Advertisement
Advertisement

Evangelical Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 582 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $62,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

81 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2005

My son has been at this school since he was four. All the time he has been there, it has been a caring and loving enviroment. The teachers and staff make you feel like you are apart of their family. I am a product of public schools and I am able to tell the difference in the support he gets from this school. My son has tested above average every year that he has been there. The acdemic program they have is great! It is truly a quality education. Along with the basic education, they receive so much more including a language, outside activities and a bible education to make them a well rounded indiviual. I have been so impressed with the school since he has been there, that I could never think of him any place else. It takes a village to raise a child an evangelical is it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

My son goes to E.C.S. and is doing very well he is in Pre-4 and is already learning to write as well as read. I love this school it is the best thing that has ever happened to us! If you are looking for an academically challenging school then this school should definitely be your choice, they can keep up and surpass any of the competitive schools out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

I've been an Evangelical Christian School parent since 1995. I've had all 4 of my children at E.C.S. Two have graduated and two remain there. What makes E.C.S. stand out, is that it caters to the whole child. E.C.S. not only educates and prepares children for high school, but it feeds the children spiritually and emotionally. The teachers not only teach the children, but pray for them, disciple them and give them the necessary tools for adjusting to the pressures of life outside of School. The students get lessons and LOVE! E.C.S. is a blessing from God!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

My child is in the kindergarten class, since this is her 1st year, I will give the school the benifit of the doubt. It is an ok school, no more, no less. I think that the classes are too overcrowded, that's my biggest drawback. I don't think 30 5 year olds can get quality education, because the teacher has to babysit. Hopefully it will get better in the upper grades... we'll see. For now, I'll keep her there...that's for now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

The classrooms are filled with up to forty children at a time. The children do not receive enough attention toward there school work but recieve more discipline for the smallest things like talking or a missing a tie or having on the wrong shirt. On the level of what the children learn in class the children are far behind in Math and other areas. As a parent I must say I have gotten what I paid for an extremely low class low quality school. I would not recommend this school to anyone who wants ther child to have quality education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 1, 2005

Evangelical is the best thing that has ever happened to my family. Evangelical helps to reinforce the priniples that my husband and I teach our children by using God's word. It encourages leadership and creativity as early as the the preschool department. I highly recommend Evangelical as choice for schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

I have to agree, ECS is a mess and if God says the same my children will not be going back next year. The office staff is incompetent and some of the teachers should not be allowed to teach(IVY League College student or not) The only thing I am happy about is the education they get on our Lord and Savior but children need some text book material as well to succeed. Yes the cost is low but the aggrevation is GREAT. Be Blessed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2005

My child is a student at Evangelical and I personally think the school is a disaster. The classrooms are overcrowed, and the teacher cannot teach the children who need the extra attention. I thought the teachers were there to teach the class, but how could you possibly teach 34 kids in a pre4 classroom and try to reach at least half. When children are at the age of 4, they need more attention but with as many kids that this school has at least half of the children will be lost in the next grade up. My child will not be attending this school next school year. I guess the saying, you get what you pay for is true. The tuition is alot cheaper than other private school, but not worth your child missing out on a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2005

As a completely unbiased parent i will say that the value of education that you get is well worth the low tuition but the $650 registration fee is ridiculous. Parents are fined for everything. A $5 out of uniform fee is added to tuition should your child forget to wear their tie one day or wear a shirt without the peter-pan collar! everyone picking up your child has to have a $2 i.D. Card and should you send someone who doesnt have one (like in an emergency) then tuition is fined for that too. Thats just the beginning! and...As other parents state...There is no pta or parents council or anything...The school is over-crowded. The education is above average for its location but overall value is overrated...And militant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2004

