Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Columbanus School

Private | PK-8 | 220 students

We're best known for 90% of our students testing at or above grade level
 
 

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $87,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 23, 2013

St.C prepared my daughter so well for high school, that I had to write an review! My daughter graduated from St. C with extremely high test scores, selfconfidence & an enthusiam for learning. She tested into Whitney Young,her for choice & is excelling. I owe it all to St. C for giving her a good solid academic and moral foundation.The school is very costly but it is worth every penny, esp when you see the high schools, test scores, how well behaved your child is and the colleges these kids attend after leaving St. C. Its a true investment. And the teachers are also VERY caring, knowledgeable in their subjects and push.the kids to go further in their academics. They offer; Spanish & French, sports, clubs, boys and girls scouts, andhigh test scores usually im the 90%. Their grads test into their first choice high schools including; Whitney Young, Brooks, Marist, Mt. Carmel, St. Ignatius, Chicaho Academy for the Arts (CAA, private schl), Chicago Ag , Urban Prep, DelaSalle, Mother McCauley, La Luimere(private catholic boarding schl).High parental involvement is strong and the Principal knows each child by their first names. This school is worth every penny and more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

Great school full of great teachers dedicated to the enhancement of all students. The school is a safe environment for learning and growing as responsible young people. The students are challenged daily, lots of homework, opportunities to excell, and recognition for a job well done. My child loves St C and is looking forward to the new school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

St. C is the place to be! My daughter has attended the school since Pre-K and continues to excel academically, social/emotionally and spiritually. The teachers and staff work with the students and provide a rich and quality learning environment. Mrs. Wilson (School Principal) is hands on with her students, staff and parents. The annual Taste of St. C event is an EXCELLENT fundraiser to help keep tuition cost affordable. Highly recommended !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2011

As with many parents, we searched so many different schools for our children. We live on the South side of the city and when we looked at the ratings for CPS schools we were literally in shock. We could not believe the number of low performing schools on the South side compared to the Central and North sides of the city. We knew our children needed to have a great education if they were going to be competitive in this world and we simply did not have many choices in our area. I cannot express how relieved we were when we found St. C. The teachers are dedicated, caring and provide our children with a high quality rigorous education. My son is in Kindergarten and is learning sign language. The children are friendly, supportive and caring with each other. The tuition is very reasonable compared to other private schools and the services that our children receive. If you are researching for a top quality program that will not only empower your child academically, but also socially and emotionally, then you must visit St. Columbanus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

i went to this school up until my 6th grade year and i regret leaving because the other schools are so wild and ,ild mannered st.c teaches you how to be sucessful and to believe in god i ran track and cheered and this was a very good experience i wish all children will get a chance to attend such a school they teach you words like loquacious lol bet you dont know what that means
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2009

I attend st.columbanus and i think its a nice school and i can tell you alll these teachers really nice school ive been here since preschool its great! I've gotten to know all the teachers and they know me to! When i graduate erys,chynnna,zaire,arlise,ariahnna and i know we've been taught what we need to know! i feel prepared for highschool thanks units C&D for preparing us!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

I love St. Columbanus, because I attended there when I was a kid. The same principle is still there Mrs. Wilson. Also, some of the same teachers are there as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

Im a new student to st columbanus but im very close to the basketball team,of course its my 8th grade year and i had a very rough time, but i want to thank st columbanus for a fresh start....
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2009

I am the parent of a 'St. C' alumni and upon graduation my child was more than above average prepared for admission to high school. The cirriculum at 'St. C' was strigent and forced the children to continually push themselves to excellence. The motto Mrs. Wilson has the children to recite, 'Good, better, best never let it rest until the good gets better and the better is BEST' is an excelllent motivational tool. The creativity used in the primary grades namely, Mrs Wadlington, provides a foundation the children can rely on for future projects. Yes, it is costly but well worth it. My daughter tested into all honors classes in high school and remains in the top 20% of her graduating class making the superintendents honor roll. Thanks 'ST. C.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

I am an alumni and my children currently attend St. C, I love the quality of education and care they give students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2008

i went to this school and it is the best school ever. I'd like to thank the following teachers for great years at ST.Columbanus: Ms.Mohn,Ms.Rivers,Mrs.Moore,Mr.Scott,Mr.Katona, and Mrs.Wadlington.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2008

St. Columbanus! I have three children enrolled in this school since PS. Yes, the tuition is very expensive but it is well worth the investment. The Principal, Mrs. Wilson is hands on with each and every student. The teachers are bit overworked but they too take special care with each child. The classrooms are small and their are a lot of opportunities for the children to get one-on-one assistance by teachers. My only gripe is that their is not enough extracurricular activities. The only viable activity that the children can partake in is the Athletic Center which too, is very expensive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

I am in the 7th grade at st.c i started in kindergarding and ever since then it has been wonderful. the teachers are nice, kind, and very truthful. The school is a highly recommended school and they prepare their students to succed in anything they want to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2008

Both my children attended St. C from kindergarten through eight grade. It is an excellent school. St. C really prepares your child to deal with society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

I attended this school and now my son attends. Most people are so surprised to see that he is 6 and can read bible passages as well as books. The school produces well rounded students who go to the best high schools and remain successful even through college. I am proud to be a part of such a wonderful legacy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

I am a student at St.C right know it is avery nice and friendly school I strated going to St.C in the 7th grade I was the smallest in the class but they make you feel like a family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2007

I attended St. Columbanus School as did all four of my siblings. I worked my first teaching job as a science teacher at St. Columbanus. Mrs. Wilson is an excellent Administrator and Teacher. Keep up the good work Mrs. Wilson. Mrs. JoniAnn Jones-Chaney, BA, MEd, EMT-P
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 16, 2007

I went to this school(just graduated in june,and have been going there since 1st grade)and it was very good I would recommend it.They are strict but they know how to have fun and learn at the same time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2007

My daughter is a recent graduate of St. C. St. C more than adequately prepared my child academically and socially for high school. My daughter upon evaluation by one of the leading high schools in Illinois tested into all honors classes and has excelled since. Thanks for everything St. C.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

i am a current student at St. Columbanus and I am in 8th grade I have been there for 9 years and I think that despite the good and bad things that have went on St. Columbanus is a great school the teachers are caring and the parents are involved and the principal is the great overseer and everyone respects her for all that she does for us.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 18%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 24%
White 0% 51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sandra E. Wilson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
More from this school
  • St. C has been in existence since 1909. 90% of our students test at or above grade level. 95% of our students attend the high school of their choice. Faith-based and quality education. Before and after care services. Hands-on science experiments in our science lab. Computer lab with wireless capabilities. Spanish and French Language Program. Tutoring in Math and Reading. Staff of dedicated teachers and Administration. Several of our students are children of Alumni.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
50
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
85

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
De LaSalle
Mother McAuley
St. Francis De Sales
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7120 S Calumet Ave
Chicago, IL 60619
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 224-3811

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT