Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 701
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St John Fisher Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2011
- a parent
My daughter did wonderfully in high school thanks to the faculty and staff at St. John Fisher. She had a wonderful foundation in math and language arts and developed friendships that carried on into high school. She was accepted into an all honors program at her high school and continues to do well. She participated in various school sponsored activities, especially sports. The athletic program is very good, with fair and caring individuals on the board and coaching staff. Great strides have been made in recent years to provide opportunities for students of all different ability levels to participate in sports, and for that I am grateful. All in all, St. John Fisher is doing a fine job.

St John Fisher Elementary School 3

Posted March 20, 2009
- a parent
There are some great teachers, but also some very poor teachers. It is a hit or miss.


St John Fisher Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2007
- a parent
Saint John Fisher school provides students with an excellent academic foundation. Teachers and administrators also place a strong emphasis on the development of personal character. Christian values are woven into every aspect of the educational program. Students greatly benefit from the strong sense of community that has been a long tradition at Saint John Fisher school. My children know that they are a part of an even larger family-the SJF school/parish family. I disagree with the review that stated that the school does not provide for above-average learners. My children are not only engaged, but they each have performed in the top bracket on their standardized tests. Many, many of our graduates go on to successfully gain admittance to selective admission colleges and have received prestigious awards and honors. The teachers at SJF school are very dedicated and the school principal is the gem of the Archdiocese.

St John Fisher Elementary School 5

Posted December 21, 2006
- a parent
St. John Fisher offered a sound foundation to all three of my children. They were offered a varied curriculum which included art, music, and technology. All three moved from St. John Fisher's challenging curriculum to participate in honors programs at area high schools. Wonderful, considerate teachers and a compassionate principal make me call St. John Fisher School home.

St John Fisher Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2006
- a parent
I also agree very good school, with high standards and flexible staff. My child was found to have learning disabilities 2 years ago and the staff at Fisher is very accomodating.


St John Fisher Elementary School 3

Posted April 11, 2006
- a parent
A very good school for children with average abilities. Unfortunately they can not service children with learning disabilities and I don't beleive they offer enough for those who excel in certain areas. The principal and staff are extremely warm, compassionate individuals and there is a very strong family community feel amoungst them.

St John Fisher Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St John Fisher Elementary School
10200 South Washtenaw Avenue, Chicago, IL  60655
(773) 445-4737
Last modified St John Fisher Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St John Fisher Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top