Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Patrick High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 2, 2014

Iam a parent of a freshman attending St.Pats.Since, the very first time I set foot at St.Pats.at their open house ,I've been impressed with the school. I felt immediately this was the school for my son. The teachers are great . They are their to teach and mentor these boys also . These teachers are very dedicated to their students and are highly qualified.They fully understand how boy's learn. Some of them also are involved in sports as coaches.Parent involvement is amazing. These parents love and are dedicated to the school. I love the brotherhood and so does my son. It's a great place to send your son. Your son will grow and develop into a fine educated young man. Every morning coach Lucas greets these boys rain, snow or on very cold days they're he is greeting them and after school as well.The staff is great as well. Your child would get the best education at St.Patrick's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

I was a former student at St.Patrick of African American descent and St.Patrick doesn't teach African Americans to their full potentials many times I ask for higher classes because my current classes were to easy they would turn me away! Overall okay school for sports .


Posted May 22, 2009

Super school that has tradition going back to 1861. The Christian Brothers of France are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

Great school, Great Tradition, Great Mission
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2006

This private school is great.We all have a great time learning here
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

In our focus to assist girls and women to succeed, I feel we have cast our boys and young men aside. I have a sophomore at St. Pat's; he requested to attend an all male school and we knew it to have one of the best academic programs in the city. Their tuition is also realistically priced so many people from a variety of backgrounds can afford it. Also, I had an older son attend and while he did not finish high school there, due to other circumstances, St. Pat's extracurricular programs provided a successful career path for him (sports medicine). They work with all kids from many backgrounds and at all academic levels to make their high school career a success. I'm pleased with the ethics and brotherhood that is encouraged of all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

It is a very great High school. Students go here and learn both life and books. It is one of the best High Schools for sports also. Very competitive in every sport. But also offers other activities then sports such as band or many other clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

Im a freshman here at st. pat's and this is probably the best thing that happened to me. The teaching staff is great and so are our sport's programs. There is something here for everyone no matter what it is that you are into. This is a great school and I would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

My son will be a Junior in September. He loves the school and is very happy there. The curriculum is very diverse and, for the most part, the teachers relate to the students on a level that is comfortable to them. It is a very disciplined school and when there may be a problem, the staff is very good at keeping the safety of the students a #1 priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

A wonderful all-boys Catholic high school. My son is a junior this year and absolutely loves the school. The discipline is wonderful here and all the teachers are committed to teaching and seem to care about the boys. My son came to the school in need of some academic help and after 2 years he is doing well due to his hard work and the dedication of the teachers and faculty at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 51%
Hispanic 29% 24%
Black 6% 18%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joseph G Schmidt
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5900 West Belmont Avenue
Chicago, IL 60634
Phone: (773) 282-7814

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






A-Karrasel
Chicago, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT