Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lycee Francais de Chicago 2

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
We had a similar experience to the last reviewer. The school does not have the ability to teach English students effectively. The Lycee is a terrific school for native speaking French children, but they do not provide in class assistance for those students who struggle with a new language and do not have a French speaking parent. We were very disappointed in the lack of ideas, the lack of assistance provided and the inability of the teachers to provide a program to truly immerse and teach a foreign language. Please re think a decision to attend this school. To give your child a bilingual education is an invaluable gift... Unfortunately the lyc e does not succeed in this.

Lycee Francais de Chicago 2

Posted December 12, 2014
- a parent
Lycee Francais de Chicago is a good school for native French speakers. We are a non-French speaking American family. My child did not learn adequate French to continue on to the high school. We were very disappointed in the quality of the middle school French teachers. I would not recommend this school.


Lycee Francais de Chicago 4

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
The curriculum and academics at the school are overall very good. There are some stellar teachers, some who are just ok. Teacher turnover is high for a number of reasons. Since almost all teachers are French, many are younger and single and will want to leave after a few years to return home abroad. The language immersion program is our primary reason to attend this school and our children both love school. We are very pleased with one-on-one support and our eldest is at the top of his class. However, we are unsure of staying at the school due to tuition going up dramatically in our time here and financial aid lacking. This is an area the school pays lip service to, socioeconomic as well as ethnic diversity. They say it is important but there is a disconnect if each entering class comes in at higher and higher income levels and financial aid decreases or stagnates while tuition rises 5% every year. Being a francophone family used to be an asset but does not seem to matter so much anymore. Parent involvement is rather high, especially from a small group of dedicated parents (primarily mothers), especially in younger grades.

Lycee Francais de Chicago 5

Posted March 14, 2013
- a parent
A very good school where parents can effect change and are truly heard. Lycee uses the French school curriculum where grading is performance based. It is refreshing to know that the teachers are not just "teaching to the test". There are terrific after school programs too such as fencing, circus arts, choir, chess... In addition to French, after the 5th grade students pick up another language. My child loves school and I am excited for their future prospects following this wonderful international education. I also can hardly wait for the new beautiful school being built in Lincoln Square!

Lycee Francais de Chicago 5

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
We are halfway through our first year at Lycee and couldn't be happier. The teachers are exceptional, the education is top-notch and the leadership of this school is the best I've ever seen. We can't say enough about this school.


Lycee Francais de Chicago 5

Posted September 05, 2011
- a parent
French family, 2 of our children graduated from the Lyc e, one is still a student here. Outstanding school!

Lycee Francais de Chicago 5

Posted August 29, 2011
- a parent
I have two children at the Lycee, one entering 3rd grade and one in preschool. My oldest has been at the school since age 3 and is fluent in French. I have been extremely pleased w/ the academics at the school, the teachers have all been good-excellent and they are doing better each year with differentiated learning instruction for those advanced beyond grade level. The principal, who came on the year after we started, is energetic and seems to have great vision for the school and for continuing to blend the French and American styles. My greatest complaint is that over the past 6 years the costs of attendance have risen steeply and I fear that the trend will continue and price out many families, including ours, who are very committed to language immersion and international aspects of the school. Whereas it used to be a more moderately priced private option in Chicago, it is becoming another "out of reach" school for many. There is financial aid but it is often inadequate to truly enable families to attend w/out struggling. This also leads to a cultural change amongst the families as fewer and fewer more moderate to high-moderate income level families can attend.

Lycee Francais de Chicago 5

Posted August 05, 2011
- a parent
The Lycee provides an international and dynamic learning environment for children and an interesting community for families. Our children, now 13 and 10, are thriving here; they are bilingual, intellectually curious and enthusiastic about learning. We credit the school for instilling their love for learning and life!


Lycee Francais de Chicago 5

Posted August 02, 2011
- a parent
The Lycee Francais is a fantastic environment for learning. We've been at the Lycee for 6 years and we couldn't be more pleased. The perspective our children have gained at such an early age will no doubt serve them well in the future. Not only do they know two languages (soon to be three) but are also so aware of the diversity in our world. The are confident curious children who love to experience and learn. Additionally, our children have tested well above average in english grammer and reading comprehension. This school is truly a unique experience in the city. Even with our non French backgrounds, we've encountred no issues as our children have flourished at the Lycee. We feel fortunate to be part of such a fantastic communitee and are excited for the coming years at the Lycee.

Lycee Francais de Chicago 5

Posted July 26, 2011
- a parent
I have 2 boys that attend the Lycee Francais de Chicago. One started in JK and the other in PreK, and they are now entering 6th and 3rd grade. The boys love the school, and because of the passion for learning that the teachers display in the classrooms each and every day, my boys are eager to learn new things both in school and at home. I know that the term "Global Citizen" is now being used by every school but at the Lycee the student start learning a 3rd language in the 6th grade, and I do not know of a better way of being a "Global Citizen" then being able to communicate with people of different cultures in their own language.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lycee Francais de Chicago
613 W. Bittersweet Place, Chicago, IL  60613
(773) 665-0066
Last modified Lycee Francais de Chicago is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Lycee Francais de Chicago Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top