Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Evangelical Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 571 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $62,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

82 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2006

My daughter is a former student of Evangelical, I would not recommend this school to anyone. The administration is too concerned about getting money that they continue to accept children knowing that they can not accommodate them. They fund raise, get money from everywhere possible, but have not used the money to upgrade the building at all. They do not have a gym room, nor an intercom system. Some of the teachers do double duty serving as an administrator as well as a teacher. The principal even has her own classroom. As I stated above I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 12, 2006

This is my daughter 4th year at ecs. This is school is no up to par. Class rooms are over crowded. The parents are the last to know about an disciplar action on the students. But if our tuition is not paid b the 3rd of every month they are quick to expel your child. Parents can not voice any concerns your have to follow a chain of command and maybe your issue will get resolved if the teacher follows the same chain. I will never recommend anyone to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2006

okay school for the money. math curriculum is not as strong as it should be. corporal punishment is used too frequently for minor offenses. parents don't have an avenue in which to express their opinions, no organized parent programs. there is a choir but no musical instrument introduction, no art extra curricular activity consist of a basketball team and cheerleaders. no intercom system to alert teachers of dangers in the building which is a safety concern for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2006

this school is not equipped to handle problematic children. their solution is to expell,suspend or paddle them. i thought that since it is a
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2006

I love this school!! If you are looking for a Christian school that offers advanced academics look no further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

Academic programs are okay. Students receive a lot of homework. Limited sports programs. Teachers can be very immature.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2006

My child is attending ECS. She is learning, but the classes are too crowded. This school is very money hungry, always trying to make a buck, the school is ok, but not highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

I would not recommend this school to anyone else. It is only good for primary grades Pk-2;my daughter is in the 1st grade and has been enrolled since PK-4 and this year seems like she transferred schools. the preschool and kindergarten teachers work together to ensure a smooth transition for the children. The coursework follows from one grade to the next and the children responded well to the transition. There was no continuum from kdg to 1st grade and the classes are too crowded for the teachers to take the necessary time to smooth the transition. The administrative office is handled poorly and some of their practices are questionable. The children have little time for physical activities due to the heavy course load. The tuition is very affordable, but I guess you get what you pay for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

Iam very disappointed in the way the administration handles the everyday operations of this school. They don't have a gym, they have a playground big enough for about 20 kids, and the class sizes are too large.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

The academics is challenging which was great but I have a problem with pretty much everything else that relates to Evangelical. We were deceived before school started w/the lunch program.My daughter's teach was horrid. The school is in the ice age when it comes to collecting tuition.You have to wait in a ridiculous line which they are still handwriting receipts.They have no gym and no extracurricular activites for the children.I did sign my daughter the cheerleading program which is not officially connected to the school which was pretty much the worse decision I could have made other than enrolling my daughter in the money hungry,unorganized school. If you are thinking about enrolling your child,other than the academics aspect,PLEASE,PLEASE,don't do it.You will have to encounter so much other mess with attitudes from the faculity (especially the front office) it's not worth it. Save yourself the aggrevation and find another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

This is an excellent school academically. However, the class sizes are much to large. I think that some students would perform better in smaller classes. There is also no gym room so physical activity is very limited. The school year is also very long. The school year ends in the middle of June and they start back the first business day in August. Six weeks is just not long enough for summer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

The academic program is great. The class sizes are too large. There is too much homework and not enough physical activity. The assistants traet the kids like they are little zoo animals. My child will not be returning for the 2006-2007 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

Academically this school is great! The kids are learning at a higher scale than most schools. However, there are a few issues with the administration staff. They are very unorganized. There is little acceptance to parent imput.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 13, 2006

This is my son's first year at EVS and I have to admit I am very disappointed in this school. For one, there are too many children in each classroom for the children to receive a quality education. There is very little one-on-one interaction since the teacher has to control 40 students at one time. The before and after school care is just as bad. They do not assist with the homework and just this morning I dropped my son off and the before teacher was doing her own homework while 30 kids are running around. I was extremely disappointed and I am constantly regretting I put him in this school. He will not be there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

My child is a former student here, I would not recommend it to anyone. The environment has completely changed. All they think about is money and ways they can get more money. Everybody wants to be a boss. I would not recommend this school if it was the last one on earth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

My child is currently at this school but not for long, his teacher has received numerous complaints about last minute projects and/or notices. Recently in the after school program, one of the assistants let my child leave with another parent not authorize to pick up my child. I must admit, his previous two years there were great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2005

My child just started in October of 2005 and so far I love the fact that she has adapted quickly. She has improved in her Spelling and she is taking a foreign language. At her previous school she did seem to have has much work which is a plus for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

this is my son's first year in kindergarten at this school. so far i have observed there are too many students per teacher, no extra curricular activities during after school programs. they do not assist children with homework during after school care. the education provided is way above what kids normalll are expected to complete but this is way i wanted my son to attend. i am just not sure they have the manpower to help kids keep up and there is no placement regimen instituted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

I graduated from Evangelical Christian School and ranked number 2 out of my class. The curriculum is excellent. Evangelical offers students what no other school can offer academically and spiritually. Pre-3 through 8th grade are required to learn French and Spanish. Can you imagine a 3 year old speaking another lanuguage? Most schools are not even allowed to speak about God. What a shame! At Evangelical, children beginning at the age of 3 are taught about God. I currently have a child at Evangelical Chrisitan School, and I am very pleased with what she has learned thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

Evangelical Christian School provides a quality education in a Christian setting. The children receive a solid secular education as well as a solid christian education. They learn how to interact socially and morally in today's society. The curriculum is above level for every grade level and the results are outstanding. It is a great school to entrust your son or daughter to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 99% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 24%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Vonita Renee Thomas
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9130 South Vincennes Avenue
Chicago, IL 60620
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 881-8008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






CICS Longwood
Chicago, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT