Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Sabina Academy

Private | PK-8 | 295 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $62,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 9, 2013

St. Sabina has fallen below the community expectations in so many ways. It's amazing how they pretend to empower the community, but they don't welcome parents as partners. There are no real scholarships prior to your children starting class, they treat you as if they are bill collectors instead of educators and will sit your child out side until they have received money. In exchange for your hard earned money, you are not expected to ask questions or challenge the norm. Just send your children and hope for the best. Children often slip through the crack here. There have been numerous inadequate teachers who affect the children's learning ability and self-esteem and the school administrator doesn't see it as a problem. The constant problem here is not enough resources, too many new teachers, and too much nepotism. They don't reach out to parents for help, just MONEY. Don't send your child here to receive a competitive education, but rather an attitude and excuses. My Child has been on principal scholar here since, 2009, but I want him to be prepared for a better future. Don't believe the MEDIA HYPE! Once they get you in, it's over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

I believe that the school is doing its best with what they have to work with. Disciple starts in the home and the kids bring those behaviors in the school. I feel sorry for the teachers they have to be mothers, fathers, sisters,brothers and whatever else the childs needs.


Posted September 17, 2009

St. Sabina Academy is the educational outreach ministry of the Faith Community of St. Sabina. Therefore, the school shares in the mission of the church and strives to train up Christian children utilizing God's word, the Bible, and the principles found therein. The mission scripture is Proverbs 22:6: 'Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.' The faculty and administration at St. Sabina's believe that God has a purpose for every child's life. By incorporating the gospel of Jesus Christ and African values, the faculty is committed to teaching and guiding children as they discover their place in the body of Christ. Through collective work and responsibility, the faculty and administration strive to provide a safe, stable, secure and nurturing environment in which children can achieve academic excellence.


Posted April 2, 2009

My school is very good (academic wise) and the teachers are willing to help you but the children are very hectic!!! I an currently in the upper grades and I am sick of the kids' behavior. Overall it is a good school but i think that some of the children really need to be checked. (by their parents!!)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2009

My child attended St. Sabina and I must say, she received an excellent education. The principal, teachers and support staff care about the outcome/success of the students. The curriculum is traditional yet accelerated; they focus on critical thinking skills. The day starts and ends with prayer; this is refershing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

I have been atending st.sabina since kindegarten and is currently an 8th grader.. i myself like st.sabina it is a great learning environment...students and teachers have a great bond with each other.. we have plently of great extra activites, and have great cooperation from the parents,students,principal,teachers,and pastor... i gladly recommend st.sabina 2 any parent who is looking for a school for their child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2008

This is the best school ever the teachers reach out so much for you which makes the environment so much better to be in. They do things they dont have to do so you can make it in life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2008

I feel my kids are safe here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

This is my son's third year and i like the school very much. Yes I think the discpline needs to improve but overall its a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

This has been my daughter's first year at this school. (2006-2007). She was placed here due to the poor quality and lack of discipline in CPS. I found the practice of teaching about God refreshing but it doesn't appear to help with the discipline. While the children aren't as unruly as in CPS, the mild punishment of staying a few minutes after school or writing numerous pages has no affect on corrective behavior. Parents should be called consistently no matter how many times if their child is the cause for disruptions. I think my daughter's learning ability would increase greatly if there weren't so many discipline problems. Teachers would be able to teach and not be babysitters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

My children have been attending St. Sabina for a number of years and I have seen alot of changes. The discpline is not longer there. Our children today need to know that they cannot do whatever they want without being held accountable. We must stop putting all the responsibility on the teachers and put some back on ourseleves as parents. We cannot expect the teachers to raise our children. I would like to see more consititent discpline in the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

The academic programs are ok, but discipline in junior high effects the academics. Extracular programs are good and convenience because everything is done after school. Parent involvement is ok, but not very good in junior high
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

This is a good school as far as reading, math and writing scores. I would recommend this school, however if you are not practicing Christianity then you may want to reconsider
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

Administration is ok. I respect the principal because she doesn't have an easy job and she genuinely cares about the children, but I think the quality of some of the teachers is poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

My son Lee Daley II has attended St Sabina since Pre-K 3. This institution provides a high-quality of education in a safe, clean, nurturing, and empowering environment which encourages strong values, self-discipline, and hard work for inner-city children who are motivated to learn and become productive contributing members of society, but who otherwise would not have the opportunity.They strive to prepare their students for advanced academic work along with personal and social development so they will emerge as globally competitive, responsible citizens. I would recommend this institution highly and would not send my son any place else
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2004

I have a daughter attending pre-school at St Sabina. St. Sabina starts extremely early in implementing the blueprint for success. Although my child is very young she has already developed a hightened level of self respect, and she simply loves her school and her classmates. My child is the 5th generation of her family from the Gresham neighborhood, St Sabina gives her the opportunity to receve a top flight education in her neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

My granddaughter has been at St Sabina for 7 years and is principal scholar all 7 of the years. This school has accelerated under the leadership of Ms Dumas. Spanish and computer classes being added will help our children for the readiness of the future. I rate this school very high and because of my background as a teacher and postmaster I am fully qualified to rate this school. St Sabina graduates excell in many areas and we as african americans can feel proud that St Sabina is on the right path.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

As a graduate of St. Sabina, substitute teacher and parent, I think it is important for me to reveal the mis management of this once fine institution. Under the current leadership, this school is failing. Academically, they are behind. Behavior of children is out of control to say the least. Father Mike is a good man but I don't believe he has a clue about what is going on in that school. The church is doing wonderful things in the community, but they have turned their backs on those students. As a former student and employee, my hope is that Father Mike can make a decision to do something different to turn his school around. After speaking to several parents, teachers and students about what goes on in this school, I hoped for a forum to speak about what I know. Personally, I would like to sue the archdioces for every penny I paid towards tuition for my two girls for exactly one year. They learned a few things. They learned about children getting away with negative behaviors, cursing, jukeing and that some teachers teach and others babysit and can't control their classroom. To the parents that like the hours 6am-6pm, you need to realize before it is too late that you are paying a tall price for your childs education. Get involved in what is going on there and talk to your children. This is information coming from a parent, teacher and former student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2003

I have been very pleased by the educational program provided by St. Sabina. I have a 1st grader and a pre-k student. The only facts that are of concern are: pre-k tuition prices are not a part of the family rate, and as a result you pay a lot if you have 1 child in pre-k and another in the academy, versus if they are both in the academy you pay much less. My only other concern are the book/activity fee's which in my opinion are a little too high. The teachers have encountered have been very knowledgeable and vested in the children. The Principal and Asst. Principal are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 99% 20%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 16%
White 0% 60%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Helen A Dumas
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7801 South Throop Street
Chicago, IL 60620
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 483-5620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT