Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
287 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Therese School 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
St Therese Chinese Catholic School strives for academic excellence while instilling the values that are important to our family while creating the family like atmosphere for the nurturing of young minds and spirits. The entire staff is dedicated to success of each and every student and are active participants in each child's development strong leadership begins at the top with administrative staff and permeates through the educators which can be evidenced by being nationally recognized a Blue Ribbon School by the Department Education. In this competitive world, St Therese provides the building block to compete; their language program teaching both Spanish ( second most common language in the world) and Mandarin ( which is the most dominant language in Asia. I am proud parent of two St Therese Chinese Catholic School and throw my full support staff and school mission.

St Therese School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
I'm very proud to send my children to this school. I was comparing what my 8th grader know compared to other city schools and it is obvious that St. Therese curriculum is above and beyond The kids work very hard here!


St Therese School 5

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
This school is a blue ribbon school. They have teacher that teach well. Each year they have service hour for children which help them clean or sweep(got to help) for neighbors or teacher. They have a way to help our children so they could learn more. They tell our children to do Cornelle note which help them summarize their lesson for the chapter they learn.

St Therese School 1

Posted January 02, 2014
- a community member
beware. some of the teachers tend to bully. i remember an incident where a kid was severely humiliated by a teacher which encouraged other students to join in. He seemed so depressed. oh and the so called "spanish and computer teacher" is a joke. He gets paid to supervise the use of rosetta stone and websites like "learn2type.com". i could google what he supposedly "taught". learned nothing. oh and snack shop serves junk food to students at a cost. whenever the health inspector would pay a visit they would scramble in an effort to hide the junk food. This place is more focused on image than the students. it might seem rather prestigious at first glance, from ipads to those blazers. but dont be fooled by materials things because once you're in you can't wait to get out. miserable is what this place is.

St Therese School 2

Posted January 29, 2013
- a parent
St. Therese has some excellent teachers except for Spanish and Computer technology. Students are directed to use Rosetta Stone software for Spanish rather than being "taught" by a teacher. For Computer Technology, they are directed to websites to learn about computers. These methods/tools are no subsitute for real classroom instruction. I was amazed that my kids don't know how to use MS Word and ultimately, I was the one who had to teach them at home. The school advertises that it is state of the art with ipods and ipads, however, they are only taken out and used when VIPs are scheduled to visit the school. Unfortunately, my kids have graduated from St. Therese with little or no knowledge of Spanish or computers.


St Therese School 5

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
I am a parent at St. Therese School. The teachers and staff are caring, wonderful people and are always welcoming. They know your child from the first day of school. I believe that St Therese embraces family values, community service , and provides an education that is the foundation for the children's future. St. Therese was named the 2011 Blue Ribbon School and in 2012 was a finalist in the Intel School of Distinction Award. The children learn Mandarin Chinese, Conversational Spanish and are immersed in the Chinese Culture. The parents are involved in the school. St. Therese and the parents have one goal. The goal is to provide our children a loving environment for them to learn and excel in academics. The children are polite and care for each other. The upper grades mentor the lower grades which I think is wonderful. My son is looking forward to the day that he can also be a mentor. He enjoys his school immensely and participates in the after school activities. He enjoys Chess,Taiko Drums and Robotics after school. My son loves the diversity of the school. St Therese is providing him a solid foundation for the future.

St Therese School 1

Posted October 31, 2011
- a community member
In today's society speaking your mind and allowing creativity flow throughh is crucial. St.Therese does not support that. In fact they practically shove demerits in your face if you do so. The computer/Spanish teacher is an arrogant and boisterous person. He constantly flings demerits around as if they were to be toyed with. Of course, it is not, for it a very serious matter. Demerits at this school happen to be called, conduct referrals. He bellows out "conduct referral" and flicks it into a child's face often and never gives a chance for the child to speak. In computer classes, he isn't even teaching computer. He just makes the students go on some website and "study." I'm surprised st.Therese would even allow this person to be employed.

St Therese School 5

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are the absolute best... not to mention Ms. Cavallone, the principal... we love her!


St Therese School
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
The quality education and afterschool programs allows this small community and the students the synergy to propell themselves for greater oppotunitites.

St Therese School
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
It is one of the great schools of Chinatown.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Therese School
247 West 23rd Street, Chicago, IL  60616
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (312) 326-2837
Last modified St Therese School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top