Advertisement
Advertisement

Bethesda International Academy

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $101,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 15, 2013

Both of my girls go to Bethesda and I am very thankful that they are in a safe environment. The student to teacher ration is very low insuring that your children will get the attention they need when they are young. Go Bethesda!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

My son currently attends Bethesda. It is a gem in the city. The teachers, principal and support staff are amazing. I feel the foundation that my son is getting is amazing for academics and creating guiding principles. The class sizes are smaller giving great attention to the kids. There is nothing better than asking how was your day, and hearing "Great! Did you know there are 206 bones in the human skeleton". I would encourage other parents to look into Bethesda.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

both of our kids are at Bethesda they just love it! They both have wonderful, caring teachers and have excelled in their academics. You couldn't ask for a better principal who loves these kids and inspires them to be the best that they can be. Would recommend the school whole heartedly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

My daughter started at Bethesda last year and she loves it!!! The teachers are great, challenging and very friendly. The school is small making the teacher to student ratio a big plus! What I like most is the family atomosphere!! Thanks Bethesda!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

I am very happy with the school and its staff. All the teachers are great. The principle is taking the school to another level. Our dauther has learn an abundance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

Fantastic school. We moved here from another state this year and were worried about navigating the public school system--we were thrilled to find Bethesda. The kids felt at home from day 1. The class sizes are small, the work is challenging on each child's level, the teachers are great and there's a great community feeling between the parents, teachers, and kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

I couldn't be more thrilled with this school. The new principal has so much energy and has put together an outstanding teaching staff. Academics are rigorous, the student body is incredibly diverse -- ethnically and even religiously. There are small class sizes and a fantastic family atmosphere. After spending years in some of the best public schools, Bethesda is as good or better in their curriculum, but far more personal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

Very good teaching staff. Son feel like he is with family all day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

Small school with low student to teacher ratio. Great for preschool to Grade 2. Needs to be more challenging for upper grades. Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

Both my children go to Bethesda. Bethesda is a school where the children come first. The teacher to student ratio is one of the many fine things the school offers. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The up-to-date computer lab is something my kids enjoy also. Thank you Bethesda for bringing out the best in my children and giving them the encouragement and confidence they need to go out into the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 34% 60%
Asian 23% N/A
Black 18% 20%
Hispanic 16% 16%
Two or more races 9% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Patricia Grunde
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6803 North Campbell Avenue
Chicago, IL 60645
Phone: (773) 743-0800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT