Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
212 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Park Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
North Park Elementary School = Dynamic Principal, Distinguished Teachers and Staff, Dedicated Parents and Families, and Passionate, Motivated Students.

North Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Thank you, Ms. Hansen, for always being so caring and thoughtful with the preschool students. You are an exemplary teacher and we are lucky to have you! Thank you and the whole preschool team for everything you do.


North Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2015
- a parent
NPES is an absolute gem. Our son was in the first pre-school class three years ago, and his experience has gotten better every year. Our daughter is in the kindergarten, and is thriving as well. The teachers go well beyond what you might expect, and take a personal interest in every student. Their communication with parents is top notch, and the community as a whole takes an interest in all the kids. There is a great sense of a shared mission. We couldn't be happier with the experience, both socially and academically.

North Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
North Park's recently opened preschool is a wonderfully energetic environment where the students and the teachers collaborate to learn. From movement to outdoor exploration to quiet time reading to creating beautiful artwork, not a day goes by where my child isn't excited to go to school. The learning takes place in small groups and engages all of his senses. My son's favorite part of the day is when the 8th grade volunteers come in and work on a project together. All of the teachers are hands on, positive role models for the kids. We are so excited that North Park has a preschool now!

North Park Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2013
- a community member
As a fellow student, I know that there is a small bullying issue, however it was always overcome and overpowered by the rest of goodness about NPES. The student-teacher relationships that are developed are remarkable. The academics prepare you perfectly for high school, allowing you to test out of some classes most freshman take. My one complaint is that as a boy I felt discriminated against, but besides that it is overall a great school, and I am happy I went there for all 9 years!


North Park Elementary School 3

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
This is generally a good school and reasonably priced for a private school . Just...don't disagree with the system...

North Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2013
- a parent
I urge all parents to compare the costs of every private school when investigating your options. The "bag of money" comment below simply isn't true. Yes, the school built a new, excellent playlot and installed new technology in the classrooms: that's called investment. NPES is still half the price of its nearest non-Catholic competitors.

North Park Elementary School 3

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
If you want to attend, be sure you have a bag of money with you. Don't be fooled into thinking this is different from Parker or Latin. They are making huge pushes for very expensive things (like the playlot that cost hundreds of thousands!). It's not what we expected when we came here just a couple years ago. We were presented a more "neighborhood" type of school. All private options now seem to be the same.


North Park Elementary School 3

Posted May 14, 2012
- a parent
I'm sorry, but to the parent who writes, "I can tell you from experience that there is not a bullying problem at NPES." This is YOUR experience and just because you have not had this problem does not mean others have not. The problem does seem to lie in the fact that this DOES happen, but the school does not make it known and does not address it as a full school issue. Trust me, IT HAPPENS. I wish it did not. My whole family wishes it did not. It would make things so much better in our household. And, as we've unfortunately found, this IS NOT one child's issue. Look around and see how many families have left. Ever wonder why? It's not always just about not being able to fund their child's education. This is an issue; it's not just "your kid's problem of not fitting in."

North Park Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2012
- a parent
I STRONGLY suspect that the same parent has submitted multiple reviews that deal with the issue of bullying. My youngest child is a 7th grader, and I can tell you from experience that ther is not a bullying problem at NPES. I am actually really, really surprised at how well the 7th grade girls get along. I suspect from the multiple reviews that this bullying issue is personal to this one child. It is true that the school does not have the resources to deal with kids who have significant social, learning, and behavior issues, but no private school does. (this is why one of my older kids went to public school.). The focus of the school is on providing an affordable, excellent education to gifted and mainstream kidss, and they do a good job with this.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Park Elementary School
2017 West Montrose Avenue, Chicago, IL  60618
(773) 327-3144
Last modified North Park Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
North Park Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. Top