Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
51 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northside College Preparatory High School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a freshman and absolutely loves it here. It's a very open and creative environment. The kids definitely get the chance to express themselves, but never overboard. I was initially concerned that my daughter would have trouble adjusting as she comes from a catholic school environment. But thanks to their freshman transition program, she is adjusting very nicely. As for the work, she finds it to be challenging but she is doing very well so far. As a new parent, I also like that they have a very large and engaged parent network. I was able to quickly become involved. Overall, we are loving this school!

Northside College Preparatory High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Mr Hughes, my daughter's counselor, has been very helpful in assisting my daughter to submit applicatons for program opportunities. Thank you Mr Hughes!


Northside College Preparatory High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
I was told that they would have 3 - 4 hours of work each night. That doesn't seem to be the case with my student. She seems to be finished in about 2 hours So, yes, I do think they should increase it. (sorry kids!)

Northside College Preparatory High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
They offer many opportunities to volunteer in the community either in a class or within one of their many extracurricular club offerings.

Northside College Preparatory High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
When you treat kids like adults, they will respond accordingly. That's the way with Northside. .


Northside College Preparatory High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 24, 2015
- a student
Fu Laoshi, my Mandarin (Chinese) teacher at NCP deserves a lot of recognition. I am so grateful to be one her students! She makes learning extremely fun and engaging. I am always excited to enter her classroom to learn from her. Fu Laoshi genuinely cares for every one of her students and, even though she is not strict, we (her students) gladly respect her voluntarily. Fu Laoshi is charismatic, extremely intelligent, hilarious, and very caring; really a gem in this school. I send lots of gratitude her way!

Northside College Preparatory High School 3

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
I vacillate on the quality of this school. Having children at both Payton and Northside gives me insight into each. Both schools have unique pluses and minuses. Northside has some excellent teachers, and truly an amazing art and music department that positively affects all other disciplines. Where it really suffers is in college counseling. Parents should be throughly prepared to do 99% of the research and work themselves. The staff is overwhelmed, under qualified, and most unfortunately, often uncaring. The lengths we had go to to get information, recommendations, and transcripts delivered on time and with accuracy were crazy. Our child got into her first choice and several other fine schools, however, having been through the process at Payton, I know it did not have to be such a truly awful process. Up through junior year, I would have given Northside 4 stars, but the college office staff really soured our experience. Parents, do the work yourselves the staff doesn't know your child and they're willing to settle for almost any college.

Northside College Preparatory High School 1

Posted May 21, 2014
- a student
Teacher's are not very good. Staff is very unhelpful. If you want to go to northside you better be prepared to teach yourself all 4 years because teachers won't teach you anything but expect you to just know it. Not a very collaborative school and its only number 1 because it takes the best kids in the city.


Northside College Preparatory High School 1

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
We attended the open house at Northside and were very disappointed. We waited outside for 30min (last tour). Finally we walk inside and were seated in the gym area. I didn't get the great vibe feeling we got from Whitney Young/Jones. The presentation was not impressive and lacked enthusiasm by the lady behide the podium. The kids and I spent the whole time looking at the screen behind her over and over agin. The presentation was boring. The tour was cut short because it was getting late. We only went into one room and the pool. We were sent to the first floor... The End

Northside College Preparatory High School 3

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is a Junior at this school. I have watched an extremely intelligent and happy young girl turn into a stressed out and deflated human being in trying to keep up with the rigorous, exhausting and competitive environment there. Im sure there are some kids who are capable of handling this type of school. But all of my daughters friends hate it and many in therapy due to the stress and depression created from trying to be worthy of this place. Adolescence is so tough as it is. Please do your child a favor and find a normal school to put them in.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northside College Preparatory High School
5501 North Kedzie Ave, Chicago, IL  60625
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. (773) 534-3954
Last modified Northside College Preparatory High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top