Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Daystar School

Private | PK-8 | 235 students

Daystar uses the best available educational theory and practice.
 
 

 
 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $270,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,390.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2014

Where do Daystar graduates , attend high school? When I called tge school, the lady gave me the run around and refused to tell me. Which makeme wonder if the test scores are high enough to gain entry into the top public and private high schools in Chicago. And I do not consider De la Salle Institute, a top high school. I called St. Thomas, Cambridge school and Ancona Montessori and they all, immediately told me about their high scholl placement , test scores and where their grads attend high school. hmmm, to Daystar.


Posted May 3, 2014

I question the real criteria for entry to this school, As a Christian, hard working professional, sized up upon entry through the front door, at worship, and tour, it was graciously (or not..)stated "day star is not for everyone (not very christian....)before app process began or any interview was told of non-entry...questionable process..with a bright christian child the question remains if the administration changes annually as well, and I would question why there is so much space available in higher grades (2nd-up), perhaps their high rating is best reflective of a quality sitter for younger children.Amen to that, Amen to not judging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

Our child attends the pre-K program at Daystar and we have been very pleased with the School, its curriculum and the teachers. The teachers have provided special attention to our child who struggled with the transition to school and worked with us to come up with a plan to ease our child's anxiety. Their patience and dedication to seeing our child succeed have been exemplary. The curriculum and programming is engaging and interesting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

Daystar is a wonderful wonderful school with great teachers and other staff! My child is in one of pre-k classes (there are three pre-k classes) . The reason for only 4 stars is the process of the pre-k parents have to interview for admission and be approved by the admission committee. Pre-k admission does not guarentee kindergarten admission. There is only one kindergarten class and there is only room for 24 children. That leaves a lot of disappointed parents and children who won't get to continue at a school that they love. That being said, if you do get to continue pass Pre-k, the school will provide a great atmosphere for learning and help teach your child Christian values. The teachers and very nuturing and every child that I have encountered there seems to be thriving! The principal is retiring, but the new principal, a former Daystar teacher is very passionate about the mission of the school, so hopefully the baton is being passed to another pair of capable hands. It is sad that many of the pre-k kids will not be able to continue with their friends. Maybe the school will expand in the future as they expanded the pre-k from 1 class to 3 classes this past school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2012

I researched private and public schools in Hyde Park, the Loop, South Loop, and West Loop . The research led to the narrowing of the list but we were still confused. Daystar had a Winter Carnival, at the Carnival we met the Kindergarten teachers Mrs. Doig and Ms. Gossell. During my 20 minute conversation with them I realized that they were the people that would help me shape my sons view of education. They were both passionate about the school, education and how they engaged their students in learning. I was blown away, and I am not easily impressed. After the Winter Festival I attended a tour. Then I scheduled one for my husband. We were both in agreement. This was THE school. Eight months into the 2011 -2012 the school year we are still amazed! My son who was shy has broken out of his shell. He actively participates in school. He is solving math problems. He has conducted a research project, given presentations in front of his classmates (yes, in Kindergarten) and built friendships not only with the kids in his class but children of all grades. Daystar is more than a school it is a community. They are 100% committed to developing our children. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

Daystar comes very near perfection. My children's membership in this community is one of the greatest sources of joy in my life. The school provides a thoughtful Christian education. It is nurturing children's ability to live a distinctively Christian life that engages discerningly with the wider culture in which they find themselves. Daystar is academically excellent. Teachers and administrators are creative, flexible, open-minded and curious about new approaches and are always seeking to improve the quality of instruction. They are also truly committed to teaching each kid at his or her own level; no child is allowed to be consistently bored or confused. The school is racially and socio-economically very diverse, but there is also a real emphasis on building community and teaching the students how to treat one another well. If you visit, take a look at the middle-schoolers: they are nice kids! I trust the way that Daystar is educating my children, academically, emotionally and spiritually. It's a privilege and a blessing to share their upbringing with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

Daystar is a school that provides smaller, more intimate class sizes. During the school tour I was impressed with the classrooms, the class pet in each classroom and the way the learning material is being presented to students, on a state and national level. Kudos to Daystar School!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

We have hit the jackpot with this school for our 4 and 5 year old. Awesome, caring teachers and a principal who truly cares about educating our youth and instilling a great moral foundation. I could not recommend it more highly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

I cannot imagine a better learning environment for my child. Daystar is truly a holistic learning environment that encourages true understanding and analysis from the kids. If you are looking for a teach to test, worksheet environment, then Daystar may not be for you. But, if you are looking for a place where your child will become a thinker with a passion for learning, then I encourage you to look into Daystar. Visit the facility, as soon as you walk in the doors, you can feel this school is different. Kudos to the Administration and Teachers, not only is this an excellent learning environment, but this is an environment where children are respected and cherished and taught respect for themselves and others. I transferred my gifted child from a CPS school and could not be happier with my decision. While I would like to see expanded requirement of teacher certification, the growth, development and love of learning over the past year tells me I made the right decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

I feel so blessed that I found Daystar school . It is a wonderful environment for children to be in. My kids love going to school. The learning environment is fun and engaging for the students. My son's class this year was studying sea creatures for a science unit; not only did they read about sea creatures ; they went to the Shedd aquarium and dissected a squid. Rather than just memorizing facts for tests that they will soon forget Daystar students are an active part of their learning. Daystar students are well rounded good kids. There is strong feeling of family among the teachers and the parents. A wonderful school. I wish Daystar had a high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

My daughter attends Daystar s preschool. She loves her teacher and everything about her class. I love that the teacher adheres to developmentally appropriate practice , values each child, and is joyful and energetic. Students learn in the context of community. The teacher makes it a point to create a loving and safe environment where children can learn through experimentation and various ways. Her teacher also makes a point to forge a relationship with myself and the other parents. This school is everything I wanted for my daughter. It is a huge blessing for my daughter and for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

My daughter came to Day Star in the 6th. Grade and it was a match made in heaven. She transferred from a CPS school where the students were taught to the test and pushed to pass the test , while dealing with a lot of the social problems that the other students brought to the classroom. At Day Star, she was introduced to books and reading as never before. Now we frequent the Chicago Public Library at her request to get books she is interested in. Math use to be a dreaded subject but now she can be found curled up on a coach working in her math book. The excursions (class trips) have given her 1st. hand experience into different communities, cultures, historical and current events. She comes home excited to report on what her class discussed or discovered. Day Star has opened her mind to a joy for learning. Day Star has not only given her a great love and excitement of academic learning but now she is in an environment where she can freely pray, given thanks to God, and read her bible. The more fully we give ourselves to the word of God, the more fully understanding comes in to our life . At Day Star, Education and God go hand in hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Students at Daystar are taught how to think outside the box, how to ask questions, and how to find the answers to their questions--not simply memorize and regurgitate facts that are soon forgotten. Students work individually and in groups, both large and small, and there are many community-building activities across grade levels. The older students recognize that they are role models to the younger students, and behave accordingly. The student body is intentionally diverse-unusual in many private schools. Parental involvement is welcomed. Comparatively speaking, the tuition is reasonable, given there are no extra fees for the many field trips, and school supplies are provided. The children play outside or have P.E. everyday, plus there are weekly classes in art, music and Spanish all of which are being cut in many other schools. I don't have enough room to say all I love about it, but HIGHLY recommend Daystar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Daystar has been a wonderful academic experience for my third grader. The small class sizes allow for individual focus on the students which has been great for my son. His teachers immediately honed in on where he needed a little extra help and he has been able to develop in exactly that area. He was not lost in the class which could have happened in a class with a large # of students. We also love the general knowledge that the children are exposed to -- public speaking, extensive book reports, small plays and other projects that help in having 'well-rounded and balanced' children and that the school is highly diverse. The Principal is amazing and knows her stuff. I regularly receive personal emails from my child's teacher about his progress and that is huge!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

For the most part, Daystar was a good experience for our family. But be careful! For some children, the curriculum is only effective/fun up until a certain age. When you leave the school, significants gaps will become clear. For example, student/parent/teacher accountability, writing, science, math, history, etc. All of the field trips are fun for a few years, but they cannot make up for the lack of basic skills. When we started at the school, I accepted that I would have to go outside for music and sports, but I really did not anticipate that I would have to also hire multiple tutors to cover academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

Daystar has created an outstanding learning environment for the students. The student teacher ratio is fantastic and more importantly, the teachers are fully enganged which allows them to intelligently assess students strenths and weaknessess and incorporate that knowledge into the class curriculum. Highly reccommended for parents looking for a strong learning environment that is also fun and engaging for the students. Parental involvemnet is strong and highly encouraged by the school association and administration. Very open to ideas and suggestions for continual improvement. If you are a go getter who wants to actively participate in your child's educational experience. This is the place for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

Daystar is Chicago's best kept secret!! We didn't learn about Daystar School until we had already been in Chicago for a year. As soon as I read the website I immediately wanted to send our son there - sight unseen. We applied then toured the school during our interview. Wow!! It's huge and new, bright, well-designed. The teachers work together with to create a cohesive, well-rounded, whole person learning experience. The kindergarten kids interviewed someone they thought made a difference then wrote a report about that person & presented to the class. What kindergarten kid does that elsewhere?!! The tuition is affordable, includes 30+ field trips and all school supplies. To supplement class learning, each class goes on 30+ field trips/year. The field trips are short and to the point of what they are learning about. Highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

We have been involved with Daystar for six years. I am a teacher and more particular than most about the quality of my child's education. We could not be happier with Daystar. The student to teacher ratio is very low. The teachers are outstanding and go the extra mile and way beyond what we have ever experienced before. Daystar's curriculum is very well thought out and meaningful. The principal is a strong, kind, insightful leader. Students at Daystar want to come to school and are very engaged in learning. Though there are now over a hundred students, there is incredible trust, integrity and a feeling of family at Daystar. We love this school and only wish that it would start a high school. We strongly recommend it to any parent of pre-k through 8th graders. We feel that our child has been thoroughly prepared for high school and for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2009

five star its a wonderful school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2006

My boys have attended Daystar for a combined total of 13 years. I love this school because it is culturally mixed and they use the city as a classroom. Learning excursions are tied to unit studies; music and art programs are outstanding; parents are a vital part of the school's success because we are invited to participate in so many ways. I highly recommend this Christian school to anyone who wants a well rounded experience for their elementary school aged kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 35% 51%
Black 32% 18%
Two or more races 17% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Hispanic 5% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Sign Language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Tami Doig
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Calvinist
Associations
  • CSI
Fax number
  • (312) 791-0002

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Sign Language
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Fencing
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Running
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Fencing
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Running

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$10000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Selective Enrollment High Schools
Private High Schools
Magnet/Charter Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1550 S. State Street
Chicago, IL 60605
Website: Click here
Phone: (312) 791-0001

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St Therese School
Chicago, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT