Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Uno Network Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
Your child is not in good hands here neither are your concerns. They will neglect responding to your concerns or respond with a generic response, I highly recommend no one to sen their child here until there is new staff. Uno Roberto Clemente

Uno Network Charter School 1

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is disturbingly TERRIBLE... I have a long list of things that this school never addressed and I brought to their attention repeatedly. Particularly since my child was an IEP student this is the worst network of schools that you can take your child to if he has an IEP... I recently found out from a teacher that works there that these students aren't getting their minutes as indicated and when they are receiving them some of these special ED teachers just have them sit & color or watch the IPAD or watch a movie on the portable DVD... how is that instructional?? but there was 1 or two teacher that I can say actually cared enough for my child and I appreciate their hard work and effort but I do feel they deserve to work in a better place that will compliment their hard work. And when I would call to speak with the director...(whom ever it is, because it was always someone different) this person would always be in meeting... and the UPPER administration (the higher end people) BULLY their teachers and staff very much so much that affects their teaching abilities... Do you really want your child in this school network... I transferred mine and doing sooo much better!


Uno Network Charter School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
My child is currently going to Uno Soccer academy. Before going to Uno he was attending a catholic school which we were so disappointed and very unhappy. My son has ADHD which in catholic school he was in 1st grade and was constantly bullied and harassed by the kids. He got 2teeth punched out of his mouth. My son was left in a corner eating lunch by himself for the whole year by the teacher. The teacher sent him to the office everyday to serve detention. The teacher never tried to help my son in any way, always complain about him constantly. My son was very active and in sports basketball and soccer for the year, but the kids would put him down and blame him for their losses in the games. his report card was all C's and D's. When the school year ended we enrolled him with Uno Soccer Academy. The teachers are great. It's a major difference with my son. All the kids love him. The teachers help him tremendously, he's in sports and doing great. his grades are A's and B's. He's a happy kid and so are we. Uno has really great discipline and awesome teachers. I just enrolled my daughter for kindergarten and I highly recommend this school to anyone. It changed my sons life for the better.

Uno Network Charter School 1

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
My expierence with UNO. Has been the most degrading and humiliating experience ever! After being assure the problem would be address by a couple of staff members. I still had to deal with the same person. After leaving msgs for 2 weeks. Being down talk by more then 3 employees. Im sad to say although they have great teachers. The customer service lacks tremendously in manners & information. Even when UNO assigned that week. To provide enrollment & information. Not because I live in a low income neighborhood. Staff should feel they are doing families a favor.

Uno Network Charter School 1

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
Their schools are slated for a turnaround ("restructuring") because they've failed to make AYP for 6 years now. Their CEO only has a B.A. in Communications from one of the lowest ranked universities in Illinois but he sure does pay himself a ton of money (more than the Mayor of Chicago) to run these failing schools. They also close the school on election day and try to bully the parents into voting a certain way. These schools go from bad to worse - yes they have flashy buildings - but the organization, its management, and its education outcomes stink! Don't put your kids in these schools as it's just a money making machine for local politicians and their cronies.


Uno Network Charter School 5

Posted August 17, 2012
- a community member
I am currently a senior at UNO- Garcia High school. I am thankful for my parents to have ever helped me apply to this high school! I know that if I were to have gone to another community high school, like Curie or Kelly, I'd probably be going through the wrong path. Yes, this school is strict but I grew to learn that it was for my well-being. This high schools targets to give the students the best education while feeling safe. They succeed in doing both. Throughout my three years, this year being four, in this high school, I can honestly say there hasn't been a case in which one of my colleagues or I have felt unsafe.The education is excellent. The teachers spend their time on the students more than themselves. The Archer Heights neighborhood is not dangerous. In addition, I had the opportunity to travel to China during my spring break. That once in a lifetime experience opened my eyes to my future. I now know that I want to study Mandarin further, and one day, use my knowledge to become someone. All in all, I highly recommend any student to go to this school! Special thanks to all UNO faculty for their hard work and commitment in helping students, like me, prepare for our future!

Uno Network Charter School 1

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
Bully Treachers. Director has no control over Teachers. Director is "new at this" and mistakes are "part of the learning process. Dont send your child here

Uno Network Charter School 4

Posted March 27, 2011
- a community member
UNO has about 10 different campuses, and while they each have to adhere to certain rules and procedures set down by the main offices, each also has its own local leadership, its own staff, and its own strengths and weaknesses. Don't judge any one school by anything that happens at any other.


Uno Network Charter School 5

Posted February 25, 2011
- a community member
i want to go to this school its the school of my dreams i love UNO

Uno Network Charter School 1

Posted December 21, 2010
- a teacher
I cannot speak for anyone else, but this is my experience of working for the UNO Charter Organization. I am nervous they will find out who this is; however, I would like want to know this information if I were looking for the best school for my child. As a teacher of 11 years & a member of the 5 member leadership team, I was ASTOUNDED by the inner workings of the organization. The focus is on image alone. There are so many injustices I could list. For example, after Katrina, many first generation Hispanics moved into the area for work. Esperanza opened its doors to that population which is wonderful! However, with about 200 students being Spanish-speakers, only 1 English Language Specialist was employed. Few teachers were bilingual, so many students sat in classrooms for 8 hours a day without assistance. In the 3 years that Esperanza was under UNO's management, there were 4 directors. From what I understand, as each one would voice opposition, they were let go. I can assure you if you visit an UNO school, the students will be dressed nicely, and there will be greeters who give you a scripted greeting, but I extremely bothered by how we underserved our students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Uno Network Charter School
2317 West 23rd Place, Chicago, IL  60608
(312) 432-6301
Last modified Uno Network Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-11. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Uno Network Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top