Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 240
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Parents, we welcome your comments and feedback.
October 24, 2011

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Akiba-Schechter Jewish Day School 2

Posted December 30, 2013
- a parent
Akiba was denied academic accreditation twice. There are some good teachers but the general atmosphere is one lacking in professionalism. The older grades have very small class sizes due to lack of students and there is a large percentage of students who are children of faculty... unfortunately, this only furthers the lack of professionalism and results in questionable standards. I would strongly urge anyone considering this school to be wary of the glowing reviews - Akiba serves primarily as a school for a few gifted children and many others with behavioral and intellectual challenges. The board of the school has been led by parents with questionable motives.

Akiba-Schechter Jewish Day School 3

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
While Akiba seems to do a decent job for elementary students, the middle school is seriously lacking. The teachers are of uneven quality and there appears to be little coordination between faculty leaving the middle schoolers foundering under mounds of homework. Year after year, incidents of bullying arise and yet no serviceable anti-bullying curriculum is implemented. Every year, it is as if the administration is dealing with these issues for the first time. Sadly, the weak administration is too shortsighted to see these failings as systematic. It is no wonder that there is a yearly attrition of secular students (who may have more choices among alternative schools) leaving a very small 8th grade class.


Akiba-Schechter Jewish Day School 5

Posted February 08, 2011
- a parent
Wow- I'm very surprised that anyone would think that Akiba is not geared towards working with gifted students and helping them reach their full potential. The thing I most love about Akiba is that my gifted child is celebrated and encouraged to excel, both in Secular and Judaic studies. I love that the teachers work with the whole child and celebrate them as individuals. My child never feels out of place for being gifted as I was made to feel. I only wish that I could have attended Akiba as a child.

Akiba-Schechter Jewish Day School 5

Posted July 22, 2010
- a community member
Akiba-Schechter is an amazing school! My children are alumni and the excellent foundation they received at the school prepared them to excel in high school and ultimately to go to fine universities. More importantly, they have retained their love of learning into adulthood.

Akiba-Schechter Jewish Day School 5

Posted July 20, 2010
- a teacher
Akiba-Schechter is a warm, nurturing environment that allows students to really soar into who they are meant to be--and this is determined by the student. I really value teaching here because the teachers and students actually enjoy each other. Learning is fun and painless--as it's meant to be.


Akiba-Schechter Jewish Day School 5

Posted July 06, 2010
- a parent
I don't know what the May 31st poster is talking about. My daughter is gifted and working 2, 3 or 4 years above grade level in every subject. Because the school emphasizes an individualized curriculum, students get to work at their own levels. She is thriving. Furthermore, this year the school had students at the National Spelling Bee, the National Geography, the State Science Fair, and the National Bible Competition. Students from Akiba uniformly get into every good high school in the area and thrive. We are fortunate that our daughter has such a wonderful learning environment.

Akiba-Schechter Jewish Day School 1

Posted May 31, 2010
- a parent
Grades 1 through 8 are not academically accredited. This should serve as sufficient tip off to anyone considering the school for extremely bright and motivated students. The school best serves students with intellectual and behavioral disorders. There are some stars in the teaching staff but otherwise, extremely low standards in both academics and social interactions between students and teachers. Limited leadership.

Akiba-Schechter Jewish Day School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Great administration that allows the excellent teachers the freedom to teach.


Akiba-Schechter Jewish Day School 0
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
My son's teachers have instilled a interest in learning in him that is a pleasure to watch..

Akiba-Schechter Jewish Day School 0
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
Mountesouri-like approach to education, very strong curriculum and excellent teachers, Hebrew language and jewish culture and tradition, family-like atmosphere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Akiba-Schechter Jewish Day School
5235 South Cornell Avenue, Chicago, IL  60615
(773) 493-8880
Last modified Akiba-Schechter Jewish Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Akiba-Schechter Jewish Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top