Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Robert Bellarmine School

Private | PK-8 | 302 students

We are best known for first-rate academics & values.

 
 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $190,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

We could not be happier with St. Robert's! Our daughter transferred in during the middle of the year from another school and she immediately felt welcome and at ease. The teachers and principal are always available to discuss whatever is on a student's or parent's mind, and the principal has a very visible and respected presence. Everyone is known by their first names, including the parents. The education my daughter has received is impressive, and her love of learning has been nurtured from day one. The discipline policy is strictly enforced and, unlike other schools, conflict between students is handled as soon as it is brought to the attention of teachers. Bullying is pretty much non-existant, and the standards of conduct for students are very high. I am proud to recommend St. Robert Bellarmine to anyone who is looking for a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

We started sending our daughter to this school last fall for Pre-K . We could not be happier with the outcome. Our daughter absolutely LOVES coming here. Her teachers are patient and nurturing and I truly feel like she is in great care when with them. The principal Mrs. Mijal is wonderfully focused on the kids and has a strong, responsible vision for the school. Enrollment continues to increase, in my opinion, due to her strong leadership. In addition, the school seems to have a lot of resources for a private school such as special ed programs, and a school psychologist. I also appreciate the consistent communication that we receive, and the opportunities to meet with other families. We were not members of the parish upon deciding to send our daughter here, but still feel a sense of community from the other families and children. We plan to continue with St. Roberts post preschool because of the wonderful experience we have had. I honestly feel like this school is a hidden gem in a neighborhood where can great schools can be hard to come by.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

We researched a number of schools before deciding that this was exactly where we wanted our children to flourish. It's clear that the school leadership and teaching staff put the children first. There are a number of ways families can get involved in the school and Parish. This is our fourth year here at St. Robert's and have two children who take great pride in their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2012

We are parents of a 3-year-old preschooler and could not be happier with SRB. Our son loves going to school each morning. It's remarkable how much he has learned in a few short months. We are also very happy with the entire SRB community from his teachers and the principal to the fellow parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

St. Roberts is like family. Kids learn. Kids that have questions on any subject can always rely on teachers to help them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

My daughter is getting a wonderful education there. The teachers have all been very wonderful and friendly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

A little gem of a school in a great neighborhood, great community.


Posted April 30, 2010

My son is a 4th generation srb student. What better endorsement is there?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I have 4 children. When we began looking for a school, we wanted an environment for our children where they could grow as caring, valued individuals. SRB has all that and a very warm atmosphere. Our principal is dedicated to enriching the learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The teachers at St. Roberts do a phenomenal job of preparing the children for life through utmost dedication and caring for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Its a great neighborhood Cathloic school thats been a great part of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Not only are the teachers and principal dedicated to the students, but all the volunteers, coaches, girl scout leaders, etc. are also very dedicated. It is an all-around great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Caring, loving, nuturing enviornment to help my girls learn in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My boys went there and received a great education. Everyone there is so caring.


Posted April 29, 2010

The teachers and parents work well together to give the kids a well rounded education and extra curricular activities.


Posted April 29, 2010

SRB has a strong family base and works with students and parents in order to furnish the best education for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

It is a wonderful school, with great teachers and great kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Great teachers and staff that create a positive learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Excellent school with excellent academics grounded in enduring values. Incredibly dedicated teachers and principal + an active parent community work together to turn out great kids who are more than ready to tackle high school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I love St. Robert's so much because of the education, the catholic values and teaching my four kids to be grateful for what we have and to love and respect one another always. I have put 4 children within 22yrs. Now my grandson will be going there in the preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 51%
Hispanic 17% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Polish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Polish
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Carrie Mijal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (773) 725-7611

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Polish
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Loyola University
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • St. Robert Bellarmine offers an excellent education plus a values-based community where parents, faculty and students work together so that children can flourish.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Fenwick, Loyola Academy, St. Ignatius, St. Patrick, Trinity etc.
99.8% are admitted to their first choice high school.
Top-tier public high schools, such as Lane Tech and Whitney Young.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6036 W Eastwood Ave
Chicago, IL 60630
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 725-5133

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Pascal School
Chicago, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT