Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Ferdinand Parish School

Private | PK-8 | 301 students

Providing students with a faith based, technology rich education.
 
 

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 14, 2014

If I could give 10 stars, I would! My daughter is enrolled in St.Ferds and this is her 8th grade year. This morning, I wanted to enroll my sons in a public school but I decided to stop at Ferds first. Best decision I could have made! They treated as if I was family! My daughter could not be happier. She grew up at Ferds and I know if I had sent her to a public school in our area she would not have become the intelligent young lady she is today. I hope my boys will be the same way. The teachers are top notch! They go the extra mile when it comes to the education of their students. And the technology is also very up to date and used in class daily (iPads, laptops, etc.) My daughter treats it as almost a second home (so do I), it's an amazing environment. I can't wait to send my twins there and watch them grow into intelligent young boys. If you're thinking about where to send your kids and are considering St. Ferdinand, defiantly go for it! -Nataliya Lageyevsky
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2014

St. Ferdinand school is the best in the area. My son loves going to school each day. The variety of course from preschool to junior high are fantastic. The Preschool is top notch. The teachers are caring and prepared my son to enter Kindergarten. My son loved his Ipad and music class. I would highly recommend sending your child to our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

My school is one of the best in the area compared to the CPS and other Catholic schools in the area. My child because of St. Ferdinand's great curriculum is excelling day by day. If you want to give your child a top notch education go to St. Ferdinand, trust me I have been to others and no comparison.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

St. Ferdinand is a top notch school. It offers high school credit for algebra and biology, is rich in technology, language and other enrichment programs. Further, it is a friendly place and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

The teachers here are dedicated and nurturing and the curriculum is outstanding and includes not only the core classes but Music, Art, Gym and Languages as well. The teachers work with each child at their own individual level while still challenging them to their maximum potential. I Love that there is such a diversity of students here, parents are great and volunteer often, it really gives the school that community feeling. Overall, it s an excellent school, and my kids love it here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

Personally, my child likes his school. I have experienced that teachers and administration are active and working hard in seeking answers and solutions for what is best for every student. I also appreciate that there are still nuns teaching at St. Ferdinand in Chicago. It reminds me of when I was a child at school and I like this for my son, as well. I had a wonderful experience learning,working, and teaching at this school, under the leadersip of the current Principal. I am happy for my child and am grateful to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

This school is like one big family. It is a technology rich, nurturing environment where children flourish. The parents/students and the teachers/staff have an excellent relationship and it is evident as you walk through our halls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

St. Ferdinand's is a caring and complete school environment. They still have athletics, music, choir, and art besides Spanish taught at ALL grade levels and Chinese taught at the jr high level. What a great place for your child to grow and mature!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

My Children went to this school during their early years. It was a waste of money. We enrolled them there because there was a full time kindergarten. That is how they attract their students. The teachers and Principle have displayed symtoms of a bad relationship. I know that a master degree teacher makes minimum wage and it shows. The principle is not approachable. The music class is just singing. No music teachings of any sort. The art class is regularly substitited by an inappropriate role model. They boast a nurse but really use the preschool teacher that was once a nurse. They make the kids empty their desks at the end of every week so theans explain to the parents that it is so the weekend school kids don't steal or damage their belongings. Just Awful! Save your
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

I give this school zero stars. This school is horrible, if your child does not start out as one of the 'in kids' then he will be picked on, isolated, ostraciszed. I have never seen such a school nor principal in my life. There are too many other Catholic schools in this area, to pick this one. Please... Plus Terra Nova scores are much lower here then other scores... An utter nightmare and waste of money
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

I am writing this because I would like to say how wounderful the teachers are. My children actually get up in the morning and look forward to going to school. The school looks at my children as indiviuals and not just a number or dollar signs, they really do care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2005

I am a current student at St. Ferdinands, and I have attended this school ever since kindergarden. The teachers here are very dedicated to their work, and are always willing to help with anything we may not understand. Our school also offers an accelerated math program, in which students can complete high school math courses before even starting high school, so it is a good choice for students who are excelling academically. The school also has many extracurricular activities, including sports such as basketball and volleyball, and a wide variety of clubs. Parents are informed of their childrens' progress by having conferrences with teachers and are able to contact the teachers throughout the year to check in on their child. This school had given me many great opportunities that other school may have not, and I think it is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 24%
White 36% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 2% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Polish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Polish
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Polish
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish and Polish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Lucine Mastelerz
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (773) 622-2807

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Polish
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Polish
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish and Polish
  • Game club
  • Girl scouts
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • St. Ferdinand school puts students first, and provides them with a faith based, technology rich education, in a safe and secure learning environment. We have been the neighborhood choice for a quality Catholic education for 80 years and counting!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
50
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
50

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Patrick High School for Boys
Lane Tech
Northside Prep
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3131 North Mason Avenue
Chicago, IL 60634
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 622-3022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Icci Academy
Chicago, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT