Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 295

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Sabina Academy 1

Posted November 09, 2013
- a parent
St. Sabina has fallen below the community expectations in so many ways. It's amazing how they pretend to empower the community, but they don't welcome parents as partners. There are no real scholarships prior to your children starting class, they treat you as if they are bill collectors instead of educators and will sit your child out side until they have received money. In exchange for your hard earned money, you are not expected to ask questions or challenge the norm. Just send your children and hope for the best. Children often slip through the crack here. There have been numerous inadequate teachers who affect the children's learning ability and self-esteem and the school administrator doesn't see it as a problem. The constant problem here is not enough resources, too many new teachers, and too much nepotism. They don't reach out to parents for help, just MONEY. Don't send your child here to receive a competitive education, but rather an attitude and excuses. My Child has been on principal scholar here since, 2009, but I want him to be prepared for a better future. Don't believe the MEDIA HYPE! Once they get you in, it's over.

St Sabina Academy 5

Posted August 21, 2012
- a community member
I believe that the school is doing its best with what they have to work with. Disciple starts in the home and the kids bring those behaviors in the school. I feel sorry for the teachers they have to be mothers, fathers, sisters,brothers and whatever else the childs needs.


St Sabina Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
St. Sabina Academy is the educational outreach ministry of the Faith Community of St. Sabina. Therefore, the school shares in the mission of the church and strives to train up Christian children utilizing God's word, the Bible, and the principles found therein. The mission scripture is Proverbs 22:6: 'Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.' The faculty and administration at St. Sabina's believe that God has a purpose for every child's life. By incorporating the gospel of Jesus Christ and African values, the faculty is committed to teaching and guiding children as they discover their place in the body of Christ. Through collective work and responsibility, the faculty and administration strive to provide a safe, stable, secure and nurturing environment in which children can achieve academic excellence.

St Sabina Academy 3

Posted April 02, 2009
- a student
My school is very good (academic wise) and the teachers are willing to help you but the children are very hectic!!! I an currently in the upper grades and I am sick of the kids' behavior. Overall it is a good school but i think that some of the children really need to be checked. (by their parents!!)

St Sabina Academy 0
no rating

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
My child attended St. Sabina and I must say, she received an excellent education. The principal, teachers and support staff care about the outcome/success of the students. The curriculum is traditional yet accelerated; they focus on critical thinking skills. The day starts and ends with prayer; this is refershing.


St Sabina Academy 4

Posted January 17, 2009
- a student
I have been atending st.sabina since kindegarten and is currently an 8th grader.. i myself like st.sabina it is a great learning environment...students and teachers have a great bond with each other.. we have plently of great extra activites, and have great cooperation from the parents,students,principal,teachers,and pastor... i gladly recommend st.sabina 2 any parent who is looking for a school for their child.

St Sabina Academy 4

Posted November 17, 2008
- a student
This is the best school ever the teachers reach out so much for you which makes the environment so much better to be in. They do things they dont have to do so you can make it in life.

St Sabina Academy 5

Posted August 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


St Sabina Academy 5

Posted August 08, 2008
- a parent
I feel my kids are safe here.

St Sabina Academy 4

Posted July 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Sabina Academy
7801 South Throop Street, Chicago, IL  60620
(773) 483-5000
Last modified St Sabina Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Sabina Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top