Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Bede the Venerable

Private | PK-8 | 454 students

Our school has been recognized for providing a high quality Catholic education.

 
 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $108,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2014

St. Bede is a great school that meets the needs of all their students. Both of my children have been challenged and love St. Bede. The teachers, who are paid much less than public schools, go above and beyond their duites to provide a quality education for all students. Any bullying issues that have occured in my child's class have been dealt with immediately with the guidance of their wonderful counselor!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

My daughter was a former student at St. Bede. The curriculum has went downhill. Kids are not challenged and excessive bullying. I didn't realize how far behind my daughter was until I transferred her out. She is in another school where she is happy and thriving. The reason for the downfall of St. Bede is due to the neighborhood changing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

As a former student of St. Bede, I can be nothing but brutally honest. Since I was a student, I ve seen the involvement & the community die off. It s quite a sight seeing such a lively school turn into what it has turned into, a straight up catastrophe. It s like watching the titanic sink, the academics especially. When I first came into the school, I was challenged & went from average to excelling & becoming an honor student & now? Public school rank better than St. Bede, a school of struggling parents who CHOSE to make this sacrifice for their children & for what? To get less than exceptional. & if the only response for the school failing its duties is because the parents fail to make the community? There would be no community if it weren t for their support, so let s not attack the people who make it possible for there to be a St. Bede. Take that aggression & push the teachers, principle, the priest, & the administrative staff to make the school academically better & to bring back the community it ONCE had. Let s not get all melodramatic please.


Posted May 8, 2014

Sad to say that I'm being forced to leave after 11 years. Unfortunately the academic standars are lower than past years, the administration seems indifferent to student achievements and more interested in fullfilling their shortsighted agenda, and parent involvement has dropped, I think, due to many families fleeing this terrible situation. The school is currently in the "process" of looking for a new principal, wich will make him/her the third principal in the las 3 years. What does that suggest? I would recomend that if you are looking for quality academic education and a positive environment for your children, just keep looking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

St Bede is a great school for all children. Parent involvement has been the only thing lacking in current years. Get involved more with your children academics & extra curricular activities people!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

I'm sorry to say this school have change so much in the last 3 years, I have a daughter that was happy in this school but they are changing principal again my son is going to know 3 principals and he is only in 3er grade. sad to say I'm looking for a safer and more challenging school for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

St Bede the Venerable is so much more than a school. It is a safe community where I send my kids, and they are able to learn everything they need to prepare them for their future. I love the environment at St Bede, and I love how every child that attends there is respectful. St Bede is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

St. Bede is a school where the teachers go above and beyond for ALL students. They are constantly making themselves available to students and parents to help in any way they can. They work very hard to do what is best for the students.


Posted October 8, 2013

The curriculum has been less-than-challenging for some time. My oldest graduated at the top of the class and is struggling through the first year of high school; the kids from other grammar schools are much better prepared. The new leadership is very detached from the kids and the parents. Furthermore, my kid reports that the bullying has gotten out-of-control. I do NOT recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

My oldest just graduated St Bede & I will have 5 attending this year. I love how St Bede is one big family :-) The children learn a lot about religion and how to care for one another. The teachers and staff are wonderful! I am truly greatful for all the help and support both principals have given to all the St Bede families!! My children have a wonderful learning experience there!! Go Tigers!! We love St Bede!! The Lord is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

it is a wonderful school. the principal is the best he even won the best principal in chicago. if u want an academic school go here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2011

M children currently attend St Bede..and we love it...It has an excellent Principle and excellent teachers..It excels academically and spritually..as a parent, I know my pridest joys are going to the best school on the south side of chicago...On all grades levels, you can see they challege the students and the kids are Succeeding!!!Safe and Friendly environment..the Staff is Super!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2010

I disagree completely.My daughter went there since preschool as well,and i honestly thought their values were sincere, until a bully incident took place.Nothing was done with this very serious matter by the principle.So, if you want your children to attend a school that deals with bullying, this is the school for you.Also, their curriculum is not challenging at all.The students that fall behind get all the preference, and the students that need to be challenged get left behind.I realized how far behind the students are when i transfered my daughter.She was truly missing out on a great education, and for the same amount of tuition!!!!Too bad i realized so late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

I give St. Bede 5 Stars! My son went there and he loved it! We moved and I can't say too much about his new school. I think we both miss St. Bede! The teachers and the principal are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

I give the school four stars. It's a friendly environment, the principal and teachers truly care about the children's physical and mental well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I really love the school. My daughter has been at St Bede since early pre-school and she loves it. I want the teachers to give more homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

It's a great place for pride! St. Bede is a neighborhood of all kinds and proud of it. We love the school, support our Tigers in everything, and get the best education on the Southside. It is a wonderful place to raise a family and so proud to be a Tiger! We are....St. Bede! oh, by the way, our 8th grade girls won the championship in Volleyball and our 8th Grade boys were in the championship for football and currently in the running for the baseball championship!!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 40% 24%
Black 25% 18%
White 24% 51%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Barbara Rasinski
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
  • Visit during school hours
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (773) 582-3366

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Flexible Grouping
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4440 W 83rd St
Chicago, IL 60652
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 884-2020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT