Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Beard Elementary School

Public | PK-3 | 171 students

Our school is known for instruction for students with autism

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

I'm sad to say this will be my son's last year at Beard. He had made a significant progress in all area's. I wish this school had room for 4th through 8th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2013

Magic happens here. Beard is absolutely the best place and school. What a brilliant staff! Everyone is very willing to help, the teachers are great, the administration is receptive and the paraprofessionals are so friendly. It has a good feel as soon as you walk in.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 6, 2013

this school is amazing my son has been there for 4 years and sadly this is his last year I'm so happy that my son next year would be going to a special ed classroom at his home school but with other kids with different types of disabilities and I'm so thankful to all the teachers and therapiest for all there hard work. My son and our family would trully missed Beard school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2013

As a Beard School parent, I am saddened and angered to see the changes in the school since the new principal started in Fall 2013. Last year, my child and our family felt supported and helped. My child was challenged to do the best in school, but never judged or punished inappropriately for having special needs. This year has been very different. The new principal, perhaps due to her lack of Special Education experience, has used inappropriate methods to deal with my child s special needs. He was isolated from his peers and removed from a learning situation. His teacher was instructed not to communicate with me. I was repeatedly told that if I did not pick my child up early from school, despite the fact that I was at my job, the school would call SASS or an ambulance to remove my child. In one case, the principal actually called the Chicago Police department to handle my 7 year old. This is not conducive to learning, especially in a school dedicated solely to serving special needs children. I m very sad to see these changes in what was previously an exceptional school. I"m giving two stars because, although many faculty and staff left, many good teachers and staff remain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

Our son is just nearing the end of his 3rd year at Beard. He started at the age of 3, and spent 2 yrs with Ms. Kathleen (Preschool). As another parent said, he too showed a tremendous amount of improvement after only a short time of starting school. He is now in Kindergarten (Ms Tracy's class). The improvements haven't stopped! The amount of kindness, compassion, love, and guidance is amazing at this school! We too are very lucky to have our son at Beard!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

The teachers and staff are wonderful. My son loves going to school and I love that he is so happy when he is there. Everyone really is on the same page with me regarding my son's goals. I am truly lucky he is there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

Well i have two children that attention this school and this is best school for my sons need. teacher are good hard working may god bless them all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

My son has been attending Beard for three months and we have already seen a great deal of progress. Miss Kathleen, PreK, is a tremendous teacher who keeps us informed of everything our son does in class. The therapists and teachers work together as a team and Mrs. Weekly is a wonderful principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

This school has been a blessing to our family. This is our son's 2cd year and he is doing great. The teachers love what they do and it shows!!! Thank you Beard!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

This school is the best thing that ever happened for my son. All the teachers and staff love what they are doing and it shows. So many schools for autistic children are just glorified daycare. The staff at Beard believe my son can learn and empower me as a parent. I wish every child with a developmental disability could have a school this wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

My son Michael has been at Beard since 4 years old. When he 1st arrived at Beard he was non-verbal. Michael has come such a long way, not only is he talking but reading and writing. Michael has 2 more years left at beard and will be sad when its time to leave. The new principal is great. Mrs. Weekly deserves 5 stars and 2 thumbs up for being great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

My son has attended Beard school since he was 3. When he started he was not talking, and had many emotional out burst. Since being at Beard he is now talking with on problems and the out burst are few if any. We love this school. Our son has one year left at Beard. He will age out when he turns 10 next year. We will greatly miss it. The teachers and staff are amazing at this school. They go the extra mile for all students and their families. This is the best school for all special needs children and their parents. The Deem Family
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 24%
White 32% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 4%
Black 9% 18%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Speech and language therapist(s)
Special education coordinator
School social worker/counselors(s)
School psychologist
Nurse(s)
Security personnel
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Russian
Spanish
Albanian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Albanian
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Therapeutic
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • Manda Lukic
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Differentiated Instruction
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
  • Therapeutic
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Albanian
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6445 W Strong St
Chicago, IL 60656
Phone: (773) 534-1228

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Union Ridge Elementary School
Harwood Heights, IL




St. Monica School
Chicago, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT