Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
526 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 78 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Providence - St Mel School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
Thanks for having a deaf ear to the parents of PSM. This is not an isolated observation and roars are growing.

Providence - St Mel School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
My child loves all of her teachers and has no problem e-mailing them with questions and guidance on projects


Providence - St Mel School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
I stress time management in my house hold on a daily and even with that my child is often up till 9:30pm doing homework... This leaves very little time for dinner & chores.

Providence - St Mel School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
Again the school is expensive and students are loaded with work. It takes persistence, grit & determination just to keep up with the heavy amounts of busy work.

Providence - St Mel School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
Any disrespect form students are meet with harsh discipline, alienation from other students, and lets not forget the hefty fines that come along with this punishment. It is a trifecta of consequences that keep students on the straight & narrow.


Providence - St Mel School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
The faculty at this school does not demonstrate these qualities so I would find it difficult for them to develop their students in such a manor.

Providence - St Mel School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
I am neutral on this because I can not say that I've experienced any development in these areas with my child that was directly related to the school. I will say that when I send my well mannered child to school she returns to me the same way.

Providence - St Mel School 2

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
This is my child's third & final year at PSM. The school is all hype running on glory from yesteryear. The facility does not abide by the same code of honor they hold students to; as I've been lied to by deans at the school on multiple occasions. The communication between faculty and parents is almost non existent, I literally have left 3 voicemails a month for one director SINCE SCHOOL STARTED IN AUGUST and have yet to get a return call or e-mail. The school will nickel & dime you to the very last and try to sell it as they are doing you a favor. I have compared PSM to other selective enrollment CPS schools and there is no difference in curriculum and in some cases CPS was ahead of PSM. Seriously, outside of offering a faith based education there are no differences to justify the amount of tuition charged. I've noticed from myself and fellow PSM parents that we all apply more pressure on our children to excel because we are spending so much money. I will admit that I enrolled my child into PSM because it was fairly easy and I had already missed selective enrollment deadlines. I can honestly say with the same amount of attention, pressure and listening ear your child will be accepted to 4yr universities and Ivy league colleges no matter what grammer/HS they attend. Bottom line do your research, plan ahead and reach out to other parents before enrolling at PSM. I guarantee there are other viable options out there besides this money pit.


Providence - St Mel School 5

Posted November 18, 2014
- a teacher
I have been simply amazed at the level of professionalism, passion and process at Providence St. Mel. To be able to create an environment where students can learn, achieve, have fun and be safe is outstanding. The academics, performing and fine arts, athletics, clubs and activities all come together in a magical way. I've seen so many students blossom in this historic, globally competitive school. It's an honor to be associated with this wonderful institution that instills discipline, confidence and excellence.

Providence - St Mel School 5

Posted October 31, 2014
- a community member
Sounds like PSM is a GREAT school that is quite frankly, weeding out the "sub-standard element." The minute PSM lowers the bar, is minute they become just another poor performing Chicago school. In order to keep the standard, you MUST be serious and understand the goal of PSM. Being that I didn't grow up in Illinois but now live in West Garfield Park, I can certainly understand why so many people take issue with PSM. It's not about the having the privilege to say "your child attends a great school." It's about maintaining a standard the in order to obtain a world class education from this school. And to not be average. The way I see it, many of your kids can't cut it and same for the parents. PSM just isn't for you. It's purely lack of discipline on your part! If you want the very best education for your child, then you need to meet their standards. They WILL NOT lower the bar to yours. The complainers I'm reading about cannot cut the mustard! Pick another school.

Nearby schools

Providence - St Mel School
119 South Central Park Boulevard, Chicago, IL  60624
(773) 722-4600
Last modified Providence - St Mel School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top