Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 150
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 43 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


47 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Our Lady of Victory 5

Posted December 10, 2014
- a parent
If you have a son or daughter and want to provide them with a school that has a small student to teacher ratio, excellent curriculum and after school programs, teachers that truly feel blessed in contributing to making your child a better, smarter human-being then OLV is the place for you. You get all of that backed up by a fantastic community and church.

Our Lady of Victory 5

Posted April 16, 2014
- a community member
Great teachers who care about the students. A very passionate Prinicpal. Great community that is very involved with the church and school.The parents are very involved in the school and community.


Our Lady of Victory 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
In addition to being a great academic school, it is family. My children enjoy school, their teachers and all the additional activities offered.

Our Lady of Victory 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
What an amazing gem in Portage Park! There are many public and private schools in this area to choose from, OLV rises above. When looking into schools, we wanted a structured academic program that was on the forefront and would teach our son skills he truly needed to excel in life. The STEM program meets and exceeds this need. In addition to this, OLV has many supplemental programs and classes. Band, Chess, Latin, Spanish and Karate just to name a few. As a working family having extra classes after school and an extended day program to 6 pm is so very much appreciated. As a parent there is such a sense of family with this group. The teachers and staff are so open and it is very easy to communicate any special needs you may have. Going to school in not a chore but a happy, safe educational environment. Tuition is in line with area schools. If you don t think you can afford expense of a private school, there are several scholarship opportunities available. OLV was slated to close early this year. Faculty, parents and alumni united fund raising the money needed to bridge the budget deficit. What a wonderful feeling of spirit and pride within this family. OLV is here to stay!

Our Lady of Victory 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is thriving in the Pre-K program at OLV. At three, she could regocnize sight words and was ready learn some early reading skills. At OLV, we found an excellent principal and Pre-K teachers willing to provide the differentiated instruction that she needed. The positive energy and family atmosphere within the parish has been an added bonus. If you're exploring Pre-K options in the northwest side, OLV is a must see.


Our Lady of Victory 5

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
With three, three year olds, we were looking for a pre-k program that afforded us structure and routine, firmly rooted in an academic setting. OLV welcomed our dynamic triplet family into an environment where our kids are thriving socially, emotionally and academically. The STEM program extends their reach of comprehension beyond just facts.. they are learning about polarization of magnets, germination of seeds, Spanish and Latin and are hitting the benchmarks for the pre-reading program for kindergarten readiness. The teachers at OLV go the distance each and every day. There is a special place for them... They are invested and have a passion for seeing the sparkle and imagination come to life with our kids. With a significant addition of families to OLV in just the past school year, the school has an energy and commitment unmatched by others. We look forward to supporting and building a bigger OLV family for years to come! Proud to be an OLV family.

Our Lady of Victory 5

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
When I began my search for a school for my daughter in 2008 I went to various schools and attended open houses. I was not happy with what I had found but from the moment I entered OLV, I was hooked the staff were amazing and the children were so well behaved. In the 4 year old program I couldn t believe there were 20+ 4 year olds children in the room. I signed my daughter up to start classes the next school year and would never take her anywhere else. The school is like a home away from home for the students, the staff and parents are one big family working together to help develop and mold the most amazing children and young adults. The academics are unmatched and the extracurricular activities are phenomenal. We LOVE OLV!!!

Our Lady of Victory 5

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter is now in Kindergarten and has been in the school since Prek-3. We are very happy with the school and how it has been changed since our principal Mrs. Hodge came on board. In the last 18 months the school has been implemented a STEM curriculum for all ages , updating technology and opening a lot of after school programs. We have double our enrollment in the last months because the principal and teachers are doing a great job. We are happy to be part of the OLV family.


Our Lady of Victory 5

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
We have two children enrolled at Our Lady of Victory (OLV) since 2006. The educational experience has been wonderful! Our girls have participated in hands-on science experiments and accelerated reading programs. The Science innovation lab, iPad and computer lab are favorites for the kids! Each classroom has iPads and an Apple TV or Whiteboard. The faculty is experienced and the teachers create a safe and enriching learning environment. The girls attend weekly all school mass where the classes take turns doing the readings and petitions. Monthly, the children participate in the Sunday mass. There is a wonderful band program and choir, as well as after school programs such as sports, chess, art and theater classes. The Girl and Boy Scout program is also very active. The community gets together for our Christmas Bazaar, Super bowl Sunday, St Patrick s Day Party, Vender Blender and many other activities. The OLV family is very welcoming and extends far outside of the school boundaries!

Our Lady of Victory 5

Posted January 21, 2014
- a community member
We are grandparents of 3 boys who attend OLV and know that they are receiving a top-notch education. We attend many of the functions and have experienced first-hand the warmth and caring of this wonderful school. The staff is amazing and again, our 3 grandchildren are receiving a quality education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady of Victory
4434 N Laramie Ave, Chicago, IL  60630
(773) 283-2229
Last modified Our Lady of Victory is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Our Lady of Victory Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top