Advertisement
Advertisement

St Benedict Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 618 students

We are best known for DePaul Partnership.

 
 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $277,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2013

Our children have been at St. Ben's for three years now; we are thrilled with the school! The teachers are the most dedicated I've ever come in contact with. They bend over backwards to help your child. In our experience, communications with teachers has been superb. The administration takes parent concerns seriously and is willing to work with parents to ensure that everyone has a good experience. The curriculum is top notch. Classroom size is small so as to ensure that each child gets significant one on one time with the instructor. The school also has sports and club options galore. Parental involvement is welcomed and very much appreciated at St Ben's. The teachers are kind, loving, and highly qualified (most have advanced degrees), the administration is excellent, and the support staff is great, too! We love St. Ben's and are thrilled to have found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

Parent dedication paired with teacher involvement and a strong commitment from the administrative team make this school a winning place for your kids. We felt welcome from the first day we started and our child feels so at home here. Classroom size is small and allows the teachers to give attention to each student. A lot is expected from each child, but as parents we feel it helps raise them to their potential. There is a variety of extra-curricular activities as well to keep your child well-rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

I have 2 daughters in Elementary School. Very strange what the previous reviewer stated. We've always had a great communication with the teachers and they all are quick to reply to any emails/questions we have. My daughters are more than happy at the school. There is a lot of homework for my 2nd grader. There are different levels within the classroom (normal, advanced, etc). My 2nd grader is in the advanced group and the level of work is very demanding. We are somehow involved in the parish but do not donate any extra $ and the level of attention we receive from all staff is absolutely wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

I wish I had a crystal ball because I would not have sent my daughter to this school. The curriculum is not wonderful. If you have a smart child but don't have the money to donate they won't even look or help your child. The teachers never reply to your emails. If your child has a problem with another student they don't care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2011

I am in 8th grade here. I think it is an absolutely wondeful school. The curriculum is wonderful. There is a lot of 1 on 1 with the teacher.


Posted March 24, 2010

We transferred our son to St Bens after being disappointed with his kindergarten experience at Bell, and we are so happy with our choice. Small classes, excellent curriculum, responsive, flexible teachers - it's a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

My son has been at St. Ben's for the past seven years. Two years of full-time preschool and now in the 5th grade. He has excelled tremendously and has gained considerable social skills. This truly is a community of advanced teachers, stellar administration and parents who only want the best education for their children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2008

Parents worry about the future of their child/ children. Education and a moral foundation are the building blocks for our children to acheive their goals. St Benedict is that foundation. The staff is second to none, the programs avialable are many and the challanges they provide are wonderful to the growth of our children's minds. The history of the school and the deep roots this school has in this community are a badge of honor each child carries with then now and forever. There will be disagreements and discontent at times but this school is second to none for that reason. This school is constantly changing to meet the demands of the diagreements and dicontent issues. This school is constantly progressing forward. This school is the best for the foundation of our children and their futures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

St. Benedict Elementary School is a Professional Development Partner with DePaul University of Chicago. The resources that the partnership bring to the school are great, including the Phonics/Guided Reading Programs which add order, comprehension and Systematic thinking to an already excellent curriculum. This is a cutting-edge bonus that makes the school so great. The sense of community is something that my family has not seen elsewhere. It truly is a gem of a school, parish and people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

My Kindergartner, as a new student to the St. Ben's community, has had a very positive experience in making the transition to a new school. We previously had been at a Montessori for three years and never felt comfortable there. My child developmentally, socially, and acedemically has made drastic improvements at St Ben's because of the compassion and experience the teachers and administration has for its students. Recommendations were made on how to make our child's transition go smoother. Suggestions included a 5 week transition to Kindergarten summer camp, visits to the classroom, meet-and-greet's with other students. To net it out, there are many opportunities to communicate with the teacher(s) to monitor progress and get involved. The after-school programming is excellent, fostering additional oppportunites for your child to create a bond with their classmates. It's a nurturing place for your child and a great FIRST experience to starting their school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

St. Benedict Elementary School is a Professional Development School in partnership with DePaul University. It was chosen because it is a model school impacting student learning at all levels.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 30, 2007

From the first day at pre-school, my child wanted to live at school. She loves learning at St. Ben's with all her heart. Every year is the best year ever. The 4th grade class is a great group of friends that all care about each other. All of her teachers so far have been the perfect fit for my daughter. Life is a tough place. At St.Ben's your childs learns the skills to manage life. And make life long friends !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2007

St. Benedict has been a wonderful place for my daughter and I have been impressed with the small class size and the attention she has received. The teachers are very responsive and work so hard to support and challenge the students. The numerous extracurriculars are a big plus, too. We are very glad we are a part of this great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

My children have been attending St. Benedict Elementary School for several years. Over the past five years, the school has gone through an amazing transformation -- the principal has initiated many impressive programs, the teachers are caring and creative, the children are friendly, the climate is inviting and welcoming. There are so many ways to be involved at the school, and the kids have access to many wonderful extracurriculars. The school has initiated a portfolio program for all students which is helpful for parents to see how their child has grown and improved. The middle school students use laptops in their classrooms. The school has a great partnership with DePaul University. If a family is looking for a school to belong to, this is it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

I was a Chicago Public School Teacher for 14 years. I have a Master s Degree in Early Childhood Education. I have three children, two dogs and a husband. My daughter is in fourth grade and my son is in kindergarten at St. Benedict. I am currently at home with my toddler. I know there are many choices of schools in Chicago and I know how overwhelming that choice can be. We looked at over a dozen schools for our daughter. We choose St. Benedict School for so many reasons. First and foremost we are a community at St. Ben s. The staff and parents help each other educationally, spiritually, and in times of need. The small class size gives my children the opportunity to flourish and express themselves as individuals. The teachers are very educated, caring, and compassionate. They have high expectations for our children and provide a curriculum and atmosphere in which our children can succeed. There are so many extra curricular activities at St. Ben s! My children are involved in Girls Basketball, Bitty Basketball, Bowling, Cross Country, Art Club, and Girl Scouts. These are only a few reasons why we chose St. Benedict. The only way you will know if St. Benedict is right for your child is to come and see our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

My children have been at St. Ben's for over 5 years now, and the experience has been wonderful for all of us. St. Ben's is a DePaul University Professional Development Partner school, which has brought in amazing resources for both the teachers and the students. There are 15 children in my daughter's class, and in addition to the very experienced core teacher, a student teacher from DePaul is in the room as well -- that's an incredible student/teacher ratio. The new 'portfolio assessment' is such a great tool, I was really able to see how my son improved over the course of the year. This, in addition to the fact that the teachers are very open to discussing individual needs (both accelerated and developmental) are much more meaningful than just numbers on a report card. This entire school cares about my children and their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

We believe that St. Benedict Elementary School is the best school our children could be in. The class size is amazing! Each child gets a great deal of individual attention. The innovative and exciting programs (lap top technology, portfolio assessments, interdisciplinary projects) all demonstrate the forward thinking of the principal and the quality of the teachers. There are so many extracurricular activities available for students, from athletics to art and music to student council, that our children are getting fantastic opportunities outside the classroom. There are many ways for parents to get involved, too and most parents choose to be very active in the school. St. Ben's provides a wonderful environment for our children and we strongly recommend it to parents looking for a great school and a great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

School has the capability to be a good school but administration doesn't welcome any constructtive critisism. Kids are safe and do alot of crafts but there is so much they can do to improve the school but dont. Not sure why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

Schools offer a great number of new programs which strengthen the already in-place curriculum, including Spanish for grades K-7; New portfolio assessment for grades PK-8; Physical Education classes for grades PK-8; An additional Preschool classroom; Music classes for PK-8; $1000 family-friendly discount on tuition for two or more children in elementary school and one-on-one tablet PC initiative for 6th grade students (next year to expand to one more grade. School nurse; full-time reading specialist, and reading assistance program. 2007-2008 School Year Preview includes new Guided Reading practices for K-5, including building library of reading materials for classroom support of this program (in addition to current library); New Phonics program for K-2; New math program pilot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

St. Benedict Pre and Elementary schools have surpassed our expectations, including the level of academic instruction, curriculum, discipline, guidance, parent involvement and an overall sense of strong community. The school's partnership with DePaul University has tightened the already small student to teacher ratio. Specialized instruction in Spanish, Music, Extra Reading, Religion, Math, Language Arts, Science, Social Studies and Computers offer our children a great balance and overall outstanding quality education. We're proud of the work our teachers deliver and feel our kids are in the best school for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 60%
Two or more races 10% N/A
Hispanic 9% 16%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • DePaul University Professional Development Partnership (2010)
  • State of Illinois Recognition (2010)
  • NCPL Girls and Boys Basketball First Place Award (2010)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Rachel Gemo
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Part-time study
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (773) 463-0782

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Kickball, Boy Scouts and Band
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Kickball, Girl Scouts and Band
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parents are involved as little or as much as they'd like to be. we have a parent-partnership program where parents can earn up to $200 off tuition if they provide at least 20 hours of service during the school year. parent are involved in all aspects of the school program: advisory board, athletics, fundraising, recruiting, class events, etc.
More from this school
  • 2009-10 Terra Nova Results Our students perform far beyond the national norm in Terra Nova Tests!! For example, our Grade Two reading score suggests that our students scored better than 71% of the students in the national group. This score is not to be used to compare ISAT’s, for the TERRA NOVA test compares against a peer norm group, not achievement of standards like the ISAT’s.. How to understand the scores reported below: Grade Mean Equivalents – Describes the year and month of school that students achieved. For example, our average fourth grade student reads at a 7.3 level, the equivalent of how a seventh grader in the third month of school would score on the same test. NP of the Mean NCE (National Percentile of the Mean Norm Curve Equivalent) – essentially this is a fancy term for a percentage that can be compared to National Percentiles of different standardized tests (such as if you wanted to compare our results to schools who use the IOWA test, CAT, etc…) GRADE TWO Subject Grade Mean Equivalents National Percentile of the Mean NCE Reading 3.7 71% Math 3.3 78% Science 3.2 65% Social Studies 3.8 76% GRADE THREE Subject Grade Mean Equivalents National Percentile of the Mean NCE Reading 5.0 71% Language 5.4 73% Math 5.1 81% Science 5.1 76% Social Studies 7.0 86% GRADE FOUR Subject Grade Mean Equivalents National Percentile of the Mean NCE Reading 7.3 75% Language 7.8 77% Math 6.6 80% Science 6.0 72% Social Studies 8.6 83% GRADE FIVE Subject Grade Mean Equivalents National Percentile of the Mean NCE Reading 8.9 72% Language 8.4 67% Math 6.4 63% Science 8.0 71% Social Studies 8.1 73% GRADE SIX Subject Grade Mean Equivalents National Percentile of the Mean NCE Reading 10.8 76% Language 10.1 71% Math 8.1 62% Science 8.0 63% Social Studies 9.8 72% GRADE SEVEN Subject Grade Mean Equivalents National Percentile of the Mean NCE Reading 12.2 81% Language 13.0 83% Math 10.8 78% Science 11.0 75% Social Studies 12.4 85%
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Public and private schools

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Benedict High School
St. Ignatius
Loyola Academy
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
Summer college prep programs
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3920 North Leavitt Street
Chicago, IL 60618
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 463-6797

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT