Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Philip Lutheran

Private | PK-8 | 154 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $100,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2013

this is the best school ever. i love this school. so good. great teachers. great students. great one on one time with teachers. there are ipads with great apps for education. the books are on the ipad.


Posted October 15, 2011

When I drop off my children I feel that they are safe in a school like St. Philip. Great parental involvement and strong school system. You are fortunate to be able to start your child off at St. Philip and to see them graduate from such a great school! It used to be combined classes with the first and second graders but not anymore...they each have their own classrooms and teachers. By the way- The sinks and water fountains HAVE been repaired. Like anything else things tend to break but these were repaired and are now exceptionally beautiful and completely functioning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2011

Excellent teachers in the early childhood program, strong principal, our daughter is in the preK program 2nd year. Nurturing, Safe environment, children are very kind to one another, you can see the kids are very happy and are learning just by observing their interaction with one another. My daughter can read and always surprises me with little nuggets of knowledge she learns at school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

And why is the girl's water fountain broken? Why has it BEEN broken for months? Honestly, you hired the guy to break the thing. Now it hurts to crank the thing because the guy came, took off the handle, and left. I love the teachers, though. But to put two classes together is insane. I asked a second grader what they thought of second grade, and they said they were learning all first grade stuff.


Posted September 13, 2010

My daughter is in her second year in the early education program at St. Philip. So far, I am very impressed. The programs to teach children to learn through play are clever, the religious teachings are inspiring and I know my daughter is young but I can see her gaining comfort and confidence in the knowledge of God and Jesus Christ as her savior, the meals are nutritious and we may have just lucked out on the other kids in the class but friendships have also been an added bonus. My daughter can't wait to go to school every morning. I have also noticed, that among those who were born and raised in the city, St. Philips seems to have an excellent reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

St. Philip is an excellent school with good academics and a fantastic technology program. There is a variety of sports offered: cross-country, basketball, volleyball, bowling, golf, track. Two of my children went here and are doing well in high school. The class size is quite small, yet there are no double grades like many private Lutheran school have on the northside of Chicago. The academics seem to be ahead of most of the local public elementary schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2009

St.Philip is a great school. the books are up to date in every subject and grade. The staff really knows how to teach. the principal is a great leader and keeps the school organized. The sports teams are very succsesful just recently the boys basketball team got 3 in the state and 9 in the country. Last year the JV boys team won the city and subarban tournament. This year the JV girls team has won all the Tournaments they have participated in. The technolgy program is amazing they have all the newest technology and teach the kids how to take apart computers and to put them back together. and they have to learn how each part works. They learn the history of technolgy and make technolgy. It's a great school for immigrants who need help with english or kids who need help in school.


Posted September 28, 2009

St. Philip is awesome! It's an excellent school with good academics and wonderful teachers. This school is diverse and has a Technology program which is great! I must say this school is excellent


Posted May 13, 2009

Good schools have extracurricular activities, a good environment, high standard academics, and good teachers to help their students. This school has all of them. Although the teachers can be very immature and act like children at times which is just ridiculous because they are supposed to be a professoinal teaching staff. Though most of the teachers are a well functioning staff. I am dissapointed in this drop of teacher quality that the school has displayed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2009

This school is amazing. I love it. If you compare it to other Lutheran schools it's probably one of the best. Toward public schools probably averages out the same. St. Philip is probably one of the most diverse Lutheran let alone Private schools out there. Though, you should be aware that the reviews below are true. So that should be taken into consideration as well. Also it should be noted that things may get out of hand and may not be good for a child's exposure. Other than that it ok.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2009

I agree with the review from October 3rd. Ever since the former principal, Nick Hopfensperger, left, everything has gone into a downward spiral. The teachers in the lower grades are pretty good, but when it comes to grades 5-8, forget about it. If you have a problem with someone or something and you take it to the new principal, she will give you the biggest attitude possible and make it look like your the problem instead. Very, very disappointed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2008

St. Philip was recommended to me by a neighbor, then a coworker, then a friend. I was wary at first, but quickly grew to love the safe,warm environment my kids enjoy. The additional perks are wonderful as well...a huge strings program, scouts, sports, etc. The families are warm and unified. The cost is half what other parochial schools are charging (important and necessary in this economy). I would highly recommend it to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

This school used to be so amazing. You can read the reviews and do whatever you want, but listen to me, a student. Classroom management is at an all-time low and I as a student for 10 years have seen decreasing teacher quality more and more every year. Classrooms are basically like jungles and teachers cannot teach because no one is under control. Discipline is carried out for frivolous cases, but a student was once put in a chokehold by another student, and the teacher didn't respond until the student was on the verge of unconciousness. This school only cares about money and doesn't care about anything else. The only good teacher is in 4th grade, so you should enroll your student in St. Philip for that year, but run after that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2006

The early child care center was phenomenal! Our 4 year old learned to love school and we're very comfortable knowing that he's well cared for during the extended hour care that's available while we're at work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

I am a graduate of St. Philip Lutheran School and am just finishing my freshman year at Lane Tech High School. I grew up at St. Philip from Pre-k to 8th and have many memories of St. Philip. I think that it is a great school with great academics and very very good sports teams. I participated in basketball and track from 5th to 8th and loved every moment of it. You'll find no better students than the ones at St. Philip and there is no one in the school that does not have at least 10 friends. There is great parental involement and it is easy to get a hold of teachers for meetings and the like, as well as parents helping out around the school. I will say that I enjoyed the school more before some of the teachers left, but, it is still a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 26, 2006

Changes in administration and new staffing make this school an undiscovered (and slightly underpriced) find. I admit I'm a bit biased as I've worked on the staff, but we've also tried the public school system and the personalized attention students receive here is great. Few bells and whistles, but a terrific computer lab, and a simple, but rounded program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

Teacher-to-student ratio is very good at St. Philip, kids enjoy the extracurriculars, computer program is a big plus (great lab, kids learn how computers work by disassembling). Parental involvement is encourged and welcomed, yet is not as high as at other schools I am familiar with, probably because both parents work in most families. Kids are challenegd academically, but most importantly, all subjects are taught in the light of God's Word. For parents who are striving to teach their children Christian knowledge and values at home, St. Philip offers a wonderful reinforcement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

We have had at least 1 (at times all 3) child at St. Philip's for the past 13 years, beginning with the pre-school program. We are not member's of the church, and the religious education is not why our children attend. We have been extremely pleased with the quality and challenge of St. Philip's academic program as well as thankful for it's comprehensive extracurricular program, including an active inter-scholastic sport's program, band, choir, and other fine art's. Finally, the nurturing environment with caring, dedicated staff has been exceptional. We recommend this school to anyone considering St. Philip's.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 60%
Asian 21% N/A
Hispanic 14% 16%
Black 9% 20%
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Charles Asche
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • ELEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 West Bryn Mawr Avenue
Chicago, IL 60659
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 561-9830

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Hilary School
Chicago, IL


Luv N Care
Chicago, IL




Little Angels
Chicago, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT