Advertisement
Advertisement

Morgan Park Academy

Private | PK-12 | 440 students

Strong academic preparation and global scholars program
 
 

 
 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

69 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2008

MPA is an outstanding school. The most impressive thing has been the culture of respect for self and others the school has nutured. The student body is quite diverse and few schools can match the quality of the personal interaction among students across racial, ethnic and gender lines. The academics are strong, but you don't have to be a top 'SAT' scorer to find your place, and I like that. I have two kids attending and they have dramatically divergent interests, but both feel great about the school. I have some concern about the quality of the teachers. Not all have been at the level one would expect at the price of the tuition. But many of the teachers are great. Finally, the athletic program is much better than the reviewers here seem to credit. But I think the question of high tuition to value is legit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

Very good teachers K-5...Some weak teachers 6-8...Teachers are very slow to communicate when children are having problems in the classroom...Campus is old...very little technology based learning...small classrooms...good sports program...if you are not on the inside watch out... price for value not that great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

This is a great school with dedicated faculty and staff. My two daughters went on to garner two Masters degrees and are very happy and successful. The proof is in the pudding. My two daughters attended from pre 1st through 12th grade and loved every minute of it. They are both educators now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

This is a good school. But, for the cost associated with the education I was not impressed. I am a former teacher and had to supplement a great deal of my child's education. She has attended MPA for the last 2 years. The teacher to student ratio is great . . . definately a plus. However, some of the Beverly insider parents can be bullies . . so it is obvious to see where some of the children get it from. We decided not to return next year. As an U of C Lab alum myself, I just did not like the underlying social tone of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

First of all, the school is not in financial trouble, a few cut backs, but there were no pay cuts for our teachers or staff members. Were that information came from I don't know. I have been a parent at MPA for over 10 years. My children have had a positive and enriching experience at this school. When it comes to bullies, every school has there own. If the problem of bullying gets that bad then the parent should have addressed the principal and/or the headmaster. To leave a school because of bullies, well then you should have home schooled her. There is a reason that the school have been here for over 125 years. We must be doing something right. We are a top ten school in the Chicago area, and have 100% of our seniors going to college every . I would highly recommend this school for you child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

Disregard the hype. The school is in such financial trouble that the teachers had to take a pay cut this year. The principal of the higher school seems to have issues with the majority of the students--unless you are the son or daughter of a high roller. Those students frequently get away with whatever they please (Ask my daughter, who was on the wrong side of the mean girls). Academically, it is a decent school, but that does not equal the tuition. No facilities to speak of, though some teachers and coaches are outstanding. Decent athletics, but if you are not a big wig, learn to ride the bench. We couldn't justify this any longer; our daughter is at a new school and is no longer bullied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

I went here and I absolutely loved it. If you miss one day at this school, you're pretty much missing a lot of fun. I'm challenged enough, and the teachers are very polite and nice. Pick this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

I became the board president at MPA after I put two daughters through the school because this is one great school. It is true that many buildings are old, but we have updated the classrooms, built new science and language labs and completely remodeled the gym. We place students in the most highly regarded colleges, but we also try to find the right school for each student. Parents who felt that they were not give information on finances or that shool leadership was unwilling to listen to them must have missed the yearly board/community meetings held for just these purposes. I am an insider, but the staff counseled my family about AP programs that my children should not take, as well as those they should. Every child I know participates in extra-curricular actities. MPA's students are diverse, yet very close knit. Don't miss this gem of a shool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

A great school, the academics are excellent. Strong science and history classes with a good fine arts program. The sports teams are solid for a small school with a limited talent pool to pull from. The athletic fields are superior to what schools like Latin and U-High have (city parks). The gym situation should be improved with a remodeled gym and hopefully a new gym to be built soon. The Upper School Principal can be meddling, but just go over his head the headmaster is a fair individual. The faculty is caring, professional and very knowledgeable. They are good role models for the students. I would recommend this school with high marks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

Morgan Park Academmy is a really good school. It is definetly not bad. It is good. Send your children there for a good education. It is really good. ~Kyle
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2007

Don't believe the hype! Overrated, over-priced. Nice landscaping, but old buildings are barely acceptable (cramped halls, classrooms). Any good public school has more to offer with regard to facilities, expanded and up-to-date curriculum, activities, and vision regarding current school social issues and policy. The overall caliber of faculty and, in particular, the high school principal, can't compete with staff of public or other private schools, and there is no leadership at higher levels willing to listen to parents or make needed changes. Definitely not world class environment--trying to hold on to past. High level of parental involvement for functions, but not sought for substantive input.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2006

Excellent counseling department especially in the Middle School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2006

Great Looking Campus, but the building is not maintained. With an older building you have to look at many factors so you can keep it's integrity while updating it for the future without adding horrendous looking cosmetic cover-ups. The faculty that I have been in contact with cares about each student as though they were the parent! The extra-curricular activities are practically non existent! The mother and fathers clubs are good, but instead of being involved with the academics and possibly being monitors of those non-existent extra-curricular activities, they are more concerned about raising money, which is definitely relevant, but should not be their main focus. The curriculum is very good, work ethic is tremendous, but there are very few electives offered. You do not receive a true accounting of the financial aspects of the school. If you know how the money is spent, you could better justify the high tution costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2006

My son attended MPA for 4 years of high school. It's outstanding! When he graduated he was more than prepared for college. The academics here are challenging, and made my son an analytical thinker and enhanced his creative writing skills. I was especially impressed with the Creative Writing and English instructors. He entered the university with several credits due to taking advanced placement classes here. The school has a remarkable fine art program; he was involved in the chorus and 3 theater projects. They even let him perform his first original screenplay there - a one-act play. Parents are very involved at MPA, and the administrators encourage and appreciate that. I am so happy that my son attended MPA. He received a scholarship and financial aid. Everyone at MPA works diligently to make sure your child has the best quality education, and is a well rounded student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

this is a pretty good school, the teachers are encouraging and the work ethic is tremendous.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted April 12, 2006

The academics are good and students are well prepared for college; I think it may be over rated for the price you are asked to pay. Small classrooms, and there is individual attention to each student. Atheletics are not strong if this is important to you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 4, 2006

In terms of private schools on the south side of chicago, it is probably one of the best. The teachers overall are very caring and the atmosphere is one of a small knit family. There are a core group of very engaged parents that if you know them will provide you with valuable insite into the inner workings of the school. The academics in the middle and upper schools are probably better than in the lower school. However, there are challanges as with any school. The faculty and staff are 95% white whereas the student body is about 40% black; the inside of the facilitites are very dated and are not designed for todays classsrooms; there is no parent group like a 'PTA'; and no annual update concerning the financial and non-financial aspects of the school.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted December 26, 2005

A phenomenal school located on the far southside of Chicago. It is an independent school for PreK-12th grade school. A rigorous college prep school with a wide variety of activities and programs for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

great school, I really loved the teachers and the staff
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 9, 2005

This school was a huge disappointment. The cirriculum is adaquate but they offer very few electives compared to most schools. Students are not nurtured but disciplined like the military. Seldom does a student get admitted into an ivy league school. Overall, not a good value for the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 39% 20%
White 36% 60%
Two or more races 13% N/A
Asian 8% N/A
Hispanic 4% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Catherine Raaflaub
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (773) 881-8409

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Performing arts
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • The Academy is a community dedicated to rigorous academics, independent thinking, living diversity, values-based education, and a nurturing environment. We seek families who embrace these principles and wish to work in partnership with our faculty to educate tomorrow’s leaders. Choosing a school is a decision that will significantly impact your child and his or her success in college and in life. We hope you will consider a Morgan Park Academy education for your child.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$14000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2153 W 111th St
Chicago, IL 60643
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 881-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


P L A I D Academy
Chicago, IL



St Cajetan
Chicago, IL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT