Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Robert Bellarmine School

Private | PK-8 | 302 students

We are best known for first-rate academics & values.

 
 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $190,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2010

I love St. Robert's school because there is a deep dedication to its students by its teachers and administration as well as a commitment to teaching students respect for others and themselves, an important life lesson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

We have two daughter's who attend St. Robert's preschool and they love going to school. The teachers, principal and staff are caring and have the best interest of your child at heart. I would recommend St. Robert's to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I believe ST. Roberts is a very good school with a good faculty. I have been a life long parishoner as well as my children and come to believe that once there you will always feel a part of their community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

This school is best kept secret in Chicago! We transferred from another catholic school last year and cannot begin to describe how fortunate we are to have found this place. The religious education, discipline and the cooperation from the principal and staff are amazing. This is how school was when we were growing up. Our children will be better people because of their experiences from St. Robert Bellarmine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

St. Robert's provide a safe, nurturing environment for their students. Mrs. Mijal, the principal takes the time to know all the students and families by name. St. Robert's promotes family values as well as education. We love being a St. Robert's family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

Our son goes to St. Robert's and we are parishioners there too. It's a great community and an excellent school. We are extremely impressed by the dedication of the teachers, the curriculum, and the religious education. He loves going to St. Robert's. He's excited about some of the new after school activities too, like piano lessons and the 'PE for Me' sports program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

My daughter started in pre-K and now is in 2nd grade. I love this school and wouldn't have it any other way. Not only is she excelling academically, there is a strong family atmosphere. She goes to afterschool volleyball on Tuesday's and girl scouts every other Thursday. The principal is always adding new and innovative ways of helping the children. Before and After school care comes in handy to
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

My son graduated last year from SRB and when he took the H.S. placement exam we were surprised that he placed into honors classes for math & science. SRB really did a great job preparing the kids for H.S.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

Excellent teachers and a great learning environment. They do; however need more extracurricular activities for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

I'm a student at Saint Robert Bellarmine and I have to say that it is a fantastic school, and I absolutely adore it. I transferred from a different school to SRB and I immediately felt the welcoming environment. The teachers there are remarkable. I will be graduating this year, and I can totally see why I'm going to miss it. The children are well disciplined and very educated. Sr. Mary Lou is currently the principal there and she maintains a very well balanced school and she's very involved. I will always remember her helping out the kids in the lunchroom! Saint Roberts has a very strong view on sports. The coaches give fair play, but our teams are outstanding. Saint Robert's main message is to treat others with respect. This school has definitely made a positive influence in my life, and I know it will make a difference in your child's.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 60%
Hispanic 20% 16%
Asian 7% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% N/A
Black 0% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Polish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Polish
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Carrie Mijal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (773) 725-7611

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Polish
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Loyola University
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • St. Robert Bellarmine offers an excellent education plus a values-based community where parents, faculty and students work together so that children can flourish.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Fenwick, Loyola Academy, St. Ignatius, St. Patrick, Trinity etc.
99.8% are admitted to their first choice high school.
Top-tier public high schools, such as Lane Tech and Whitney Young.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6036 W Eastwood Ave
Chicago, IL 60630
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 725-5133

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Pascal School
Chicago, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT