Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ashburn Lutheran School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $108,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2014

My son has been at Ashburn Lutheran since kindergarten. It is a great school. I really like the smaller class size that my son thrived in. They are not caught up in the political trappings that the CPS schools are involved. His teachers have been prompt to respond to questions about my son's progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

I will never understand the professionalism behind a teacher's communication with another student's peers about another student issues. How unprofessional! And, I will never understand why teachers commuicate adult issues with children. Talk to the parents... don't be afraid!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

I have experienced 2 children in the upper grades (5th thru 8th grade) at this school.They will need a supplement to pass into the next grade. This school is overpriced with poor resources and academically and professionally challenged administration. I am so saddened that this school is insensitive and uncaring. This school needs to be EVALUATED by the Department of Education. It really doesn't make sense that we have teachers that are discussing parenting issues (birds and the bees) with students and then tell the students to not tell their parents about the conversation. You should have been reported. And, how benefiting for a teacher to teach while intoxicated.What a mentor! I will not recommend. This should be a turn around school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

Our children continue to exceed in academics at this school. Students who graduate from Ashburn Lutheran School are being accepted into elite high schools in the Chicago area. We feel supported by the principal and the teachers at this school. We are very fortunate to have this school in our neighborhood and that our children are nurtured both academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

Let me began with stating that students are receiving a subpar education at Ashburn. The students' textbooks are dated and in extremely poor condition. The teachers are clueless and the curriculum is not challenging enough for the students. I Attented a meeting last month, in regards to the school's fiscal crisis, with only six parents in attendance. The parents were informed in the meeting that the school couldn't purchase new textbooks for the current or new school year in 2014. The school will have to raise tuition because of there low enrollment. This school will probably close after 2014, if it can't survive the low enrollment situation. Currently looking at other private schools now for my child. Sincerely livid parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

My family and I love Ashburn Lutheran School. The administration and teachers care about the students, and my children are being challenged and excelling. The small class size offers the opportunity for individualized attention, and promotes the family atmosphere of Ashburn. Over the past year, administration has worked hard raising the academic standards even further. If you are looking for a great school in a Christian environment, Ashburn is for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Ashburn Lutheran The class sizes are small and the teachers really care about the children. My son is being taught very erly the importance of reading and writing. If he does not know a word he will ask you what does that mean. When he is writing a sentence he will ask you to spell the word, if he is not familiar with the word. He also knows when to use the correct punction for his statement (period, question mark and execlamation). Did I mention he learned all this in the kindergarten. The first grade teacher gave us a packet for our childern to complete over the summmer. The packet was due the first day of class. I am happy my son attends Ashburn Luthern
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

My son goes to Ashburn. I don't like the combined 1st and 2nd grade class. He don't get the attention he needs altho the class isn't real big. The teacher yells a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2010

I have two children attending ALS. I absolutely love the overall school environment!!! The principal and teachers exhibit professionalism always and set very high expectations for our children. Similarly, they are preparing our children to globally compete. More importantly, they have hidden gems such as an excellent reading resource teacher and superb 6th grade science teacher. I am very grateful to them for educating my children. They do not entertain mediocrity in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Ashburn Lutheran has well qualified teachers. They promote a safe and nurturing Christian environment. They also have small classes. Students are very respectful and they love learning. It's a great place to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I appreciate the small class sizes which allow teachers to work more closely with students. The principle is committed to school excellence and the children are genuinely happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

ALS provides a christian education in a nuturing environment and promotes family involvement in the success of the students. The small classroom size promote more individual attention from teachers. This is a safe environment for children to learn and grow that promotes improvement of its program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

My child will be completing her 1st year at ALC. She is in 1st grade and has made great improvements, in particular in reading. I wish there where more 'Free' schools in the area that it compared to. The class sizes are great and they just introduced a few after school programs, such as Drumming, Tap Dance and Creative Writing. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2010

I have been a part of Ashburn for years and I still have yet to find a school that is better suited for any child looking for an exceptional christian and academic education.


Posted March 26, 2009

Ashburn Lutheran is a fantastic school that has a professional principal and caring teachers. It is safe and secure in a Christian setting. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

It just doesn't get much better than Ashburn Lutheran School. We have a great principal in place who is a true leader and a staff of extremely qualified teachers. The class sizes are just right and you can be assured that your child will excel at ALS. All you need to do is communicate and work with the teachers - it's the only way to ensure that your child will do his/her personal best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

Dear Parents, Ashburn Lutheran School is an 'Excellent' school. I highly recommend this school and I am truly grateful that both of my children attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

I think Ashurn Lutheran School is great. My son Malik has been there for four years now and he loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

My son has been at Ashburn for four years. I love the family feel of the school and I love the small classroom sizes. I can drop him off everyday knowing that he will be surrounded by people who care about him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

Ashburn Lutheran School is a great place to get a great education in a challenging and caring environment. The new computer lab and foreign language program are outstanding! Check us out!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 92% 18%
Hispanic 5% 24%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Demetra Kirksey
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Evangelical lutheran church in america
Associations
  • ELEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3345 West 83rd Street
Chicago, IL 60652
Phone: (773) 737-2156

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Hope Lutheran
Chicago, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT