Advertisement
Advertisement

Ancona School

Private | PK-8 | 254 students

Ancona combines the best of progressive and Montessori practices.
 
 

 
 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $140,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2008

Ancona has been a pleasure on so many levels. The teachers are committed, passionate and truly gifted with children. The curriculum is innovative and student centered -- yes they teach the basics and core curriculum -- but the kids get to express their interest in various subjects and delve into the topics that interest them at deeper level. The school encourages the students to take academic risks and try new ideas and as a result they have exceptional problem solving skills. The school is small and nearly every teacher and administrator knows every student's name which means that every child is well cared for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I am the parent of a student who graduated from the Ancona school in 2007. I can only say that the true test of your child's ability and knowledge will come during their freshman and sophomore years of high school. My daughter is so far ahead of her peers that I had to question her high schools academics to determine if she was being challenged enough. She is ranked #4, with a 3.9 GPA and is in all honors courses. My daughter consistantly receives the highest grades in Spanish more so than children who speak it as a first language. The critical thinking skills, sense of community, and socialization skills that Ancona prides itself on are quite evident in my daughters approach. She is very involved, volleyball, cheerleading, campus ministry. I could go on and on. Ancona is worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

This is our first year at Ancona. My daughter is a preprimary student and I absolutely love the school, the teachers and the administrative staff. I couldn't have asked for a more nuturing, receptive, Montessori based school. The school has a small family atmosphere which allows you to take an active role in the school if you would like to do so. I am very pleased with Ancona and I'm glad I made the choice to attend. My daughter is flourishing academcally, socially and emotionally. The Montessori curriculum may not be right for every child or every family, but if it is, ANCONA is the place to be!!!!! K. Jackson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

I am a parent of an 8th grade student, who has been at Ancona since pre-K. This was an excellent choice - an excellent academic program, outstanding, caring teacher and a true partnership between the school, parent and child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

This is our first year at Ancona and we could not be more pleased. We have two preprimary kids, both with very different personalities, and both are flourishing. Their academic work is as much as we could have asked for, but more importantly their daily experience with teachers, students and administrators is both nurturing and engaging. The school is culturally diverse, understands the need for recess, PE, music and other subjects too often pushed aside in some schools; and gives kids the chance to explore their own capabilities. We are thrilled with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

exceptionally strong preparation and backgrounding in the basic subjects. very strong reading, math, and science programs. Focus is on children learning at their own pace to experience the power and the joy of learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

Ancona is a wonderfully economic and ethnically diverse school that offers an innovate, child-centered curriculum. My kids have excelled here and I have seen tremendous progress in their academic and social evolution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

Hello. I goo to the ancona school. It is a very good school and takes extra time to help you or push you ahead in sujects you are good/ bad in. the have a very good sports program allowing 5th and 6th graders to play. I am very glad I go to this school even if I sometimes am upset with the curriculum. I give it 4 stars.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2006

My daughter is definitely being challenged and she is thriving. The focus in the primary grades is reading, writing and math. Her educational experience has been enhanced by exposure to multiple teachers (Art, Music and Spanish are all taught by different teachers). I don't believe that Montessori is right for every child but I am thrilled that it is working with my child! The Ancona Parent Organization is very welcoming. There are several opportunities for Parental involvement. The school publishes a newsletter weekly which helps keep the parents informed. I wish the classroom and school website were updated more frequently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2006

Great, small, Montessori-influenced school. Preschool-8th. Diverse student body. Experienced, dedicated teachers. Does best with core subjects: reading, math, science, etc. Spanish program is also excellent (Spanish is only foreign language offering). Enthusiastic parents. Kids learn about respect, and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

Ancona is warm and stimulating environment that allows children to find self-direction and work at a pace that suits their ability, while giving them many opportunities to learn. My daughter has flourished since she attended the pre-school program. Her teacher Peggy is so caring and calm and dedicated and in tune with each child's strengths and weaknesses that she is able to redirect and guide them to reach their potential. Part of the building has new facilities and part of the building is older.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 20%
White 30% 60%
Two or more races 11% N/A
Asian 5% N/A
Hispanic 3% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:05 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Bonnie L Wishne
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCACS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Experiential Learning
  • Hybrid
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Drama club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Robotics club
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Join the Ancona Parent Organization
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$15000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Walter Payton College Prep
Jones College Prep
Whitney Young Magnet High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4770 S Dorchester Ave
Chicago, IL 60615
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 924-2356

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT