Advertisement
Advertisement

St Barbara

Private | PK-8 | 189 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $174,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2013

this is not a happy place to be. small classrooms and stong family involvement is the only plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

Choosing the right school is a daunting task for any parent, but the reward of knowing you made the right choice makes it all worth it. St. Barbara is the Right Choice! Anyone looking for a great enviornment for their child to learn, flourish, and build life long skills, should choose St. Barbara.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

St. Barbara is a great school. I went there grammer school through H.S.(when it was also there) Now I send my daughter there.Along with several other alumni sending there children & grandchildren there. Generation after generation has to say something about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

St. Barbara is the best school in Bridgeport. They have excellent teachers and small classes for one on one interaction.


Posted October 5, 2009

Great faculty & staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

As the parent of an only child, my wife and I conducted extensive research on schools for our son. We are very happy with our selection. My son is currently in kindergarten and was in the pre-school program since the age of three. The teachers are well educated and dedicated to the children. They are taught good morals, great studying habits, etc. The principal is outstanding, she is consistently telling the children how great they are. The older children serve as mentors to the little ones. Parent involvement is wonderful. We are very happy being part of the St. Barbara School family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

St. Barabara's is an excellent school, focusing on developing the individual student and nurturing their goals. The school instills respect for each other and good moral standing. Their Terra Nova test scores are above average as is the caring exhibited by teachers and staff. Many teachers are in the process of receiving their own higher degrees. Their art program is linked to Chicago's exhibits of art and natural history. St. Barabara's class size gives each student the opportunity to reach up to achieving their best, participate and gain the confidence needed to be an active member of society. St. Barbara's has much to offer the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

This is the best school in the area. The classes are small, the children are wonderful and the teachers are excellent. They have a great math and science program and the Terra Nova test scores are above average. They also have a wonderful music and art program. The principal is very dedicated and so is every teacher my son has had and he is in 4th grade. You would not beleive how much he has learned there. I am excited about the next 4 years ahead for him. We, as a family are so comfortable being in this school I could not imagine seeing him anywhere else! If your looking for a great school for your children check out St. Barbara in Brigeport.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

I went to St. Barbara school and now my six year old son attends first grade there and has been going there since preschool. He and I both have had wonderful experiences thus far. All of his teachers so far have had strong academic goals and strive for their students to have the same. The things I like most about St. Barbara is how they stress the importance of religion with the children, and the wonderful projects they do with the children showing them there is another way to learn besides books, homework and tests. My son always raves about his art class and music class and is able to tell me or sing to me what he has learned. He enjoys all of his subjects and is a Straight A student, so obviously the school is doing something right.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 53% 16%
White 36% 60%
Asian 11% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dorene A Hurckes
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2867 South Throop Street
Chicago, IL 60608
Phone: (312) 326-6243

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT