Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
76 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 109 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Loop Elementary School 2

Posted August 26, 2016
- a parent
We've been at SLES for several years now and are disappointed with the increasingly negative environment. The school leadership, the principal, in particular is blatantly rude, shows reverse prejudice- treating her African American and Hispanic families with disregard, holds childish grudges, and seems rarely happy. On the flip side she certainly knows her students and does maintain an open door, but as a principal those seem to be the things that are non-negotiable, and what good are they when the communication is sour. Given her demeanor it is our belief that she is modeling negative behavior for her staff and students and in turn there is a culture of disrespect. We've dealt with a few teachers who believe in motivating/ encouraging students by belittling them. Many teachers are very 'old school' and not fit to prepare our children for a college or career of the 21st century. This past year we learned that the assistant principal "left" given some physical encounters with students. His casual demeanor was misleading when in reality he was negatively interacting with them- smacking them upside the head, bumping into them intentionally, etc... These incidents are actually documented with the district. Just another example of the contagious negative behavior. Additionally the school has a bullying issue. No surprise there. Now there are certainly plenty of good caring staff, teachers, and families at the school who contribute to creating a positive learning environment but the overall experience is not one that deserves a recommendation. There are also lots of 'clicky' families, low school spirit, and poor parent engagement. We had been warned by other families, who had come and gone after only a few years, of the poor school culture and the warning is one we wish we certainly would have heeded.

South Loop Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
Very few teachers are "great" at this school and the Principal is ineffective is setting the tone for the qualities I wish to see in my child


South Loop Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
The Principle does not possess this quality therefore, it is unlikely her staff can impart this on the students.

South Loop Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
The Principle does not possess these qualities therefore, the likelihood of the culture of the school to embrace is small

South Loop Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
If the Principle does not embrace character and integrity AND set the expectation for her administration the message will not be received by students.


South Loop Elementary School 2

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
This school is not a 9 as indicated. I would agree with the many comments regarding the behavior of Administration starting with the Principle. Her ability to maintain her position must be related to the Chicago Teachers Union inability to address poor performance or the detrimental behavior of their members. In my opinion the Principle is rude, inappropriate and unlike her formulated communication to parents when she is requesting donations, she is not respectful nor grateful to parents participation in helping SLS. The school can no longer allow outside of the neighborhood enrollment yet one of her close friends daughter is permitted to be enrolled even though she lives in the suburbs. It is a shame that the school parents do not unite to give SLS the leader these kids deserve.

South Loop Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted July 21, 2015
- a student
Teachers are disrespectful and rude. They favor "smarter" kids in the class and put them on a pedestal. Others are put down by their race. My favorite teacher was Mr. Coppula by far he was the best teacher in this school he had a very innovative way of teaching the curriculum. While others just read out of a book. Homework assignments were all from the internet or the textbook/workbook. I've been denied helped countless times which resulted in poor grade. My questions have also been had "eye rolled" at and i've been portrayed as "stupid" because somethings I don't catch on as fast as others.

South Loop Elementary School 1

Posted July 21, 2015
- a student
I wish I could give this school less than one star. The school is filthy, trash on the floor, milk on the stairs, and even pieces on chicken! There has been times where I came home crying from being bullied my weight and my physical appearence. The children use fowl language (and teachers do not care one bit) and i've seen people being bullied everyday. The principal FORCED children to donate over $30 for a "fun run" and if you didn't you were taken away from basic privilages. We were forced to go outside in negative temps. The bathrooms are the most fowl things i've ever seen in my life. The mirrors are so musty that you can't even see yourself in the mirror. I've never seen the bathroom be cleaned before and there is even pieces of weave in the sink. The school is extremely small and they don't have enough classrooms to even teach the kids in. We were taught in the hallway, the little theater and the part I am going to tell you may shock you we were taught IN A STORAGE ROOM. 6th period was held in the lunch room everyday for a year and we sat at tables of crunched up hot cheetos, milk, and chicken. The staff never cleaned up before we were taught in it. The whole class would have to all grab a wet, milk filled, non-reusable, but still reused wet towelette everyday. These often distracted the children from learning and in total used up about 2 full weeks of learning time (10 min) everyday during class. Kids have been touched in private areas and have been made sexual advances at. Kids play dirty truth or dare DURING class while the teacher is doing whatever. I have witnessed girls crying because teachers told them they can't wear certain clothing pieces that were not purposfully meant to enhance certain features. This shows teachers and staff over sexualize 12-14 year olds. Students talk about doing inappropriate things to girls while inappropriate gestures and then called a "thot". In conclusion do not send your child to this school unless you want a 9 month long year of suffering


South Loop Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
Homework is busy work, and minimally helpful, and the children are shamed, by having to stand up and change their behavior card from green, which is good, to yellow, which is a warning. It's demoralizing and hurtful, not to mention the teacher uses a behavior chart for homework processes

South Loop Elementary School 1

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is finishing up 1st grade, on the heels of a horrendous kindergarten experience. Her teacher, who claims she must keep her "strict" reputation, has all but crushed my daughter's passion for education. The teacher is mean, the administration (and teacher) are dismissive and disrespectful, the school is unbelievably filthy - we routinely visit our pediatrician due to rashes and infections from the toilets, there has not been a language teacher or curriculum all year, and the resulting stress on my daughter and the family is not what I had read about or planned for a start to my young child's educational journey.

Nearby schools

South Loop Elementary School
1212 South Plymouth Ct, Chicago, IL  60605
(773) 534-8690
Last modified South Loop Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top