the cognitive area, but in the motivational and in the way that they encourage children to continue study they have to improve a lot. Because they say is gifted program, children many times feels in a really stressfull situation. Teachers in the first grade do not help in this matter and make that many children that really have the potential go of the program and have a low selfsteem of their future. I could say that the administration needs improve more, because same family member work there and are like a society in this school.

Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 5

Posted November 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 5

Posted March 18, 2008
- a community member
I think this is the best school ever. It offers an academically enriched gifted program for the future prodigies of our nation. The students get to experience highschool classes in eight grade and that really prepares them for the real thing.


Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 4

Posted March 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 5

Posted February 01, 2008
- a parent
It is just an amazing school for my child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences
1940 West 18th Street, Chicago, IL  60608
(773) 534-7215
Last modified Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top