Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Scholastica Academy

Private | 9-12 | 30 students

 
 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $101,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 21, 2011

Great school! Transferred daughter from out of country school to SSA and feel good knowing she is receiving quality education. IB program is outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

I am currently a sophomore at st. scholastica academy. from my freshman experience it was really different compared to my former elementary school. i learned how to use a lock and a locker for the first time because my former school didnt have lockers. The school evironment is very welcoming and kind. the staff and faculty especially are very nice. if i could pick one teacher as my favorite i would have a hard time. all my teachers from my freshmen year were so nice. they showed that they care with the little things that they do. for example, my physics teacher assigned us an end of the quarter research paper. i didnt really know how to start it but he helped me. the teachers are approachable so dont be scared to ask them for help. they are there you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2008

I attend this school now. Im a freshman I transfered here from a school in Oregon called Barlow. It is an all girls school so I dont like that, the school work is challenging and it is hard to catch up its a very strict put together enviroment. This school is very good for an education and is much saught after. The tuition fee is decent not outragiousily expensive but im sure for some familys it is difficult to pay the cost. I am both looking forward to my years to come and dreading all of the hard work and my years without boys.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2008

I am a former student and now in my 20s and living and work in New York City. I can't say enough about single gender education. I attribute my confidence and assertiveness to the attention and small class size that are a strength of SSA. I met a lot of great young women who have proven to be life long friends. The theological focus on social justice was progressive without being preachy. My parents are still very much involved in stewardship with SSA and preparing the next generation of women to face this world. Overall, I had a fun time, felt challenged, not judged, and secure.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2007

My daughter is a junior at SSA, and I cannot say enough good things about the school. SSA took my happy, strong, smart 13 year old girl, and they have helped to make her happier, stronger, clearer about herself, and motivated to achieve more. The faculty are outstanding, the opportunities for involvement are without parallel in the city or suburbs, and the nurturing atmosphere is perfect for adolescent girls. Girls grow in strength and confidence at SSA. The science program is particularly outstanding. Also, the fine arts (both performing and visual) offerings are stupendous. Finally, the faith component is just right. SSA provides a Catholic education but they also welcome diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

This school has no school board and internal communication for parents and students is poor. No accountability exist for poor staff behavior. There is excessiveness in disipline measures over petty situations. Girls can spend up to 3 hours after school serving detentions for pettiness. There is no tutor programs or support for students academically. Parents are force to buy older books that are sometimes never used in the class and many times cannot be resold. The school in not progressive in their teachings. Girls that do poorly conveniently cannot compete and get into other schools due to low GPA. For the money spent you do not get your monies worth. Be aware of this school. There is promise with better administration for it to become a good school but for now this is not a major choice for a catholic high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2005

I love ssa. I attended tere my freshman and sophmore year. I transferred because it took me 2 hours to get to school each day. While iwas there, iwanted to leave so bad. Not that i trandferrd, i want to go back. Ssa makes you feel right at home. Now, i got to school with people giving me mean looks. At ssa all i saw was people smiling at me, including the ones i wasn't familiar with. Ssa was very challenging and helped me where i am today. It taught me a lot about being a woman and i will carry it with me every where i go. Two teachers i could never forget, mr. Hoover, and ms. Hamil are incredible. Mr hoover, istill remember freshman year. Ssa-pray for us. -Latifat odunewu class of '06 -latifat odunewu
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 1, 2004

I am not a parent but I am a student at St. Scholastica Academy. I think that this school is very challenging and helps the young women to expand their horizon and see that we can be as good as any man that walks our way or in any field that we pursue in. This school may be all girls but it is not that bad and it can be tedious at times but the education is worth it and trust me you will learn a lot within your four years there. I have learned alot even though it has been my third year and one more in counting!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2004

I love SSA...I had a good time and since it was a small school I knew everyone and the teachers would pay more attention to you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2003

I aboslutely love this school because of the homey feeling and how much fun it is. There were always dances and the end of the day was the sadest . I never had any problems with the teachers who are great especially Sister Susan. I highly recomend this school to every girl. This schoool is a girl's dream come true!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 33% 18%
White 33% 51%
Hispanic 22% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Colleen Brewer
Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7416 North Ridge Boulevard
Chicago, IL 60645
Phone: (773) 764-5715

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Park School
Evanston, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT