Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mary Of The Woods School

Private | PK-8 | 52 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $299,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, July 26, 2014

Humble excellence. This is where you want your high performing child to attend. Band, art, hand bells, sports, choir, Battle of the Books, Theater, ...it has it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

Just heard about the 2014 retirements...it's about time especially for 2nd grade. Sure hope they hire someone without the bullying tendencies :(


Posted January 23, 2014

From an academic perspective, the school is perfectly fine for average students that don't the need extra push or who need extra help. Very average. I would say more disappointing is the culture of bullying throughout the school which very little, if anything, is done about. Sadly it is a culture that is brought on by the parents and that trickles right down to the kids. It is hugely ironic that this supposed to be a place where "faith-based" learning occurs, because there are very few examples of that here! We are looking into other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

Be careful. Under this new principal, words are missed and misspelled throughout its literature at its website. Most of the faculty of 2011-2012 was retained. Know that the culture of the school has not been drastically modified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

St. Mary of the Woods provides a wonderful faith-based learning environment that challenges and develops students at all levels. I would advise anyone reading these reviews that during the 2011-2012 school year SMOW underwent a leadership change so some of the reviews from that timeframe reflect that tumultuousness. We now have an outstanding new principal in place and the environment has significantly improved as a direct result. She has truly rejuvenated the school and her enthusiasm is reflected in the teachers, the parents, and the students. I presently have three children in the school and would recommend St. Mary's whole heartedly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2012

This school has many issues, both academic and social. Academically the school is very traditional, paper and pencil oriented. Teaching is geared to the average student who exhibits an in the box style of learning. Students who do not adhere to the traditional method are blamed for exhibiting alternative paths to achievement. Students are not assisted in achieving mastery, but are punished and not allowed to participate in classroom activities. Rather than attempt to meet individual needs, teachers and administrators engage in outsourcing . This forces parents to contract services of professionals outside of the school, required by the school, who are able to charge very high fees for their services without regard to insurance policies. Socially, the children take their cues from the teachers. When a teacher bullies a child, the students are encouraged to join in the fun . The culture of the school is more athletically oriented than academically sound. Preschool and primary grades are workbook and worksheet with little or no creativity. The abuse is most pronounced in fourth grade with the removal of recess and lunch if worksheet/workbook assignments are not completed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

This school is great if you have an average child. SMOW cannot handle any child that needs a lot of help, or one that is very intelligent and bored. The former principal was a nun that ran a tight ship, but was slow to embrace technology. The new principal in last 4 years brought on technology which is a blessing. However, I feel he was too non-confrontational, had no leadership skills. This year alone there is a large turnover in staff, including the principal (I believe he was asked to leave) and assistant principal (who was great btw, but got a better offer elsewhere). And there are some teachers that have been there for a very long time, including one for over 30 years. Most are excellent. There is very little control of bullying issues, to the point that several families have left this year alone. The bullies stay, the victims leave. There seems to be strong push for athletics over academics, especially football. However most, if not all, students do get into their chosen high schools, including a few to Northside, which is next to impossible to get into. The school is very community based, with high parent involvement. A lot of fundraising goes on to keep the tuition down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

SMOW is a great school! It promotes Catholic identity and prepares our children for the real world. The teachers are enthusiastic and well prepared. The school is really a close knit community that has great family orientated activities. My children enjoy learning here and we have the school and community to thank. The students are more than prepared for high school and ready the challenges that will face academically and socially. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2012

We had more than a handful of issues with the school. The leadership of the school is seriously lacking. Bullying is an issue that is not handled appropriately. Teachers are hit or miss. Sports are overemphasized and academics are not. We expected more from a faith based school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2011

St. Mary of the Woods School (SMOW) provides a wonderful educational foundation for high school and college. This school is for the average to above-average student, and strives to challenge students. I have three children who attended SMOW from 1997 to 2014 with terrific results. From my experience I could not recommend the school for IEP students, especially a student who needs a self-contained setting. Our family has witnessed many changes and improvements through the years. The school administration went from being run by a very dedicated religious order - focused on the fundamentals of a quality education but slow to incorporate the latest technological advances - to a school presently run by a layperson who has achieved a school with all the latest and greatest bells and whistles. Change is embraced and encouraged! Communication by the adminstration has always been the weak-link and continues to be. SMOW is for your children is you want them to be engaged and challenged daily with exposure to Art, Music, Gym and Spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

We currently have two children at St Mary's and a very pleased with their progress. Homework is given every day which takes our children about 90 minutes to finish. We like the long school day compared with the public school accross the street. Parents are very involved at our school along with the parish as a whole. National test scores seem to be impressive and are posted online when the school recieves them. The modern facilities really do facilitate a good learning enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

I have a 7th grade student at this school and find it average. Very good math program, but the new vice principal is a little off the memo. Most teachers are outstanding and deserve more than they are credited with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

Outstanding. 4 children go ( 2 current and 2 graduated) to this school. Very community based school. great involvement from the parents and children. Great prep for High School. All honors math and English in HS. Faith based community that looks out for those in need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I could not be more pleased with my experience at St. Mary of the Woods. I have 3 children who range in age from kindergarten to 7th grade and they have received the most well rounded education possible. The children have art, music and Spanish at least twice a week which is unheard of in other schools. Over 95% of the students are accepted at the high school of their choice. This includes St. Ignatius College Prep and Northside Prep. The teachers are very committed and very involved. There is very little turnover. The tuition is very reasonable compared to other private schools because the parents are very involved in private fundraising efforts. I couldn't be more thrilled with the education that my children are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hispanic 1% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Mary Yamoah
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7033 North Moselle Avenue
Chicago, IL 60646
Phone: (773) 763-7577

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Newhope Academy
Niles, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT