Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lycee Francais de Chicago

Private | PK-12 | 700 students

We are best known for rigorous dual-language program.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $267,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2014

The curriculum and academics at the school are overall very good. There are some stellar teachers, some who are just ok. Teacher turnover is high for a number of reasons. Since almost all teachers are French, many are younger and single and will want to leave after a few years to return home abroad. The language immersion program is our primary reason to attend this school and our children both love school. We are very pleased with one-on-one support and our eldest is at the top of his class. However, we are unsure of staying at the school due to tuition going up dramatically in our time here and financial aid lacking. This is an area the school pays lip service to, socioeconomic as well as ethnic diversity. They say it is important but there is a disconnect if each entering class comes in at higher and higher income levels and financial aid decreases or stagnates while tuition rises 5% every year. Being a francophone family used to be an asset but does not seem to matter so much anymore. Parent involvement is rather high, especially from a small group of dedicated parents (primarily mothers), especially in younger grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

A very good school where parents can effect change and are truly heard. Lycee uses the French school curriculum where grading is performance based. It is refreshing to know that the teachers are not just "teaching to the test". There are terrific after school programs too such as fencing, circus arts, choir, chess... In addition to French, after the 5th grade students pick up another language. My child loves school and I am excited for their future prospects following this wonderful international education. I also can hardly wait for the new beautiful school being built in Lincoln Square!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

We are halfway through our first year at Lycee and couldn't be happier. The teachers are exceptional, the education is top-notch and the leadership of this school is the best I've ever seen. We can't say enough about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2011

French family, 2 of our children graduated from the Lyc e, one is still a student here. Outstanding school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

I have two children at the Lycee, one entering 3rd grade and one in preschool. My oldest has been at the school since age 3 and is fluent in French. I have been extremely pleased w/ the academics at the school, the teachers have all been good-excellent and they are doing better each year with differentiated learning instruction for those advanced beyond grade level. The principal, who came on the year after we started, is energetic and seems to have great vision for the school and for continuing to blend the French and American styles. My greatest complaint is that over the past 6 years the costs of attendance have risen steeply and I fear that the trend will continue and price out many families, including ours, who are very committed to language immersion and international aspects of the school. Whereas it used to be a more moderately priced private option in Chicago, it is becoming another "out of reach" school for many. There is financial aid but it is often inadequate to truly enable families to attend w/out struggling. This also leads to a cultural change amongst the families as fewer and fewer more moderate to high-moderate income level families can attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

The Lycee provides an international and dynamic learning environment for children and an interesting community for families. Our children, now 13 and 10, are thriving here; they are bilingual, intellectually curious and enthusiastic about learning. We credit the school for instilling their love for learning and life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

The Lycee Francais is a fantastic environment for learning. We've been at the Lycee for 6 years and we couldn't be more pleased. The perspective our children have gained at such an early age will no doubt serve them well in the future. Not only do they know two languages (soon to be three) but are also so aware of the diversity in our world. The are confident curious children who love to experience and learn. Additionally, our children have tested well above average in english grammer and reading comprehension. This school is truly a unique experience in the city. Even with our non French backgrounds, we've encountred no issues as our children have flourished at the Lycee. We feel fortunate to be part of such a fantastic communitee and are excited for the coming years at the Lycee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

I have 2 boys that attend the Lycee Francais de Chicago. One started in JK and the other in PreK, and they are now entering 6th and 3rd grade. The boys love the school, and because of the passion for learning that the teachers display in the classrooms each and every day, my boys are eager to learn new things both in school and at home. I know that the term "Global Citizen" is now being used by every school but at the Lycee the student start learning a 3rd language in the 6th grade, and I do not know of a better way of being a "Global Citizen" then being able to communicate with people of different cultures in their own language.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

We have two boys at the Lycee, both of whom started when they were three years old. Not only are our boys bilingual, but they also have a broad understanding of different cultures and accept them as the norm. Despite the French immersion, we believe that their English skills are on par with (if not better than) their friends who attend American schools. Their teachers have been consistently excellent - warm, intelligent and energetic. It is our impression that the teachers work very closely as a team and also feel supported by their administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2011

I have two children at the school who both started at 3 years old, the oldest just entering middle school. They are both now totally bilingual. The teaching quality is excellent, the teachers and administration are engaged and careful to give each child individual attention. The level of academics is excellent. The community is small enough to remain close and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

My children have attended the Lycee for 7 years (since the pre-school program) and are now fluent in both English and French.While this is a remarkable achievement, the benefits are far greater than language. They have gained a strong understanding and appreciation for different cultures and ways of thinking/learning. They have learned to be critical thinkers with a strong intellectual curiosity. I have found the faculty at the Lycee to be passionate professionals and excpetionally dedicated to their students. It is an active parent community that works to support and enhance the students experience. While we conisdered several options when selecting a school for our children, I am so glad we made the choice to attend the Lycee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

I rate it high. It is an exciting place to work. While there are more than 600 students and over 400 families the sense of community is strong and parents volunteer at every level of the school to make it a most dynamic for children. The teachers are amazing and so dedicated to the children. The school has such an international feel and is truly dynamic. The Lyc e Fran ais de Chicago (The French International School) brings together children from France, America and around the world to interact and grow together.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 22, 2011

I have been involved with the school for over 10-years and have seen our three sons thrive in a challenging academic and nuturing environment. They have developed tremendous perspective through a global and mulit-cultural cirriculum that is grounded in languages, math, science, history and the arts. The teachers are profoundly dedicated to the success of our students. The school provides for many extra-cirricular activities to support the vast interests and talents of our students, including sports, art, music, etc. School life is vibrant and suported by a strong and globally oriented parent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2010

My rating is low, b/c of diversity. In many other areas the school is average or above average. This post will probably appeal mostly to parents of color. The Lycee needs more diversity within the classroom., the teachers & in the school in general. For instance, in a class of 18 there is 1 african american child, 1 asian child, 1 indian child. There aren't at least 2 of each ethnic group in a class. They stress diversity but aren't recruiting at a level that is acceptable. I think the children of color would have a better experience if this was implemented Also, there aren't any books with people of color in the school library, on the walls at the school, etc. Best to find outside activities to fill this gap.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

The school is wonderful in every aspect. The administrators and teachers are amazing, well-educated, very dedicated and strive to provide best education to their students. They constantly look for ways to improve the overall school experience, educational programs and are very supportive, which results in well rounded children who truly become the citizens of the world. And of course we love that the kids become fluent in foreign languages! Love, love, love the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

My 3 kids have been attending the Lycee Francais for 5 years and they love their school. We value the French/English language immersion program, the spirit and warm atmosphere and the richness of the students backgrounds. They are starting a third language in 6th grade so they will really be well prepared to compete in a more international world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

Fantastique! This is our 6th year at the Lycee and neither parent speaks French. We have 3 children at the school, our oldest two being in 4th grade and having started in JK. They are fluent in French and English, read and write in both languages, and have an amazing global view that they would never had acquired if they were not surrounded by teachers and students from around the global. This school truly creates global citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

The Lycee is a wonderful school where students learn in two languages...French and English. We speak English at home but our kids are all fluent in both French and English. The teachers are encouraging and our kids are thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

I can't say enough amazing things about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

This is my daughters first year & I am happy w/ the quality of education. She is in Jr-K. Although, I have noticed that if your child is academically advanced than what they are teaching and is not speaking the french fluently, your only choice is to continue homeschooling. Because French fluency is the primary goal in the preschool. My daughter can read but doesn't speak french fluently yet so they will not move her to a more advanced reading group. This has been hard for me to swallow. But I continue to read with her at home & continue w/ the math studies. BUT, I do expect that next year she will be in an advanced reading & math group no questions asked. The principal leads with vision, my daughters teachers are great, and the kids are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • French
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Alain Weber
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (773) 665-1725

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • French
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

613 W. Bittersweet Place
Chicago, IL 60613
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 665-0066

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT