Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Luke Academy

Private | PK-8 | 114 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $391,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2014

St. Luke is an unknown gem in the Lakeview/Roscoe Village neighborhood! It's excellent for preschool and is one of the few programs that will allow 3 year olds to attend school for 5 day (M-F) for either half or full day (8:30 to 3:30 pm) with sibling discounts if you have multiple children. The staff is warm, friendly and knowledgeable. We receive daily email updates from our teacher as well as blog posts and pictures. I feel well informed on what's happening in the classroom. They offer a balanced curriculum and it's a small community so you know the teachers and the parents. It's a great program! Highly recommend for preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

What an amazing school. As a parent of a 1st grader who has been at St. Luke since Pre-K4, I cannot be more pleased. The level he is at for core classes is impressive. He comes home happy, singing and just enjoying the entire school experience. He is safe, the environment is built for success. The language program, fine arts and math and science make for a well rounded experience. I very much recommend St. Luke to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2012

Latest technology (smart boards, I-pads), small classrooms, creative assignments, kind, patient and dedicated teachers, music, art and sports programs - those are just some of the reasons that for the past 12 years I have chosen St. Luke Academy for my children. My high school student has thrived at a selective enrollment school because of the strong foundation she was given at St. Luke Academy. Now I see my young ones growing in the primary grades, learning the core subjects, but also learning the importance of having "good character". Truly a school within the city that encompasses respect for one another, love of God, guidance for making good choices. St. Luke offers the complete package for the Christian family, and an opportunity for your child to be the best they can be. Stop by one of the open houses and see what makes this school so special. St. Luke offers so much for the Chicago family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

We love St. Luke's school and especially pre school program for three year olds. Our son has made so many friends, even with the "big kids" during after care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2011

This school gets worse every year. The preschool program is amazing, Kindergarten is average, but 1-8 grade is terrible. When I was in 1st grade there was 30 kids, a pretty good curriculum, and the students were very involved. Then by 6th grade, things got ugly. People saw the kindergarten teacher being very rough(physically) on children, the 5-6 grade class had 11 kids, the kids were bratty, and the curriculum didn't meet the standards. I was teased there by almost every kid from 5-8 grade. The principal is overworked (her choice) and my teacher was new to teaching- we were the test students. I had to correct her on her grammar sometimes (not to be snotty, but she was trying to help a student giving them wrong information) and she never seemed to know what she was talking about. The 3-4 graders sweared and had no respect for anybody. So no, I don't reccomend this school.


Posted December 19, 2010

Miss Hunsicker is a wonderful Kindergarten teacher!!!! She has great control yet in a very positive and energetic manner. Thanks to her our son has excelled in all areas. Overall he really enjoys the interaction with the older students one of the great benefits of a small school. Although small the parents are extemely committeed. I do agree with another reviewers comments related to the staff being stretched thin and wearing many hats. However, all of the teachers work together and are extremely dedicated to the children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2010

The school's strength comes from excellent and dedicated teachers. Strong commitment to the community as well.


Posted March 25, 2010

I have a first grading attending St. Luke. In one word WOW! This school is run very well , from the direction of the principal to the teachers and down to the staff. If you are looking for a fairly priced education within an excellent environment then stop here. Class size is perfect but the sell for me was the one stop place for before care to aftercare, hot lunch program, large sized gym and outdoor play area. I visited many schools in the Chicago area, and some don't serve hot lunch, others don't have a gym, one didn't even have a real outdoor play area. St. Luke has the complete package. In addition it is a very safe environment , very positive based education and just superb all round.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

The best thing about this school is the size. Al the teachers and staff know each and every child and their parents. It's beautiful. The teachers actually care and my kids (in K and 3rd grade now) LOVE them and the school and general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

St. Luke Academy is a small school with double grades in a single classroom. Children are well behaved, but sometimes too well behaved. Children also tend to be labeled and when labeled as a discipline problem are treated as such. Sometimes, there is little 'Gospel' for a Christian school. The sports program is 'iffy' at best. If you just want academics and want your child to have hours of homework every evening, this is the school for you. However, I prefer my child to be a more well-rounded student in the arts and sports as well as in academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2008

As a former student and now as a parent of a current student, I have to say that this is one of thes best schools in Chicago and there is nowhere else I can imagine sending my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2008

Committed to Christian Education, Saint Luke Academy sees children as unique learners. Extracurricular clubs and sports are offered to provide a well-rounded learning opportunity. Learning goes beyond the academic in that children learn service to community and the world with their work in the school's intergenerational program - making and sending quilts to World Relief Efforts. This small school is big in quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

St.Luke is very Appropiate to my child. I love it there very much!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

St Luke Academy is a wonderful environment for children. All my children went there. The student body is diverse. All the teachers are wonderful, (with degrees and certifications). In the upper grades students have the opportunity to participate in activities led by masters in the field. I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2007

St. Luke is a very affordable private school considering it's area. Once you enroll you quickly find out why. Most of the faculty wear many hats to pull off day to day lessons. There is a low class size however the teachers are still stretched thin. I first noticed how well mannered the children were and then I realized how limited they were. Even preschoolers were placed in timeouts for trivial matters. I could give examples but don't want to single anyone out. I found the level of discipline inappropriate. I eventually removed my daughter and there were many other families that left as well. The staff consist of all women mostly alum. Some who are not degreed. St. Luke needs to diversify their faculty, add to their staffing with more qualified staff and approach the children with positive reinforcement not just discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2006

I attended this school along with my three siblings. There is an excellent sense of school and family pride. Children are encouraged to join sports and participate in Walter League as well as other school and church activities. Christian values are respected and not forced upon parents and children. It is a small school with monthly parent nights to ensure that parents take an active roll in their children s education. I would highly recommend it to any parent. My cousin s daughter currently attends school at St. Lukes and I cannot wait to see her in the Christmas pageant and annual Operetta. My youngest brother made it all the way to the National History Fair finals in Washington, D.C. while attending this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 33% 51%
Two or more races 24% 3%
Hispanic 19% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 4%
Black 11% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Donna Beck
Affiliation
  • Evangelical lutheran church in america

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 West Belmont Avenue
Chicago, IL 60657
Phone: (773) 472-3837

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT