Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Turibius School

Private | PK-8 | 24 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $93,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2012

This is an excellent school with very creative, fun teachers that really help the children learn.


Posted February 23, 2011

My son has been going to his school for a while and at first it was going good but as the time passes by It s getting very irritating on how things are being handled. My son has no typing skills. The music teacher falling asleep in the classroom. The staff not being paid. Accidents not being reported. Volunteers acting as teachers what is going on with the principle I think its time to put her out. But I do have to say some of these teachers are excellent teachers they just need to have a better boss. Playground was bulit and the kids rarely go out to play... Why ?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

St. Turibius has an exceptional faculty that is dedicated to the students they serve. Students are consistenly challenged to succeed and reach their full potential. As a school, we work hard to ensure all students are given the time and attention necessary for their individual learning styles. We have excellent technology and resources that most other Catholic schools are not able to offer. St. Turibius school educates, empowers and nurtures the mind and spirit of all students to become life long learners and leaders in the community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 27, 2010

I love the teachers, and the staff..and the reachers are great...and my child has grown so much in his awarewaness of all that is around him...I love this school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2010

The teachers are good but the building and the restrooms need to be kept up. The bathrooms smell and I don't know why noone gives that place a good cleaning. I'm surprised that the principle hasn't stepped in to do something about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

this is the best school ever. the teachers are so dedicated and they help you so much if you need help. they tech you so many things other than english,math,spelling.social studies, and religion. they show you how to be good leaders and have good manners. They teach so many things that will get you far in the future! I defiantly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2008

i used to go to this school. i still am a student. I read some of the parents' comments. St.Turibius definitely is not what it used to be. Last time, I attended the school, they were just planning out all the new changes . Academically, I am so proud to say that the teachers helped me advance but the current new principal... should've stayed a teacher.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2008

My 3 children attended St. Turibius. For my oldest it was the best educational experience. As the years went on the primary grade teachers, especially K were not so good. Higher grade teachers (6, 7, 8) great teachers - very dedicated. New Principal not well liked - should have stayed a teacher. The school is not what it used to be -
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

St. Turibius School is fine and has produced hundreds of graduates going on to become morally upstanding, accomplished citizens. The school has much to be proud of and is constantly evealuating, growing and developing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

This is the best school ever my children do not want to leave at all. I will rcommend this school to any one who is looking where to put their child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

I really want to say something, St. Turibius has been so far the best school, good teachers and they are not so hard on you. Specially the principal she very dedicate to her job and she is really cares about our children. I really do like this school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2007

This school was very dissapointing. My children went here and they have cousins in public schools that are more advanced than them. Very sad for such a nice looking Catholic School. I wouldn't recomend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

3 daughters from St. Turibius...one graduated from Northwestern, two are now at the University of Chicago. Great foundation from St. Turibius and involved teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

The staff is always willing to work with you and your child. Teachers return phone calls promptly. Family mass is well coordinated by the school children once a month. Pastor has great sense of humor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

Along-standing traditional catholic school educational quality. Teachers that care with strong parental involvement evident. School/church connection in respectable southwest side neighborhood. Have seen these qualities persist through three generations of students of which my son is currently a sixth grader. Extra curricular activities, experienced administrative leadership, and wide range of sports involvement for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 88% 24%
White 11% 51%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sharon L Dulewski
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4120 West 57th Street
Chicago, IL 60629
Phone: (773) 581-2730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT