Advertisement
Advertisement

St Philip Neri School

Private | PK-8 | 118 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $57,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2012

St. Philip Neri School is excellent. Our school offers family /community. The new Principal, teachers, and support staff genuinely care about our children. As an educator myself and new family to the school, I made the best choice for my children. They are where God wants them to be. The school offers a safe, clean and enriched learning environment. Many parents are involved in supporting our children's school. The children genuinely bond in and outside of school. The school and Athletic Director offer numerous activities to promote happy and healthy children. Our children are inspired to be critical thinkers. As the instructional leader, the new Principal, Ms. Sanders conducts classroom visits and personally works with children one-on-one. St. Philip Neri demonstrates daily that it is a school of excellence and order that focuses on each individual child. Our Volleyball Team is undefeated! Go Lady Falcons! I love our school, church, playground and the dedicated administration, teachers and staff. Father Tom provides spiritual guidance, excellent teaching, and prayer. Thank you St. Philip Neri for producing confidence, excellence, and leadership in our children..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2012

St. Philip Neri is the best thing that has happened to me and my family! My daughter struggled with math and reading when she entered 1st grade. Her teacher was so dedicated that she offered to tutor my daughter free of charge 2-3 per week for two quarters straight! By the end of the 3rd quarter she had significantly improved in math and reading. The Title I program is outstanding as well! The school is really willing to work with each child on a one on one basis to get them to where they need to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

St. Philip has always been a rewarding school. I know that I am paying tuition but I am not buying grades. Grades are earned. The learning bar is set high. Teachers use many different ideas to reach all students. The parents need to be more involved. They must understand that they have a voice and need to learn to share thier ideas. SOME parents expect that the administration and teachers must do exactly what they want. Parents should try working with the staff and stop complaining. If teaching is such an easy job how come parents are not homeschooling their children. Opening day of school is coming...How many of you will be their to see your children off. How many of you will show up to school meetings? If you do not give of yourself to your children's education then you can't lay the blame at others feet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

I feel that St.Philip Neri could be a great school. Yes,the classes are smaller which allows more one on one time with the teachers ,but the leadership is horrible. The parents are more dedicated than the principal and that's ridiculous. St.Philip needs a new principal and now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

St. Philip Neri is a great school. The curruculum is excellent. The class are smaller which allows for more one on one instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

I feel that St.Philip is a good all-around school. The leadership is dedicated to providing an excellent curriculum and qualified teachers.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted November 4, 2006

I do not recommend anyone to send their child, to this school. The teachers are really good with the students; however, the leadership is terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

Don't waste your hard earned money at St. Phillip Neri! The principal is more concerned with dollars than sense. My son has been jumped on and I had to bring the police up to the school because the principal did not want to deal with it. The children were not reprimanded for this incident until the police were involved. My children have been there for two years, the learning environment is distracting and the standards that the school offers are extremely lacking. I believe that my children deserve a better challenge so they will not be returning in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

I as a parent I'm very unhappy with St Philip Neri. My daughter's grade have diminished since entering the 5th grade. There is a great turnaround in teachers every year. The principle is more concerned with money than the education of her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2004

The quality of education has diminished. There is a high rate of turnover with the teachers, many of whom are not certified, and the principal is not very responsive to the concerns of the parents. The curriculum is lacking components that would ensure the school's students are competitive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 96% 20%
Hispanic 3% 16%
White 1% 60%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Linda Sanders
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2110 East 72nd Street
Chicago, IL 60649
Phone: (773) 288-1138

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT