Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Sylvester School

Private | PK-8 | 278 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $292,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 16, 2012

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this school and the wonderful teachers and principal. I have a first grader and a preschooler at St. Sylvester. My children absolutely love going to school every day and have learned so much from the amazing people who are so dedicated to this school. My children, even the preschooler, get to experience weekly computer classes with iPads for every student, music, gym and Spanish classes. The principal is so involved in every aspect of the school and truly cares about the students and their families. The tuition is very reasonable and worth every penny. There is such a warm sense of community within St. Sylvester which is very comforting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

Children who graduate from this school go on to St. Ignatius, Northside College Prep, Loyola, etc. It has a great atmosphere and very caring teachers and an involved principal. They also have basketball and football teams. My son loves this school and is learning beyond his grade capacity!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Great school, teachers are wonderful, very attentive to every student. Principal is outstanding, we are amazed at how much work he puts into this school and how he does it without an assistant. I have a daughter and a nephew attending this school and i have seen a huge improvement from when my daughter first started as well as my nephew. Communication with the parents has always been a priority, which makes this an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

My daughter is in Ms. Marquez' pre-k 3 class and she absolutely loves it! The teachers and staff are amazing and the parents are very vested in our children's education. My daughter comes home singing new songs, drawing new pictures and showing off her new vocabulary every day. She looks forward to going to school and playing with all of her friends. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful school right here in the neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

I love this school my son attends this school. St. Sylvester has so much to offer and everybody is like so friendly. Its a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

As a parent of 2 children that have attended this school( one is a current student, one who graduated a few years ago) I cant say how pleased I am with all the changes I have seen happen. I believe this has alot to do with the current principal, Mr. Bennett, who has made so many great changes, and with all the great teachers (Ms. Graber, Ms. Marquez, etc., etc.) they now have. I admit, we were not happy with this school at all when our first child attended this school. We feel this school now offers great programs and clubs as well as it allows for alot of parent involvement that wasnt there before. It is great to feel part of this school where everone seems to know each other. My son has learned so much here, he surprises with something new all the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

There is a new principal at this school this year and he has really brought together the community. Myself and my children are so happy to belong to that community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2007

The staff is very nice, the school seems a little unorganized and I dont know about higher grades but Prek4 I feel is not challenging enough. They dont get any homework, which in my personal opinion is a good habit for children no matter what age they are its all about setting high expectations. She has been reading small words and knows sight words and her teacher didnt even know that so I dont know what they base their evaluations on. She is advanced- and they are not adjusting the lesson which should be done in every school. It's a shame since I have already started looking for another catholic school and I know how much this school can use the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

This is a great school with teachers that really care and a great principle
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2007

I am very pleased with the school. My son is learning every day and the teachers are patient and understanding. The principal, however, seems to be detached from the parents and the students. I do wish that there would be a sports program for younger kids. The school does have basketball teams for the 6th, 7th and 8th graders (a boys team and a girls team) and they are very competitive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

This will be the second year my son will attend. I'm very pleased with the teachers, afterschool program (Carmen), and principal. I have looked at other schools and St. Sylvester sold me. My son is very happy and has shown improvement. Let not forget this school is extremely clean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2006

Excellent school. Small class sizes. My son is very shy and his teachers did a great job with him this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

My 3 year old really likes the school. The teachers are great. They are always available to talk to the parents. The aftercare program is very helpful for working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2005

This school is very unorganized, the tuition is outrageous, the principal is amazingly controlling(and doesn't care for anyone else's opinions), field trips are rare, and some of the more generous benefactors are allowed access into the school at any time (some to take pictures). I am glad this is the last year I have to put up with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2004

My daughter is currently in 8th grade and my son graduated in 1998. In the 10 years I have seen many improvements in the curriculum, but the current lack of flexibility and teamwork for the good of the school is very disappointing. As a concerned parent, I don't feel as if my opinions are taken into consideration and I feel I'm in a dictatorship, I have begun to lose interest in the school. My only consolation is that this is my last year. This is a shame as I live in the community and could have continued to offer my services.(As a volunteer)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 83% 24%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Black 5% 18%
White 2% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Polk Brothers Foundation School Leadership Award (2009)
  • Illinois Sustainable School Compact (2008)
  • Polk Brothers Foundation School Leadership Award (2008)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 2:30pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Daniel Bennett
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • We have a highly involved community which supports the academic programs in the school while also helping run the many extracurricular activities the school offers.
More from this school
  • Our students and families love our tight-knit community and the fact that our highly educated (over 75% with Masters degrees) and experienced faculty work so closely with each class. Our dynamic school has grown for the last 3 years.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Gordon Tech Catholic High School
Lane Tech High School
St. Ignatius High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3027 West Palmer Square
Chicago, IL 60647
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 772-5222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT