Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
170 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. William School 1

Posted April 27, 2015
- a teacher
This not a school of diversity, the need to recuit outside the neighborhood. St. Williams is starting to care more about money. How is that camp will cost a parent almost $900 for a couple of weeks.

St. William School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
I was going crazy trying to find a great school for my son. I went and looked around the Chicago land area for a Catholic elementary school with no luck and last resort I chose St. William mainly because it was a block away from my work, when I went to their open house I was completely satisfied with my decision, yes the school is small but I love it! My son is in pre 4, and he absolutely loves his teachers. They have before school and after school care that is not outrageously priced, and they take very good care of kids, they have a very strict policy for teasing which I also love. Preschool isn't just fun and games here, I am always surprised when he comes home and tells me everything they did that day and everything he is learning. I'm so happy I chose St William school. St. William School is like a family. I would never take my son out of this school.


St. William School 1

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
It is exactly a school, not a thing catholic about it, their minimal to no support to a single parent for a child that has emotional need, let a lone a child of an ex military personnel who has served for this country and not only been left out in the dark from their country but a catholic school. I will be in support if the archdiocese decided to close the school there are no catholic morales or ethics within teachers at the school, there is much ignorance in how they teach not only to the children but the parents about difference in children. Not a catholic school, just another Chicago public school only with money!

St. William School 1

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
It s very frustrating to not get the support from this Catholic school. I would not recommend it. Principle and teachers has no Patience or care for students

St. William School 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
My child transferred to St. William recently. His standardized test scores went up by almost 20 points overall!! We are so pleased with the small class size and individual attention that he is receiving there. St. William is very much a family atmosphere and I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great school for their children.


St. William School
no rating

Posted August 28, 2009
- a parent
Great school , great teachers, grate parish. My kids have been here since kindergarten and will not think about other schools. Great principal.

St. William School 5

Posted January 31, 2008
- a student
St.William is the best school ever. Yes it does not have a gym but the coaches and staff try to find ways to practice and play. The sports team have been doing very good. The basketball team is tied for 1st or 2nd place and doing very well. The soccer team won 1st place last year. The teachers are great;they teach the children in a discipline and fun manner. They children love it there. They make new friends and since its a small school no one is left out. St.William is the best school. They face good teams in soccer and basketball that do have gyms and yet we beat them. I am proud to say St.William is the best school.Everyone loves it and Yes its affordable.

St. William School
no rating

Posted August 02, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is in 3rd grade. Teacher is good small class that helps the children to concentrate more.


St. William School 4

Posted July 17, 2007
- a parent
St William is a great school community. My children have all excelled in sports, in academics and music. I feel that the school does very well for preparing them for high school and beyond. The teachers and staff are caring and dedicated, every school should be lucky enough to have teachers like the ones at St William. My sons have been going there since preschool ( a wonderful teacher!) and have continued on to be on the high honor roll and principal honor roll.

St. William School 5

Posted October 09, 2006
- a parent
I send my 3 yr. old there, and he loves it. They do not have a 'gym' but they do have a large basement for inside activities. As far as teaching goes my son is learning with no problem. For example he learned a song at school that taught him all the months in the year. He does not read yet but he does have story time with the teacher. You cannot depend on a school to be the sole source of education, it starts at home. St. William is a great catholic school with a caring enviroment and excellent teachings. Plus, the education is affordable and cheaper than daycare, you can't go wrong.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. William School
2559 N Sayre Ave, Chicago, IL  60707
(773) 637-5130
Last modified St. William School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. William School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top