I would like to say the school overall is ok and has a safe enivroment.Its pre3-3rd grade program is excellent but after that it gets down hill.I have two children that go their. The only thing that discourage me is the way the discpline the children in the hallways & doorway (need a detintion room) -tooo much homework children need a home life too. -Not enough other activities. -They do not have a pta board to get our opinions. -Summer school is a joke. -I agree with some of the parents that its more about the money because they want to charge you for everything. -I thought after school care is when student who need help with work can get it when less students in the room but they charge you for tutoring too. -Need more educated trips -charge to be out of uniform shouldbe free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2004

I feel that Evangelical is an excellent school. My children have been attending this school for over five years. I am pleased to see that the school promotes reading as early as Pre-3. My children have gained much knowledge at this school. My daughter was able to write in cursive when she was in first grade. My daughter is currently in fifth grade. My son is currently in first grade and is reading at grade level. I feel just because I pay for their education, that it is not all up to the teacher. I feel that teachers and parents should work together. As parents, we should take time out to work with our children. If our child has a reading problem, the teacher will not have to tell us, because we should already know. My contact with the school adminstrators have always been positive. The fees are reasonable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2004

It is a very good school. The curriculum is quite full with and includes language (French or Spanish) and Music. Last year the average composite scores on the Iowa tests for every grade level were at or above grade level. Primary and upper grades placed two (2) grade levels above. My daughter is learning so much. She ranked in the 98th percentile nationally on her first Iowa test. This is because of all the hard work of the teachers. Extra curricular activities include cheerleading as a sport, choir, liturgical dance, and there is a strong devotion and chapel component. Extra tutoring is offered during classtime and in the after school program. I would like to see smaller classes, but the tuition is low so I'm sure that's why classes are so big. Breakfast, lunch and dinner (or an evening snack) are served at no additional cost. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

My children attend ECS, I find the school to be okay they do a good job with teahing the children good christian values, however, the staff at ECS doesnt practic what they preach. They tend to be very nast, unorganized and rude. But for $140 a month you get just about what you pay for. I dont recommend this school, because I paid up front fees which run about $600 plus tuition my children will attend until june 2005 but will not return.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

Evangelical Christian School is all about making money. They could care less about the education of the children. I have taken my child out this year because I want him to have a good education and ECS is not the place. I would never suggest for anyone to place their child in this school. Money hungry and fony christians.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

As a former parent i can say that my daughter techers in the younger grades where the best. As she got into the older grades the qualities were extremely low. The school is about making money and doesn't take the parents concerns and needs into consideration. As for the principal she thinks she's in the military with the way she disciplines the children. The lunches could be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2004

This is an excellent school!! I'm a product of Evangelical and now my child is a student there. Of course anywhere you go there may be something that's not satisfying to everyone, but this institution, which has been serving the community for over 40yrs has been a blessing to me and my family. Keep up the good work Evangelical!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 3, 2004

I feel that this school is out of order. Its all about the money. Teachers underpaid and parents being ignored. We won't talk about the front office. It needs restructuring. Too many rules and not enough structure. Who's running the place? Pray for your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2004

My child has been at this school 4 years and it has been a disaster. Education is a joke and so are the teachers. The children are behind in every subject (not all) but a vast majority. I truly believe it's about money, which would be fine if in return you were getting good sound education but, unforunately that is not the case. I'm taking my child out this year but, my heart goes out to all the children in those oversized, disruptive class rooms, with teachers who have been placed in position's simply because there was a need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2004

I have been a parent at this school for 11years. I like the curriculm with the exception of Math. I don't think the math department is strong enough to compete with other schools. The children aren't challenged enough in Math. I don't like that there is no organized parent groups there. It seem as though parental input is not wanted or needed. There also needs to be more extra curricula activities. The teacher turnover rate is too high, especially in the middle grades. Discipline is not done according to protocol. Children are paddled for first time minor offenses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2004

I think the concept of the school is good; however the class size is too big and the teachers can not effectively give the students the time they need to understand the lesson.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 16%
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 60%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Vonita Renee Thomas
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9130 South Vincennes Avenue
Chicago, IL 60620
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 881-8008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






CICS Longwood
Chicago, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT