Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 430

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Andrew School 1

Posted November 19, 2014
- a community member
On an honest note, I will say that my student life at Saint Andrew's was a living hell. The amount of pettiness and cliques within the school was absolutely ridiculous, the lack of challenge and adequate material covered by teachers is quite humorous. and I am ecstatic I was able to leave two years early. 99% of all the students and parents who go there/are involved in the school community are from a high socio-economic class, and this in turn leads them to believe they are, in a way, better than others and will blatantly show this with their actions and words towards families like mine, who were on financial aid and needed help with paying the tuition fee. Also the teachers favored students whose parents were able to donate large amounts of money to the school and treated the kids whose parents either worked or donated especially large amounts of money were treated with a certain "untouchable" status. However, as I mentioned, the biggest issue with the school was the pettiness and cliques within the students. Similar to their parents, the students, the girls in particular, were very ,judgmental and excluded and bullied people constantly. All in all, the school was simply horrible.

St Andrew School 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a parent
Saint Andrew School is a Blue Ribbon School for 2013! On September 24, U.S. Secretary of Education, Arne Duncan, recognized Saint Andrew School as part of the 2013 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools. This is a prestigious honor that represents excellence in education. Saint Andrew is proud of this accomplishment that has become a reality because of the teamwork between students, teachers, parents and administrators. Saint Andrew's Spirit- Study- Service way of life has never been more evident! www.GoSaintAndrew.com


St Andrew School 5

Posted September 10, 2012
- a parent
Students have access to many extra curricular activities, standardized test scores are in the top 15%. Middle school teachers are dedicated.The school works hard to make sure that every family feels welcome. I have benefited from their tuition assistance.

St Andrew School 5

Posted September 08, 2012
- a parent
Saint Andrew is a wonderful community. The class of 2012 had great success in finding high school placement. Over 50% of applicants were accepted to selective enrollment. The school helped find high school placements that FIT each child. Great community, great experience!

St Andrew School 3

Posted August 03, 2012
- a parent
St Andrew is a great school in the early grades, but those small class sizes become a nightmare as the kids get older. Parents have strong clicks and that impacts the dynamics of the small classrooms. the graduating class of 2012 did not have the best high school acceptance either. Middle school is a great time to consider moving to the burbs or simply switching schools. A number of families appear to have left for 2013. We are considering


St Andrew School 5

Posted April 17, 2012
- a parent
St. Andrew is an excellent school. Teachers are great, caring and very involved with each students education. I have one child that graduated in 2004, 2009 and one that will graduate next year!! All my kids enjoyed being there and always looked forward to each day. We live an hour away from the school, but nothing could keep us away from such a great community!! Highly recommend it!

St Andrew School 5

Posted July 11, 2011
- a parent
My daughter will be attending Kindergarten this year. She has already taken 3 years of pre-school at St. Andrew. She loves school! We plan to keep her here through 8th grade. The teachers are outstanding, classes are small, and our whole family benefits from the school community. It makes living in a big city seems like a small town.

St Andrew School 5

Posted January 22, 2011
- a parent
Great teachers, small classes, lots of extracurriculars and wonderful community. My children have made wonderful friends and enjoy school. The school day is long enough to allow for recess each day as well as art, music, Spanish, computers & PE a few times per week.


St Andrew School 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2009
- a parent
The school encourages a strong parent community. Strong parents with a community to rely on makes for strong and more capable children. The teachers are caring, smart, and fun.

St Andrew School 0
no rating

Posted July 13, 2008
- a parent
We have been in this school for 4 years, love everything about St. Andrew. I am falling short of words to describe how wonderful the staff is, and all the 4 years we have been blessed with the best teachers ever.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Andrew School
1710 West Addison Street, Chicago, IL  60613
(773) 248-2500
Last modified St Andrew School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Andrew School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top