Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 190
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Barbara Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2014
- a community member
This school is a great place. Small classrooms and more teacher student time. Teachers are nice and when they know the student needs help they immediatly give them the help they need. There is nothing wrong with having a small classroom.

St Barbara Elementary School 1

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
this is not a happy place to be. small classrooms and stong family involvement is the only plus.


St Barbara Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2013
- a parent
Choosing the right school is a daunting task for any parent, but the reward of knowing you made the right choice makes it all worth it. St. Barbara is the Right Choice! Anyone looking for a great enviornment for their child to learn, flourish, and build life long skills, should choose St. Barbara.

St Barbara Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
St. Barbara is a great school. I went there grammer school through H.S.(when it was also there) Now I send my daughter there.Along with several other alumni sending there children & grandchildren there. Generation after generation has to say something about the school.

St Barbara Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2009
- a community member
St. Barbara is the best school in Bridgeport. They have excellent teachers and small classes for one on one interaction.


St Barbara Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Great faculty & staff.

St Barbara Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 04, 2008
- a parent
As the parent of an only child, my wife and I conducted extensive research on schools for our son. We are very happy with our selection. My son is currently in kindergarten and was in the pre-school program since the age of three. The teachers are well educated and dedicated to the children. They are taught good morals, great studying habits, etc. The principal is outstanding, she is consistently telling the children how great they are. The older children serve as mentors to the little ones. Parent involvement is wonderful. We are very happy being part of the St. Barbara School family.

St Barbara Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2008
- a parent
St. Barabara's is an excellent school, focusing on developing the individual student and nurturing their goals. The school instills respect for each other and good moral standing. Their Terra Nova test scores are above average as is the caring exhibited by teachers and staff. Many teachers are in the process of receiving their own higher degrees. Their art program is linked to Chicago's exhibits of art and natural history. St. Barabara's class size gives each student the opportunity to reach up to achieving their best, participate and gain the confidence needed to be an active member of society. St. Barbara's has much to offer the students.


St Barbara Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2007
- a parent
This is the best school in the area. The classes are small, the children are wonderful and the teachers are excellent. They have a great math and science program and the Terra Nova test scores are above average. They also have a wonderful music and art program. The principal is very dedicated and so is every teacher my son has had and he is in 4th grade. You would not beleive how much he has learned there. I am excited about the next 4 years ahead for him. We, as a family are so comfortable being in this school I could not imagine seeing him anywhere else! If your looking for a great school for your children check out St. Barbara in Brigeport.

St Barbara Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2005
- a parent
I went to St. Barbara school and now my six year old son attends first grade there and has been going there since preschool. He and I both have had wonderful experiences thus far. All of his teachers so far have had strong academic goals and strive for their students to have the same. The things I like most about St. Barbara is how they stress the importance of religion with the children, and the wonderful projects they do with the children showing them there is another way to learn besides books, homework and tests. My son always raves about his art class and music class and is able to tell me or sing to me what he has learned. He enjoys all of his subjects and is a Straight A student, so obviously the school is doing something right.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Barbara Elementary School
2867 South Throop Street, Chicago, IL  60608
(312) 326-6243
Last modified St Barbara Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Barbara Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top