Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 176
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
Pilgrim is an awesome school... from the small class sizes, to the rigorous academics, to the supportive community of parents... it has been a perfect atmosphere in the city for my kids

Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
My school has made such a great impact on my kids... they learn so much and receive so much love and encouragement, they really excel at this school!


Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted January 11, 2014
- a community member
This school is wonderful. Its where I grew up. My best friends, my favorite teachers, and my awesome princepal are all here. I have been at this school kindergarten-5th and it has been nothing but fun. Thanks for giving me such a great time. - - - Anonymus

Pilgrim Lutheran School 1

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
I recommend this school without hesitation, up to the fourth grade. severe that grade, I cannot do so.

Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
School hadnt even started by Aug. 29 so how do you know things were falling apart? Its just a transition period, Pilgrim will come out fine.


Pilgrim Lutheran School 2

Posted August 29, 2013
- a community member
I love this school, but it's falling apart. It has really nice and wonderful teachers, but it still changes as we speak.

Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted June 17, 2013
- a community member
I have been to 'Pilgrim' for 6 years now. The teachers are wonderful, kind, nice, very understanding and help with any problem. (I recommend Ms. Tighe!) The education has been wonderful, and I've learned a lot. If you have difficulties with homework, learning, etc. they will help you. The kids are VERY nice and get along well. I recommend greatly to go to this wonderful school. The school may be small, but we learn a lot. The teachers, parents, etc. help the needy by doing fun raisers, food drives, and other ways. (The kids pitch in too!) We learn many subjects some places might not have like Spanish and Technology. Every year grades PK-3 do a annual operetta. (or play) Classes 4-6 take turns and do a educational play. (Social Studies.) I have stayed there Kindergarten-5th grade and so far, I have loved every second of it. -Student

Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted January 18, 2011
- a parent
My child has been going to Pilgrim for nine years and is about to graduate. From the moment I walked into the school all those years ago, I was struck by the family-like atmosphere. Everyone student and adult alike--seemed upbeat and friendly. Though I was a bit concerned initially about the small school size, I would now say that it s absolutely ideal for young children. The ability to grow up within such secure confines is a wonderful gift to give a child. The feeling is almost like that of an extended family. As I ve watched my son s classmates grow up, I would have to say that all of them are well-behaved, well-rounded, and ready to make a positive contribution to society.


Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted October 04, 2010
- a parent
My 3 children love going to school at Pilgrim Lutheran (grades PK, 1 and 5 - this is our 7th year there). I am grateful to the principal, the teachers and other parents for their commitment to the students and to each other as a thriving community. My children are taught how to learn and to love to learn. The bonus at Pilgrim is that there is also an emphasis on being a caring and responsible part of the greater community.

Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted September 13, 2010
- a parent
My experiences of Pilgrim have been very positive. As a parent of children who have been in the lower and upper grades, I think the school s motto Academic Excellence with a Heart is definitely true. Pilgrim offers low class sizes, teachers who instill an attitude that learning is fun, a nurturing environment, and a strong emphasis on parent involvement. Students here are valued and encouraged for who they are at whatever level they are at. Parents have multiple opportunities to be involved in the school during the school day as well as evenings or on your own time. While there are no mandatory requirements, it will make an important impact on your children to know you are involved at least at some level. Pilgrim turns out graduates who have excelled not only academically but also as human beings.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pilgrim Lutheran School
4300 North Winchester Avenue, Chicago, IL  60613
(773) 477-4824
Last modified Pilgrim Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Pilgrim Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top