Advertisement
Advertisement

St. William School

Private | PK-8 | 170 students

St. William School is best known for our excellent academics and caring staff.

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $132,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, April 18, 2014

This school has help my son grow, encourage him to step out of his comfort zone. The teachers and staff are wonderful. The parents are very helpful and willing to help one another. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

It is exactly a school, not a thing catholic about it, their minimal to no support to a single parent for a child that has emotional need, let a lone a child of an ex military personnel who has served for this country and not only been left out in the dark from their country but a catholic school. I will be in support if the archdiocese decided to close the school there are no catholic morales or ethics within teachers at the school, there is much ignorance in how they teach not only to the children but the parents about difference in children. Not a catholic school, just another Chicago public school only with money!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

It s very frustrating to not get the support from this Catholic school. I would not recommend it. Principle and teachers has no Patience or care for students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

My child transferred to St. William recently. His standardized test scores went up by almost 20 points overall!! We are so pleased with the small class size and individual attention that he is receiving there. St. William is very much a family atmosphere and I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great school for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

Great school , great teachers, grate parish. My kids have been here since kindergarten and will not think about other schools. Great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

St.William is the best school ever. Yes it does not have a gym but the coaches and staff try to find ways to practice and play. The sports team have been doing very good. The basketball team is tied for 1st or 2nd place and doing very well. The soccer team won 1st place last year. The teachers are great;they teach the children in a discipline and fun manner. They children love it there. They make new friends and since its a small school no one is left out. St.William is the best school. They face good teams in soccer and basketball that do have gyms and yet we beat them. I am proud to say St.William is the best school.Everyone loves it and Yes its affordable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2007

My daughter is in 3rd grade. Teacher is good small class that helps the children to concentrate more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

St William is a great school community. My children have all excelled in sports, in academics and music. I feel that the school does very well for preparing them for high school and beyond. The teachers and staff are caring and dedicated, every school should be lucky enough to have teachers like the ones at St William. My sons have been going there since preschool ( a wonderful teacher!) and have continued on to be on the high honor roll and principal honor roll.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

I send my 3 yr. old there, and he loves it. They do not have a 'gym' but they do have a large basement for inside activities. As far as teaching goes my son is learning with no problem. For example he learned a song at school that taught him all the months in the year. He does not read yet but he does have story time with the teacher. You cannot depend on a school to be the sole source of education, it starts at home. St. William is a great catholic school with a caring enviroment and excellent teachings. Plus, the education is affordable and cheaper than daycare, you can't go wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

My son attended their Pre-K4 program here at St. William which was suppose to be a 'learning experience' but turned out to be a glorified free-for-all, it is called 'learn by playing'. I paid a hefty tuition to have my child 'play' but thankfully pulled him out and now he attends another Catholic school's Pre-K4 program which is outstanding - He can read!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

We pulled my son out of a terrible Chicago public school kindergarten to go here and are very pleased with our decision. A great atmosphere, caring and involved teachers and staff and a very good program. My son has excelled here because he is not overwelmed with overcrowded classrooms like in the chicago public. They also just got a brand new computer lab which absolutely outshines any other schools around. Great school, great teacher, great parish!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

If you want your child into sports here good luck because they have no gym-unless the parking lot in back counts (even in the cold)-and the teams are in short amount. In my opinion this school on a scale of one to ten is a four. My youngest will not be attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

St. William School is a good school. The classes are good size and teachers are great. They have good after school activities. They also have band, sports and they let the students get involved in alot of school projects. Its there 80th aniversary. Most of the kids have been attending St. William since preschool and feels like home.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 16%
White 32% 60%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 7% N/A
Two or more races 7% N/A
Black 1% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Peggy Forgione
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (773) 745-4208

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Rowland Reading Program (SuperKids)
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Title I for Math/Reading help
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Student Ambassadors
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parents' Club
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • St. William is a special place where high quality teachers educate children to become leaders for tomorrow. St. William School presents an upbeat, positive experience for everyone – students, parents, faculty and administration. It’s the place where everyone wants to be, every day. Our staff is smiling, our students are happy, and our parents thank God that they chose our school for their children.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
170
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
170
Students typically come from these schools
Locke Elementary School
Sayre Language Academy

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Big Shoulders Fund of Chicago

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Guerin Prep
Fenwick
St. Patrick High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2559 N Sayre Ave
Chicago, IL 60707
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 637-5130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Elmwood Elementary School
Elmwood Park, IL




Icci Academy
Chicago, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT