Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
Yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes

Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
They give students one week of fun and on special days like día del niño we get to have some fun and learn


Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
I strongly agree because it is the best school I have been there since kindergarten I'm in fifth grade and I love it

Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 5

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
I go to this school and me and my brother love it the teachers are the best

Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 5

Posted October 16, 2012
- a community member
I go to this school and it is wonderful with all the discipline and the program this school provides also a special thanks to the principal that made this all possible.


Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 5

Posted March 23, 2012
- a parent
The school is wonderful and the teachers offer much motivation and support to the students. The only bad thing is that the nearby community school Cooper only goes up to 5th grade and so those students have to come in to Orozco. They bring the scores down by quite a bit and distract the students who have been in Orozco for most of their academic career. Children who have attended Orozco are taught dicipline and get along very well with eachother as opposed to the children from Cooper who tend to be a bit conflictive. I also did not approve of the student teacher program. It did nothing but confuse most of the students and did not offer much help to those who needed it the most.

Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 5

Posted October 31, 2011
- a community member
I go to this school and it is awesome, clean inside and out and you learn many different things

Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 5

Posted November 29, 2009
- a student
This is a school with great teachers and a principal who really cares about her students. The gifted program is really a great way to challenge students, to strive for their highest potential. Most of the students in the gifted program end up in excellent high schools like: Whitney Young, Lane Tech, Jones, Payton, St. Ignatius. The art programs also has great instructors with well known artists like Fransisco Mendoza who has made a lot of contributions to the community with his extraordinary art work.


Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences
no rating

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
Since my child has been in this school has improve in some way the cognitive area, but in the motivational and in the way that they encourage children to continue study they have to improve a lot. Because they say is gifted program, children many times feels in a really stressfull situation. Teachers in the first grade do not help in this matter and make that many children that really have the potential go of the program and have a low selfsteem of their future. I could say that the administration needs improve more, because same family member work there and are like a society in this school.

Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences 5

Posted March 18, 2008
- a community member
I think this is the best school ever. It offers an academically enriched gifted program for the future prodigies of our nation. The students get to experience highschool classes in eight grade and that really prepares them for the real thing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences
1940 West 18th St, Chicago, IL  60608
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (773) 534-7215
Last modified Orozco Elementary Fine Arts & Sciences is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top