Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
212 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Park Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
After years of struggling to get my child to do, much less enjoy, her math work (at a different schools), she now feels like not only can she tackle it, she thinks it's interesting. That's thanks to the exceptional teacher she has at NPES. She's also getting tremendous instruction in how to write, edit and refine--in some cases, skills i didn't learn until high school or even college. We couldn't be happier with the quality of the instruction with the possible exception of Spanish. That could be better.

North Park Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
For my 5th grader, the average homework load seems to be very manageable. She often gets most of it done during the school day, rarely having more than 30 minutes of true "homework" to do in an evening plus a weekly reading requirement (3 hours). We will see how this changes as we enter middle school but so far, so good.


North Park Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
North Park does a great job promoting a strong academic program with proven results (just look at their percentage of graduates who get into Chicago's Selective Enrollment High Schools). That can only happen with students who are taught to persevere and work through challenges. Determination and grit seem to be "baked in" to NPES' recipe for student success.

North Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
My child is in her first year at NPES having transferred from another small private in Chicago. Having left a school with an administration that simply didn't understand (or seem to care) about persistent and pernicious bullying, North Park's welcoming, warm and respectful culture was a godsend. Our child is again enjoying school, happily learning and forging what I can see will be lasting friendships. From the engaged and engaging teachers to a comprehensive curriculum (music, art, and drama on top of core subjects in Humanities and STEM classes), we think that NPES is a tremendous value--tuition here is less than half what comparable private schools cost--and a place we are happy to call our new school home.

North Park Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
North Park Elementary School = Dynamic Principal, Distinguished Teachers and Staff, Dedicated Parents and Families, and Passionate, Motivated Students.


North Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Thank you, Ms. Hansen, for always being so caring and thoughtful with the preschool students. You are an exemplary teacher and we are lucky to have you! Thank you and the whole preschool team for everything you do.

North Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2015
- a parent
NPES is an absolute gem. Our son was in the first pre-school class three years ago, and his experience has gotten better every year. Our daughter is in the kindergarten, and is thriving as well. The teachers go well beyond what you might expect, and take a personal interest in every student. Their communication with parents is top notch, and the community as a whole takes an interest in all the kids. There is a great sense of a shared mission. We couldn't be happier with the experience, both socially and academically.

North Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
North Park's recently opened preschool is a wonderfully energetic environment where the students and the teachers collaborate to learn. From movement to outdoor exploration to quiet time reading to creating beautiful artwork, not a day goes by where my child isn't excited to go to school. The learning takes place in small groups and engages all of his senses. My son's favorite part of the day is when the 8th grade volunteers come in and work on a project together. All of the teachers are hands on, positive role models for the kids. We are so excited that North Park has a preschool now!


North Park Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2013
- a community member
As a fellow student, I know that there is a small bullying issue, however it was always overcome and overpowered by the rest of goodness about NPES. The student-teacher relationships that are developed are remarkable. The academics prepare you perfectly for high school, allowing you to test out of some classes most freshman take. My one complaint is that as a boy I felt discriminated against, but besides that it is overall a great school, and I am happy I went there for all 9 years!

North Park Elementary School 3

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
This is generally a good school and reasonably priced for a private school . Just...don't disagree with the system...

Nearby schools

North Park Elementary School
2017 West Montrose Avenue, Chicago, IL  60618
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. (773) 327-3144
Last modified North Park Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top