Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mcauliffe Elementary School 1

Posted August 05, 2013
- a teacher
This school has had a series of misfortune with its administrators. The current principal held a lot of promise. Completely unprofessional and no behavior managment in place for the students. The kids are so out of control and he rather bully her staff than ever correct a child. If students and parents do not respect their principal, they also won't respect the teachers either. This is a BIG problem. The nice looks of a school does not reflect how it truly is on the inside. Any school can change for the good, but with this principal, its just more of the same; a hostile work environment and burned out teachers. She really fooled her new staff. Good thing is, that Chicago has better options than this school. This one is a mess!

Mcauliffe Elementary School 2

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
I went to the school as a child and now my kids go there. We have challenges in the community, but one thing we want is that the people who teach our kids are being respected and not belittled by their principal or whoever is in charge (for the time being). The principal seems to fear parents and their complaints so she lets the kids do what they want. We got letters about a new PBIS thing and I don't see it working. kids running out at dismissal, they can hurt the little ones and the principal just plays like she don't see anything. She just wants the paycheck but doesn't seem to truly push the kids to the next level. THAT IS HER JOB!!! yes she tried to say that she got rid of the other teachers as a "reform" thing in reality they just left! vry smart, I wonder how many of the teacher will come back next year. Try Funston or ANY other school in the network. If the principal can't handle this small school, find another person, even the Vice principal seems better.


Mcauliffe Elementary School 1

Posted December 27, 2012
- a teacher
What that principal did to McAulliffe is a travesty. There is a reason HALF of the staff left after her first year in 2011-2012, even the AP she hired! The principal lacks leadership. She's an alpha-male. A good leader builds strength of others & an environment of trust & community. The school had a leadership team prior to her arrival. She belittled their voices. She YELLS at her staff. Her lack of respect & leadership skills are a recipe for disaster. If she focused less on being seen as the boss-man, she'd realize not replying to parent & staff emails & ignoring students who need special support are ignored. She went an entire year w/o holding an RTI meeting! How many students fell through the cracks last year? This principal wants a submissive & malleable staff. I'm sure she replaced the staff with new teachers; they're cheaper & naive. I hope they know a bully when they see one. She's disrespectful & the definition of a bully. She's passive-agressive, then someone questions her & she attacks. Any pleasantries you see are not genuine. She succumbed to the disgusting ways of CPS leadership. As a parent, I recommend you find a school with a better leader, not this dictator.

Mcauliffe Elementary School 1

Posted November 15, 2012
- a parent
the PRINCIPAL IS VERY disconnected with US parents.Also the PRINCIPAL needs to take BULLY more serious,Me as a parent say there is a lot of improving to do...i really can't saY the same for the PRINCIPAL ASSISTANT now he should become the the PRINCIPAL.He does take care of business....

Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2010
- a parent
approachable, caring administration. wonderful teachers. friendly office staff. discliplinarian shows love and respect when she speaks to the children. my children are very happy there. One complaint! - school should have 7th and 8th grades.


Mcauliffe Elementary School 4

Posted May 27, 2008
- a community member
I noted that the date of the one parent comment was from 2004. There is now a new administration at McAuliffe that is doing a great job, and the climate at the school has improved accordingly. Administration is very respectful of teachers needs, yet encourages them to try new activities to benefit the students.

Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mcauliffe Elementary School 1

Posted September 16, 2004
- a parent
I think McAuliffe is a beautiful school, cosmetically only. The administration in my opinion is very disconnected with the teaching staff and the teaching staff is very disconnected with the parents. This school appear to be geared toward the advancement of the hispanic community with a slight bias undertone. The few African American students that attend are often seen in the office for 'disciplinary' reasons; as well as forced classroom changes. I would highly recommend this school if you are hispanic, but if you are African American be prepared for continued battles for justice.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcauliffe Elementary School
1841 North Springfield Avenue, Chicago, IL  60647
(773) 534-4400
Last modified Mcauliffe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mcauliffe Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top