Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Alphonsus Academy & Center For The Arts

Private | PK-8 | 18 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $391,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 14, 2012

Our children are very very happy at this school. The teachers are wonderful and the parent community is amazing. They have small class sizes, very dedicated teachers and do a wonderful job differentiating with the students. I'm a little perplexed at the last comment. Do you have a child at the school? If not you should not be allowed to rate it based on someone's anecdote on a website. As a parent w a child at the school I cam assure you this school is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

We are starting our third year at AACA this fall. We could not be happier. The teachers are wonderful, the principal is extrememly involved and the community is very welcoming. My favorite aspects of the school - aside from the wonderful faculty - are 1. the arts-based curriculum and 2. the focus on crtical thinking rather than test-taking and grades. As far as the parent with the milk allergy, my understanding is that the allergy is extremely severe and that the school felt that they could not accomodate the student's life-threatening condition. It's unfortunate and frustrating for the parents but an understandable decision by the shool administration. My three children love the school and are recieving a top-notch education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

My daughter was accepted to St Alphonsus's kindergarten for the 2011-12 school year in March. In June my daughter was no longer welcome due to her milk allergy. We have been faithful parishioners for 8 years and this is how we were treated. Not only do we feel rejected by the school but also by our spiritual family. Is this what we should expect from our Catholic faith : to deny help to those in need. It has brought great sadness and disbelief to our family.We were eager to work with the school along with my daughters allergist to make it safe and non burdensome on the teachers. The conclusion: they have denied a sweet little girl of a beautiful Catholic education. Imagine how you would feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

This is our first year at Alphonsus Academy, and we are so impressed with the teachers, principal, faculty, parents, facilities and curriculum. The school administrators are extremely proactive, detailed, hands-on, warm, organized, buttoned up and caring. There is a strong focus on academics and the arts, and it is well balanced with a focus on community, fun, sharing, growing and just being a kid. The parents are very involved with the school, and it shows. The kids are happy and thriving. The after-school programs are second-to-none. It's no wonder it has become so competitive to get in. lphonsus has truly developed into one of Chicago's premier grade schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

The school and its policies are not focused on what is best for each individual child. My son was the youngest in his class and although he scored well on his IQ test he scored very low on attentional and focus tests - borderline ADD. Although his doctor, teacher and parents clearly identified these issues they would not allow us to hold him back for another year of preschool. The reason I got repeatedly was policy and something about preschool being their most popular program and wanting to keep kids moving along. his teacher? 5 stars, she was great. We were not asking for special attention, intervention or any changes in curriculum... just another year for his attention to mature- since he was so young compared to his peers and had such clear issues. This is not a school where differences in learning style, lags in attentional maturity or other issues are taken into account adequately and its definitely not the place if you suspect you may need to hold a child back a year. Kindergarten is getting more academic and putting a child into a learning environment hes not ready for is just setting him up for failure and dislike of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

AACA is a nurturing and organized environment, with a strong focus toward the academic curriculum and requirements needed for Chicago High Schools - both private and public. We recently transferred into the school and have been incredibly impressed with the immediate response from the faculty regarding any concerns, and the overall academic preparation. Go Rockets!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Being new to the school two years ago, we are starting our third year at AACA. There is a true sense of community, family, and faith at AACA. I trust them with the education and well being of my child every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

Alphonsus Academy has fantastic teachers, a great curriculum in a wonder environment. My children love AACA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

AACA has been a great school for my kids. The teachers truly care about educating and the developing the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

I went to this school many years ago and have family that still go there and see how this school still cares.


Posted December 15, 2009

This is our second year here and the community really is amazing. The after school options are great as well and the school truly does care about each student. The integration of the Arts is well done and our daughter loves having different specials each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2008

This will be our second year at Alphonsus Academy. We're very happy with the staff, core curriculum and art, music, PE and religion aspects of the school. But perhaps the thing I like the most is the incredible sense of community at the school among the families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

There is strong leadership at this school starting with the principal who is making top-notch upgrades and improvements in the curriculum. The arts integration is truly unique offering a well-balanced educational menu. Parental involvement is high which is a tremendous strength. The teachers seem very skilled at working with students' unique needs and personalities. For a city school, Alphonsus has a substantial campus with a newly renovated outdoor playground. The administrators, teachers, and parents all seem to have an exceptionally high level of commitment and dedication to this school's success - and making it into a first-rate, Catholic 'magnet school.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

Alphonsus provides a safe, nurturing environment for all children. The faculty and administration are highly professional and always put students first. As a parent, I feel very fortunate to be part of such a wonderful community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

Absolutely wonderful, caring, very warm and inviting. Level of education is challenging and very diverse, no child is left behind. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

St. Alphonsus school has a caring nuturing enviorment. The teachers really care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 51%
Hispanic 6% 24%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. M Stanton-Anderso
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1439 West Wellington Avenue
Chicago, IL 60657
Phone: (773) 348-4629

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Luke Academy
Chicago, IL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT