Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Queen Of Angels Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 420 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $215,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2014

continued In addition, the teachers have no sympathy for the students. The teachers never seem to communicate. They always schedule their tests within the same week or few days. When a student is being bullied and they tell the teacher the teacher completely disregards it and doesn't care. But still, they make the students sit through classes about bullying just to pretend they care. When there is a real situation to be addressed, they don't pay any attention to it whatsoever. The teachers have serious problems controlling their emotions. It is clear to the students when their teachers have been dumped recently. Also, the teachers have clearly been dating each other and cause very visual tension and make it awkward for the students and the other teachers. Although, there are a few teachers that students do like. This school is nowhere near diverse. In my class there is not one person that isn't white. To my surprise, the students aren't stuck up like typical white rich kids that go to Catholic schools. The children are very racist from the conversations that i have encountered with them. There is a lot of bullying going on. None of the students have respect for each other.


Posted September 30, 2013

Queen of Angels just received designation as a U.S. Department of Education's 2013 National Blue Ribbon School. As one of its Exemplary High Performing" schools, Q of A had to place in the top 15% of schools in the nation in both reading and math assessments. The team of great staff, students, and parents makes our school community vibrant and successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

There is a strong sense of community at this school and some great teachers, but unfortunately the administration is lacking leadership and creativity. The principal makes claims that the school can handle kids with special needs all the way to gifted, but it doesn't have the necessary resources or programs to ethically meet the needs of kids who need more support or enrichment. If you are considering the school, do your research by soliciting feedback from parents at all different grade levels to see if this school is right for your child. If you know your child needs special education or enrichment, I would not recommend Queen of Angels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2013

Compared to other schools, the tuition is reasonable, but perhaps not worth it when your child enters high school and you realize they have a learning disability that could have been addressed in the early years of their academic career at Queens. No, instead, your child is called "flightly", ignored by the principal, also ignored are claims your child is being bullied by their peers, although it was addressed once, it continued. Mothers who act like high school girls and intimidate teachers, parents, and students in order to do what they will, not worth the tuition. There are some really great teachers, but not enough to outweigh the bad. You would think with such a small classroom size, they would be able to attend to the child who is struggling in, let's say math, instead of ignoring them. Overall, I love the Catholic education and the structure, but not the end result of my childs' education and lack of self esteem at their abilities just because a teacher didn't take the time to properly explain. Someone mentioned racism in a review and I completely agree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

This school is really something special. The faculty puts in so much time and effort to keep up to date on current practices and how to best serve students. The parents are supportive and helpful. The administration allows teachers to make decisions in the classroom about how to best serve the kids. The kids are friendly, well-behaved, and excel in academics, athletics, and other areas. These kids wind up going to some of the best high schools in the city, and are genuinely cared for each and every step of the way. The faculty and staff deserve a round of applause for the commitment they show to all kids. Never is a kid considered a "lost cause," because someone is always able to reach that child or makes every single effort possible to do so. If more schools were like Queen of Angels, we would not have such an educational crisis on our hands.


Posted January 28, 2012

This is our 4th year at Queen of Angels & we couldn't be happier. We currently have 3 children at the school. The academics are strong and the staff is kind and extremely dedicated. Our children have flourished & we love the warm, supportive community. Truly a wonderful school in a great neighborhood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

This school does not provide enough academic skills. When I graduated, I realized that half the things I learned at Queen of Angels aren't even mentioned at my new high school. I transferred in during 5th grade but the next four years were awful. There were numerous times I would cry in class because the fifth grade math teacher was being harsh on me just because I didn't understand what to do. There were also times where the students would be cruel to me DURING CLASS TIME and teacher wouldn't even do anything. The school claims to be 'diverse' when in reality, my graduating class was the only 'diverse' one in the entire school. There is also a problem with slight racism and the subject of social justice is absent in the school system. I do not recommend this school for anything. The system is poor quality and not worth the tuition.


Posted August 31, 2010

Our family has had children attend Queen of Angels School for the past six years. We have been parishioners for eight years. The community is wonderful. The well-rounded academic environment and extracurricular programs have pleased us. The children are provided an opportunity to participate in band, choir, chess, basketball, volleyball, instrument instruction, math club, reading club and much more. Queen of Angels graduates attend highly regarded public and private high schools. Class size is typically 14-21 students. There are programs for children that require additional learning assistance and programs for accelerated learners. Queen of Angels provides a solid Catholic education while focusing on developing the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

Queen of Angels provides a Catholic education without sacrificing academics. The Pastor of the church believes in a Catholic education for everyone who wants one, so there is a strong emphasis on fundraising in order to keep tuition increases low and to provide scholarships for those who need one. There is a very active parent community that continues to assist the administration in making the school stronger each year. Currently the school is adding a gifted/accelerated learner program that is being led by Joan Smutney, the founder and Director of the Center for the Gifted at National-Louis University. The school also recently started a program for 2 1/2 year olds that is very popular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2009

This is a wonderful neighborhood Catholic school with a challenging and up to date curriculum, wonderful teachers, programs for kids with learning disabilities and gifted learners, and extremely involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

Our children have been at Queen of Angels for the last 3 years, and they are thriving in this wonderful environment. The teachers work hard every day and care very much about the children's success. The small class sizes, 15-18 per classroom, provide my children with the attention they deserve. The school is always bringing in new programs to improve the learning environment and most recently brought in expertise to assist with a larger than average gifted student population. This program is providing enrichment to students at all learning levels, which is terrific. We are extremely happy with Queen of Angels and expect our children to attend through the eight grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

This is a poorly run school with myriad academic problems in upper grades. Rather than addressing these issues that result in transfers out, the school ignores it. Sad
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

My son attends QOA kindergarten, and previously attended the pre-school. We've been extremely pleased with his academic progress as well as the teachers he's had to date. Class sizes are small/manageable, and we really like the parents/families we've met through the school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

this school needs new teachers who are able to fufill the teaching needs of the students. I believe the teacher who does it the most in this school is Mrs. Speth (6th grade).
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2008

Pros: I am extremely happy with Q of A. I currently have a first grader and a Pre-K enrolled there, and I am very impressed with the math and English skills they are picking up. There are computer and music classes for all levels, my pre-schooler is learning a foreign language, and my first grader can join an intramural basketball team. Best of all, both of the kids enjoy the school. Con - I do wish the tuition was lower, but I suppose you get what you pay for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2007

Disappointing leadership and poor attention to all types of learners and community issues. Expensive and continually findraising. Academics lackluster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2007

This school is overall safe and the kids are diverse and unpretentious. Now here come the cons. The school has limited academics and seems to be concerned with money more than activities. We are leaving the school this year and we will just be another slot that needs to be filled. No extracurricular activities, programs or tutoring. High tuition. Not worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

Parents are very involved in the school. However, I feel that the academics could be stronger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

This preschool has both a weekly music and computer class. This was not offered by any other preschools that I visited in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

Parents are very involved in the life of the school. Academics are strong in the basic subject areas. Foreign languages are offered only as an 'enrichment' (for an additional charge). Basketball and volleyball teams are available. Music instrution is first-rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 51%
Two or more races 14% 3%
Hispanic 9% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Julia Byrns Kelly
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4520 North Western Avenue
Chicago, IL 60625
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 769-4211

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Matthias School
Chicago, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT