Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Catherine Cook School

Private | PK-8 | 502 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $275,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2007

I stumbled across this site looking for another school for my child. I am a Catherine Cook parent and my son has been at the school for over three years. The school has not met the expectations that we had at our acceptance. We were impressed by the school's community and it's drive to create a school that would rival those nearby. However, in this families eyes this ideal has not been achieved. Also, while the curriculum may be challenging for some my child has not experienced this same push to excellence. As a parent I have been disappointed by the schools politics and have not felt an atmosphere of learning as expected. I think, as the school's enrollment numbers have increased the quality of the school's program has gone down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

CCS is a wonderful, warm place to send your child. As a parent it is heartwarming to see just how caring and dedicated The teachers are about the interests of your child. The teachers are always available to sit down and talk. The communication is amazing. No child ever 'Falls through the cracks' at CCS. The school is on top of everything. (However That does have the potential to be a double edged sword). The school has grown dramatically in resent years, but that is principally due to fewer children leaving in the higher grades. That is good news. The strongest part of the school are the kids. My son has made wonderful friends. Truth be told, so have my wife and myself. CCS has a great parent body. Larry Lubell 5th grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

I echo the last comment. The school has recently appointed a head (number 5 within 6 years) and he pales to create a platform for the school. He is invisible at events and is only heard via the school newsletter. The middle school has severe discipline problems. Class sizes are no longer small. No bang for your buck here. The preschool is still the only highpoint.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

My child loves Catherine Cook School. She entered preschool a rather timid child and has truly blossomed. The teachers are kind, caring and enthusiastic. The curriculum is terrific, and the facilities are immensely improved with the addition of the new gym. The parents are dedicated, generous and involved. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

Our daughter has flourished at CCS. Believe me when I say that the teachers are second to none. They genuinely care about the students and encourage them to pursue whatever talents they have. The curriculum is demanding -- as a first grader, my daughter used to come home exhausted, but she learned so much. CCS needs to improve on its sports activities, but next year will be the first full year with the new gym, and I think we will see a dramatic change. What's truly wonderful to see is the level of parent involvement -- despite its growing pains, CCS is a closely-knit community where students are supported not only by their parents, but by other parents, teachers and staff. This is a fantastic school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2006

Our daughter has attended Catherine Cook for 4 years. We have been very pleased with the quality of the faculty we have encountered. The school is in the midst of a major expansion and has had its share of growing pains and faculty turnover. Communication from the administration could be improved and the attitude from the headmasters office seems to be 'my way or the highway.' After kindergarten the student/teacher ratios increase significantly. The programs are very good, the students are very well educated and behaved. Foreign language, art and physical education offerings are all excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

Our children are in pre-K and First grade. Overall the teacher quality is excellent. Our first grader has been making excellent progress and receives a lot of attention as class size is small.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

Strong academics; extra-curriculars should impove upon completion of the school's new gymnasium.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2004

Both of our kids graduated from CCS starting at JK. One is now a junior at Latin, and the other is a sophomore at Trinity College in Hartford CT. The quality of the teachers and close knit family of parents supporting the school paved the way for their academic success. It should be the elementry school of first choice for parents interested in making education fun and engaging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

CCS now has enrollment of almost 370 and a new two year old transition program. The gym should be open in September 2005. Don Monroe, former head of Francis Parkewr is the Interim Head as we search for a new permanent Head to be in place for 2005. An exciting time for us and a great place for our children.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted February 23, 2004

The Catherine Cook School has a great community with teachers and parents working together to provide the best environment for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Catherine Cook is the best kept secret in the city!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 4%
Black 6% 18%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Hispanic 3% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael B Roberts
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (312) 266-3616

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

226 West Schiller Street
Chicago, IL 60610
Website: Click here
Phone: (312) 266-3381

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT