Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Barnabas Elementary School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2014

St. Barnabas is the best choice you can make for your child! I transferred my daughter from another private school because I was displeased with the administrators. They were out of touch with reality and they had no contrl over the children. Barnabas was the best decision we could have ever made. The staff is committed to the educational as well as emotional well-being of the students. They also want to help mold them into good human beings. They are preparing them for high school and excuses are not allowed. My daughter has to do note cards in 6th grade. She has to make sure her notebooks are kept up to date and that all the notes the teacher gave them for that day are included. Students receive "homework notices" if their work is not completed and it must be returned signed by the parent along with the work. I love it! Too often we let our children off the hook and allow the make excuses for not doing the best they can. Not here! The parental involvement is tops. They also have lots of extra-curricular activities for the children that you don't see at other schoolswhich is definitely a bonus. I can't say enough good things abou this school. I wish I had transferred her sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

Strong parental involvement with access to tons of information to assist in the educational process. My kids love their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

My son is new to the school this year (6th grade) and we have loved everything about the school! The teachers were welcoming and supportive and make every effort to reach out to us and make sure our child and us were adjusting to a new environment. Other parents have helped us get involved with volunteering. When we have had (minor) concerns, a quick email or phone call has been quickly followed up with a call from the teacher or administration to listen to our concerns and let us know how the issue will be handled. The specials offered are great and the smaller class sizes are definately a benefit! We tell all of our friends to look into St. Barnabas as an option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

We moved our children from another Catholic school to St Barnabas this year and it is the best decision we could have made. Project Match ensures children are being taught and challenged appropriately for their own individual learning style. Its wonderful. The computers are state if the art and children are exposed to Spansh and Music. There is also a wonderful theatre program when they reach 4th grade. Math and Science club have a great opportunity to take part in Lego Robotics. Do yourself and your children a favor and go have a look! I'm so glad I did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

We moved our children here from another Archdiocese school so our children could benefit from Project MATCH, which is a unique curriculum for differentiated learning in reading and math. Both our son and daughter needed more challenge than their previous school. Plus, they offer Spanish lessons as well as a robust theater program most schools can't bring to their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

St. Barnabas school has only gotten better in the 10 years we have lived in Beverly. They are committed to excellence in education and have a parish council that places a priority on the well-being of the school and its pupils and faculty, both religiously and educationally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

St. Barnabas Preschool is a happy nurturing place...my kids loved it. The facilities are nice, the teachers caring and patient. Very safe - standalone/fenced in building and play yard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

My son transferred to St.Barnabas last year(2006), with the incoming new administration. The administration was always helpful and courteous to all parents. Another factor in this school's success is the PARENTS. They are involved in every facet of the school, and work hard with the administration regarding tuition and activities to provide quantity without diminishing quality. A personal favorite of mine was the 7th & 8th grade history books, as it provided study guides, practice tests and games online. Students were given able to interact with history in various forms: drama skits, video presenation, poetry, etc. Other good programs at Barnabas is the Accelerated Reader, PowerSchool to view your student's grades online, Study Island, and the High School Prep Test. This school works hard to ensure your child has the tools available to succeed! My son has been prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

After putting two older siblings through St. Barnabas (they're now in H.S.) and on their way to very selective universities I have to say St. Barnabas provided a very solid spiritual and academic foundation for them. They are very proud graduates and my husband and I are very proud of them. However, we have two younger children who will not be attending St. Barnabas because we believe the quality of education has gone down and the atmospher has become too rigid to foster the love of learning that my older children received - I'm convinced it is due to the new principal and the pastor - what a shame. Hopefully things will change - maybe they can get Daley or McKenna back to bring in the school spirit it once had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

One of the best. Every one has reason to be proud of the school they or their children attended. I think a good measure of the school's quality is which school the children choose and are accepted into. St. Barnabas graduates are almost always accepted into St. Ignatius H.S, the most choosy of the best Catholic schools in Chicago. Enough said.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 51%
Black 15% 18%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 3% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lenore Barnes
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10121 South Longwood Drive
Chicago, IL 60643
Phone: (773) 445-7711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT